We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“who likes it quiet and secluded ...”
Review of Mama's Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mama's Place
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have welcomed us warmly thanks Stefan Loose-we deliberately chose the Mama's and were moved to a bungalow with sea views.
The decor is simple-designed large bed, dressing table, wardrobe, the bathroom in typical outdated and there is only cold water.
We visited for breakfast and dinner the own restaurant, the staff are very nice and there are evening barbeque, where you then "Mama" goes, which can weigh out the really fresh fish and immediately put on the grill.
We went snorkeling with an employee for 45 ringgit, which has paid off, because we were on a small boat with him and visited the famous snorkeling areas without baiting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhuketLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Mama's Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 213 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

The bungalows are in a beautiful setting, but are like bat caves on the inside. Bathroom was small and cramped, clothes got very damp. I have stayed in many bungalows over SE Asia - this was one of my worst. No mosquito net which is needed and some fresh white sheets would make it look a whole lot better. Furniture was dirty, and quite frankly for the price they charge I don't think its acceptable. I will not stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kissey15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at mamas place.
We had a big clean bungalow, the only thing we missed was a mosquito net. It was just a 8 minute walk to the amazing beach. Also the staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. The food at mamas restaurant is ok. But on the hole island is the food not so good like the food in other areas of Malaysia.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jessiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Basic rooms but who needs luxury in the most secluded and beautiful spot in the island? The service and attention from Aziz and Jimmy make up for the basic accommodation. Food at their restaurant is delicious and good value (try the pancakes and barbecue). You do get to experience a felling of a Malaysian home if you stay there. Children running around, grandma taking a nap by the beach...truly idilic experience, not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleMsMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spend a week in this beatiful place. It's near the turtle bay diving center of Besar, the staff is very friendly and the place is quiet and relaxing.
Do not expect luxury room (there's no hot water) but they are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlRisso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was my 7th time at Mama's place. Place that I can not miss while I'm in Malaysia. I don't have so much more to add as I already wrote two reviews but still I will list some things for those who do not like to browse back. I usually always like to stay at the garden view type of chalet. Bungalow itself is not super duper high resort type but it more than basic. Rooms are clean and well maintained. I'm amazed that after all these years they always provide same quality and there is not signs of wear. I guess Aziz the owner and the staff look after that place good and provide good maintenance.
I like to stay with Mama's as it is the only place you will receive a bit of that domestic Malaysian feeling with children running around and playing, relaxed staff, talking with owner, mama, papa, Aziz, Jimmy, Elvis. All are very nice and funny persons who I like to meet every time.
Restaurant as usually provide good quality food. Food quality in all these years is the same. Menu provide same dishes so if you liked something like 10 years ago you will still get it :). BBQ is a must and sure I recommend to take some fish to try with the BBQ sauce it is delicious. During the Ramadan period be prepared that restaurant is closed from 5 - 8pm and be prepared that a big crowd of people will rush at 8pm so it will be very busy time and all the staff will have a lot to work to serve all the people. Try to be tolerant and relaxed and don't expect that dishes will come all at once. The best strategy here is that you order the same dishes otherwise it can happen that your partner will already eat everything when you are still waiting for your food. So another tip be prepared for that or avoid Ramadan period in Malaysia and visit Mama's place out of that time.
This year we also took a great snorkeling trip to Rawa Island and we were very lucky as the water was the most crystal clear I ever saw here. It was a great experience.
Place overall is very quiet, don't expect any parties or long hangings at the bar. This is no alcohol place so you will need to go somewhere else for that. Place is the most popular with relaxed divers, couples and families with children.
If you want relaxed place and great family touch atmosphere that is a place to go.

Room Tip: Beach row for ppl that needs more commodity, deluxe garden view for flashpackers and superior garden...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

It was a nice place for staying and really cheap for the high season , about 70ringitt so 18€ . I had a bungalow with garden view and it was good kind of a Hawaii feeling:)) the room was simple but enough and I Had no a.c but it was ok ! The only thing what I didn't liked was the toilet , it was kind of dirty :/ I mean the seat wasn't white anymore . But it was still good in mamas because of the perfect service and the nice feeling

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix_dos_santos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Perhentian Besar hotels
0.0 mi away
Watercolours Resort & Dive Centre
Watercolours Resort & Dive Centr...
#7 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
333 reviews
1.3 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#2 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
991 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Place

Address: Pulau Perhentian Besar, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range: $14 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Mama`s Place Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar
Mamas Place Pulau Perhentian Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing