We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience! Arrogant service!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama's Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mama's Place
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad experience! Arrogant service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stay here for 3-4 days. The service here was very poor especially at their restaurant @ cafe. I wait for almost 1 hour but no one comes to serve me. For the second day, I came and sit, then a waiter gives me the menu. After I made my decision of food, I called them but suddenly they saif they want to close already.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zak2one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    90
    47
    21
    17
See reviews for
38
99
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

In contrast to many other of the medium-priced Perhentian resorts, Mama's doesn't seem to have raised their prices much over the years I've been coming here. Aziz gave me the last room in the place (I was a refugee from watercolours next door, great restaurant; awful rooms). I was so happy to get a room on the beach, and it was right next to the dive center, but that didn't cause any disturbance. The room was a decent size, and had an a/c that didn't blow right onto the bed. The staff at Mama's are always very friendly to me, and I enjoy going back there. Swimming off the beach was fine, and the snorkelling tour was fantastic, very memorable thanks to good weather and clear sea. The boat boy was also a good guide.

Room Tip: of course take a beach front room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zooey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My personal review for this hotel is controversial.
The staff of the hotel is amazing, they are veeery friendly and very helpful.
The bungalow are too spartan for me. We took a triple room without AC for 10€ per person. The third bad was a materials on the ground (apparently something very common in the perhentian islands).
The room was too hot and small for three people and there were a lot of bugs. I even found a cockroach in my luggage on the bed!
The toilet are pretty dirty.
At the opposite side the restaurant is very nice and cheap!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Attilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Aziz at Mama's worked hard to get my family 2 rooms side by side in which to spend 8 nights as we had turned up without booking in advance. Though basic fan rooms, they were clean with modern bathrooms and spacious and at 82rm each per night very good value. The cold water shower was fine and we were well acclimatised so the fan was fine too. They could do with some better bedding - the sheets are a little on the small side.

The resort is a credit to the staff who are working hard to keep it clean, something not all resort managers on the island do, sadly. Bins were emptied daily and the grounds were well kept. It was mostly quiet in the evenings and we got good sleeps. The restaurant is also good value with nice Malaysian food.

We stayed at 2 other resorts on Perhentian and liked Mama's most.

Thanks Mama's for a really relaxing stay :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Beware of the Perhentians......it is not all as the pictures show!! We checked out all the resorts on Besar and not all of it is the paradise you are looking for! Firstly Mamas is clean comfortable and the value for money is superb. We had a garden room for MR65 and was there for 10 days (initially only booked 1!). The room is 30 seconds from the beach (which you could actually see from the balcony). The beach here is nice to chill on a lounger but probably not on the beach itself BUT 5 minutes round the corner is the beach of Perhentian island resort and that is brilliant. We also checked out the beach near Tuna Bay down to the campsite and I want to warn people that here it is not a patch on the northern beaches. We were amazed how dirty busy and unfriendly this section was. It also had jetties jutting out spoiling what little view is there. We were so happy that we hadn't unluckily booked around here because this is not paradise! Going back to Mamas Place, the staff are extremely friendly always saying hello and giving advice etc. The food is a little cheaper here then then rest of the beach and is of a good standard (if not penang standard!). The garden view rooms are an excellent choice for travellers on a budget.....you will not be disappointed.!

Room Tip: The cheaper garden view rooms are better and actually look toward the sea. They are slightly smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulau Pinang, Pahang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed in a garden view fan room for RM63 per night. For that price, I don't expect much, but Mama's far exceeded my low expectations. We loved hanging out on the porch listening to the birds and the waves. The chalet was cozy and comfortable. The food at Mama's was sub-par, especially compared to Penang, but it was the cheapest we could find so we found ourselves eating there frequently. The mosquitos weren't too bad. We bought several mosquito coils in the small shop and that solved the problem when we wanted to hang out on the porch.

The one knock I'd give Mama's is the beach in front of the place. It's crowded with boats and does not have a section roped off for snorkeling/swimming. I wouldn't want to anyway, there's little to no coral in that spot. Fortunately, Coral Bay is a short walk away and that has AMAZING snorkeling. We saw turtles, barracuda, octopus, all the little fish and a reef shark big enough to scare my wife! Overall, for a simple, cheap stay, I'd absolutely choose Mama's again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caucasianmalaysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We paid 250 for very big seaview chalet. Interior was very nice and bright, big windows, large bathroom, big front porch. We had 2 large beds. Everything was renewed. Food in the restaurant was one of the cheapest in this beach. Coral view is much more expensive and chalets are smaller and very dark ! Staff at Mama's is very nice, they organize snorkling trips in good price.

Room Tip: Sea view air-cond chalets are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank malgo_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
1.0 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#4 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#3 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#6 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.5 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Place

Property: Mama's Place
Address: Pulau Perhentian Besar, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Mama`s Place Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar
Mamas Place Pulau Perhentian Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing