We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite place in Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama's Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mama's Place
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite place in Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We love this place. This year we made our 8:th visit to Mamas. We like the family style and the food. Fresh fish and seefood is delivered every day. Every evening you can chose food from the kitchen or from the barbeque which is something extra. You can chose different lokations for chalets,beach front or garden view. The beach front chalets are facing the strait between the two Perhentian islands. The view is nice ans you can see the fishing village on the other side.The beach just outside the chalets is shallow whith some stones and swimming is not possible at low tide. White sand beaches are only some 5 minutes walk away. The personell is extremely helpful. If you ask for something, the answere is always:" No problem".

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    90
    47
    21
    17
See reviews for
38
99
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

My 1st time to Pulau Perhentian @ expected with our Malay culture with good hospitality & good + quality food, But my worse experiences here for 5d4n was not so good as the food are lousy & tasteless, talking about services..we are taking d aircond room that cost us Rm160 prnite but services really BAD..not a friendly enviroment, I need to travel by water taxi everyday to get good food & activities for me & my son while my hubby went for his diving..please read all the reviews before you come here..mine was not good..im very disappointed with the staff at the mama restaurant..a silly guy who like to sing in front of people , a sarcastic & he does not care whether you are a customer. What a shame!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KuMyrna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pulau Perhentian Besar hotels

Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Nice place, bungalows are near the beach and for the most expensive, you'll have a good view on the sea.

Bungalows are clean , with fan and AC, the shower is cold.
No electricity from 8am until 7pm.

Mama's ans her team are really friendly.
The food is good, but not delicious, there a place nearby where the food is better and less expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuroreandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night before leaving the Perhentians due to the impending monsoon seaon. We got the water taxi over from the kecil island after 3 wonderful nights in Coral Bay at Maya. The bungalow was ok, but not beach facing (basic fan, you can't expect too much for 500RM per night), but had a broken shower attachment which was shrugged off and we were told that's just how it was. Not dirty, but no home comforts, again the one tiny sheet you are supposed to share, although the fan worked well.

Had lunch at Watercolours restaurant which was excellent, (also had free wifi), although a mix up on the ordering on the menu meant we paid an extra 35 RM as we didn't realized they'd brought the more expensive dishes, a mistake we suspect was not entirely accidental on thieir part. Dinner at mama's was not so good. Raw Chicken sitting by the bbq crawling in ants (we don't eat meat anyway, but it was somewhat off-putting) was handled along with raw fish and fruit as mama ate large chunks of the fruit she was cutting for guests and licking her fingers. The barracuda steak we were bullied into selecting was very good as were the sauces and rice, and were well priced. Breakfast was a disaster of sloppy, fatty eggs swimming in oil, stale bread (roti canae 'finished', no apology or other suggestion), and a small fruit plate. They couldn't be less bothered.

Fantastic snorkeling on the beaches, saw huge sea turtles, and the beaches themselves are beautiful and the waters lovely.

Smaller island had a better feel and certainly wouldn't stay at mamas again, although would be happy to look at other resorts in Perhentians as they are a special experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Room nice, staff helpful..but electricity restriction from 10am to 6pm, lie down on the beach. food reasonable but a bit slow, where you can enjoy your surrounding more. beach just in front of the room but to enjoy better spot go to perhentian besar 5minutes walk.

Located in Perhentian Besar which is relaxful as compared to Perhentian Kecil

Room Tip: Choose deluxe and family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junkopile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

By this review I would like to share my TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE connected with Mama´s restaurant and discourage other travellers from visiting this place. On the 21st and 22nd of July 2011 I witnessed how Jeffrey, owner of Mama´s restaurant, and his employers STOLE EGGS FROM A GIANT TURTLE, which was laying the eggs on a sand beach. You will be told that they collect the eggs to protect them and safe from varans, but that´s just a lie for tourists. Local people know about what is really happening, but there is no one to stop such people. We recognised even a worker of the marine park among the people, who distributed the eggs among themselves. Jeffrey laughed at us and send us to the police, with obvious consciousness that nobody will punish him. All tourists pay RM5 to support the marine park, we tried to complain there after, but they just smiled... Let´s at least not support Mama´s restaurant and if Jeffrey offers you a snorkelling trip, you better choose another person and not the one, who is killing the marine life.

PS: Do you have any ideas about where to complain and what to do?

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
24 Thank Uršula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Pros:
- very calm
- bungalows are cleaned daily and hygiene is high (for Malaysian standard, don't even dare to compare with Western standards)
- very good restaurant except the BBQ is better at the neighbors
- you can do direct snorkling
- two dive-centers directly next
- very friendly staff - family owned

Contra:
- all bungalows are very basic (but hard to get another level in Malaysia at all)
- hardly places to relax (chairs very uncomfortable), I bought a hangmat and then everything was perfect
- you can hardly use the beach due to corals directly in front. Even if you have beach-front bungalow, you mostly cannot go directly to the beach, as there is a small wall / damn.
- no energy for 3 hours each day (which is mostly ok)
- mattress a bit old (but clean!)
- the place would be even greater if they had a sense of beauty (putting hangmats, other plants / decorations, just renewing some things). But this is Malaysia and not Thailand or Bali, so things are not as well done as in most other South-East Asian countries.

Summary:
There are only 3 restaurants around at this area of the island closing at 10 the latest and one small bar selling beer (closing maybe at 11 or earlier). Perfect for an absolutely relaxing vacation. Who wants action / party should however go to other places!
I recommend going with a canoe for 1/2 day, this was a perfect trip you shouldn't miss when you go there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palmisano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
1.0 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#4 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#3 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#6 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.5 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Place

Property: Mama's Place
Address: Pulau Perhentian Besar, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Mama`s Place Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar
Mamas Place Pulau Perhentian Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing