We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely location a bit away from Long Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely location a bit away from Long Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Read previous reviews and got a very mixed impression but decided to book and give my own feedback.
Pleasantly surprised by the location, which is not on the main ' Long Beach stretch' but has its own beautiful cover.
Really good facilities. Swimming pool was cleaned every night. We stayed in a deluxe family room on the first floor for less than £50 per night. Really good dive centre on site with fun dives costs £20 each. BARGAIN. My wife enjoyed the on site SPA and said the 90 mins facial for £17 was one of the best she has ever had!
For lunch and dinner, get out of hotel and walk along beach to local restaurants, which offer amazing food - particularly the BBQ's - for less than £6 a head!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2plus2family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    47
    84
    38
    34
See reviews for
60
68
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

The only very good thing this resort has, is its location in a very nice place.
Our room was directly facing the sea, next to the beautiful beach of the Flora bay.
Food is too expensive and not so good, go to another place further.
Our room, even it was the most expensive of this resort, was really poor. No fridge, no security box, no hair dryer, no electric kettle, two lights were not working, no shower curtain in the bathroom.
The swimming pool is very nice.
Oh ya and don't worry about the electrical blackouts (2-3 per day)...

Actually we were supposed to go to Tuna bay resort, but it was fully booked.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blumjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

very very dissapointed. cleanines not good, noisy, food are very bad. never hv been to a hotel or resort tat has no night duty personnel. when ned help noone it's there to help.
just one word very poor on sevice & everything

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pulau Perhentian Besar hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

My group consists of nine adults and eleven childrens. The resort is selected by our group because of their big swimming pool, TV in the room and Dive Centre with latest equipment. The resort is crowded with local tourist during school holidays. The room is decent without coffee making facility but they do provide a thermos that you can refill it with hot water anytime. The hot water dispenser is located at the beverage counter. They did have HBO as one of their TV channel. The room and area surrounding is always clean due to their dedicated cleaner. Nothing great about their foods, it is just normal. Room rates and snorkeling rates is at the high side (fauna beach resort offering RM90++ for 3 days snorkeling including food and beverage) whereby arwana is charging RM40 per person per trip without F&B. Karaoke and Massage Centre is always full which you need to book early. They have snooker table (arround 3 or 4 table) and I notice that nobody is using it.

The best part of this resort is the staffs make an effort to call you by name and will assist you whenever requested. They will always smile at you. The resort manager (Mr. Saat Surif) and Front Office Supervisor (Mr. Mohamad Najeb) is very nice and helpful for arranging our snorkeling trip and Karaoke session. The Dive Centre operator (Mr. Zulkarnaen) is very professional in assisting me with diving at a few nice spot surrounding the perhentian island.

I spent my time on snorkeling in the morning and diving in the afternoon during my 4D3N stays. The resort is normal 3* hotel to me but the staff hospitality makes me dream to come back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trasherMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

I am afraid the Eco stuff is fake, I didn't see anything eco in this resort (soaps, electricity, food...). The hotel is a big one, so don't expect any intimacy here: it is not a cute little village of bungalows at all.
The location is ok but the beach may be a bit dirty.
Prices are very much higher than in Long Bay (eg renting snorkeling things).
Special mention to the dive shop, with dedicated and lovely staff! I really enjoyed diving with them!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

we stayed in a family room which had a double bed and two single beds which was great. the swimming pool is big with a lovly waterfall. When we were there are room got cleaned every day by the made. Every morning the breakfast was different however very nice. they have fast internet and when you walk out of the hotel you are on the beach. it is near lots of resterants. the staff are very freindly. i am hoping to come back here again and we really enjoyed our stay and did not want to leave.

  • Liked — swimming pool and waterfall
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Xxjade-bethxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavle
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed at Arwana for a total of 9 days.

* 9 out of 10 orders in the restaurant went wrong.

* our room smelled like rotten apples and after a rendezvous with some Cockroaches beside our bed we decided to change room from downstairs one big bed room to upstairs two single bed room...Must say, the rooms on level two are much better!

* Breakfast became a bit boring after 2 days.. Be there from when the breakfast buffe opens at the morning because after a while you will notice that the food will become cold and outpicked.

*first glance of the pool is great but when you get in you will notice that the water is not that nice. It aint unusual that the residents is in the pool with their clothes on.. remember your in a country of strong religous character.

On plus hand, the staff is splended. They help you with everything. The english is a bit so and so but some of the staff can speak english really good.

They do have a tiny tiny store with some really expensive stuff, (overprized huh?! :) so take a stroll down the beach to some other small stores by the other resorts and you will find the same things but alot cheaper.

You can take out money with your visa in the reception but they will take out a fee of 10% of the amount you want to withdraw.

If you want to use Internet at Arwana .. do so before bad weather hits the island. Connection will go down (for you who´s going to do some airline bookings maybe).

And remember KEEP your windows and doors closed at all time.. There are a few nasty little things you dont want to get in to your room.. It´s like a djungle sometimes ;)

  • Liked — Its a big place
  • Disliked — Read my review
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank virrkrille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.9 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#4 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#3 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.9 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#5 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet

Property: Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Address: Lot 181 Telok Dalam, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort And Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet Hotel Terengganu
Arwana Perhentian Eco Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing