We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Perhentian Besar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Perhentian Besar”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

What's the best thing about Tuna Bay Island Resort.
- You can get a 3D2N Full Board accommodation package for as low as RM550 per person which includes boat transfers, full board meals, a cozy room with air conditioning, hot water for shower and snorkeling trips.
- You get to snorkel right in front of the resort, which is the best damn thing to do if you've not been to Terengganu Islands before.
- Their staffs are very accommodating which really plays a major part in making your entire vacation stress-free.
- Drinking water is FREE. I've been to other resorts which doesn't provide any drinking water. IKR!
- Ample beach loungers = DO NOT HAVE TO FIGHT FOR ONE.
- Clean rooms.
- A cocktail bar!

What I didn't really like about Tuna Bay Island Resort.
- Electricity cut offs between 2pm to 5pm, if not mistaken. No choice there since they have to give their generators a rest.
- Generator running alongside some chalets which can be heard in the room. Light sleepers will find it annoying at night. Bring earplugs. OR you can ask for rooms that are in the middle area during booking. If you're getting the rooms facing the beach, then you should be generator-free.
- Back in 2008, very quiet. 2013, crazy load of people. So, if you are looking for a secluded beach where you can relax and read a couple of novels, this isn't the beach for you.

For first timers.
This is if you've not been snorkeling before, I would advice you to take the Full Board Package. There will be 2 snorkeling trips available and you'll be able to see sharks, corals, turtles and fishes at different snorkeling points. Also, for a fuss-free vacation, meals will be provided 4 times a day (B/L/T/D).

Things to note during planning.
- Boat transfer schedules. This is extremely important because the speed boats only go to and fro during certain times. This also varies during low and high peak season. So, always double check on your flight time and boat time.
- If you are driving, it takes about 6-7 hours from Kuala Lumpur. Routes can be found on Google Map. If you wish to catch the earliest boat which is at 9am, I would suggest that you leave Kuala Lumpur around 230am latest.

Other than that, remember to relax, have fun and soak in everything Perhentian has to offer. Cheers!

For more photos and travel tips - http://wanderlustbyjane.blogspot.com/

Room Tip: - Generator running alongside some chalets which can be heard in the room. Light sleepers will find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderlustbyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    433
    127
    46
    25
See reviews for
257
516
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love Tuna Bay! Went there for holiday with my family and close friends for our annual island outing. Tuna Bay got their own speed boat thus it was very convenient for us as we didn't have to queue at the Merang Jetty (i brought along my 11++ months baby).

We stayed for 2 nights, and they gave us connecting rooms. The room was clean. Yayy! The beach in front of the resort is awesome, in fact you dont have to go far to see Nemo! Enjoyed doing some snorkeling and swimming just in front of the resort. Please take note that some of the friendly fishes might actually give u "love bites" :)

Overall, the foods served were good. Fishes served were fresh but the chicken might be not. The staffs were friendly and accommodating. They keep some soup for my son (without me having to ask) and give us extra food as well. :)

The snorkeling trips by the resort were good as well. They took us to the famous sport such as Turtle Point and Shark Point. We didn't manage to catch a glimpse of any black-tip sharks but the turtles were friendly enough to show their cute faces.

I will definitely go back there one day, this time for diving! yay for tuna bay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AniesKamardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I would definitely recommend Tuna Bay. The restaurant serves really delicious food with a varied menu. The staff are friendly and helpful and the beach is raked every morning. There are plenty of sun beds and umbrellas to use and the coral is the best on the whole island. We really enjoyed our staff and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuboobedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We (young couple) believe that we have been very fortunate to spend 18 nights at Tuna Bay...and we took some great memories with us when we left. Our goal was to get relaxation from our busy workaday life...Tuna was the best place for us at this point. Our luxury beach front chalet was the last in the row and the best as there were not so many people passing by. It was quite small but had everything we needed. If you look out of the window you don't want to spend too much time in the room anyway. If you are a water freak, it's perfect for you. We have been snorkeling at the house riff in front of the resort every day (to make a change we went to other spots a few times). If you have an underwater camera...you have to take it with you. Universal Divers next to Tuna is the best diving resort there. Very professional and fun. In our opinion, the restaurant is very good. Better don't miss the fish barbecue...yummy. We have tried a few others close by...but always came back....as Tuna's is the best in the area. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. Tuna's success says it all...thanks for everything. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Deluxe Beach Front Chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanjamuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This resort is much too busy for us. Lots of chairs on the small beach, lots of small children. People claiming the chairs by putting a towel on it before breakfast is definitely a turn off for us. Rooms are ok but nothing special. Bungalows very close to eachother, no privacy. Only a few have sea view, the rest (ours too) have a courtyard view which is no good. Old chairs and swimming equipment is dumped there, which gives you a great view of your very small veranda....The restaurant is good, the food as well. To and from the resort in a nice boat. But no second time for us.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NetherlandsAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The tuna bay resort is one of the best resorts on the Perhentians in terms of room standards. We stood in a recently renovated room (at least it seemed to be rather new). The bathroom however didn't seem to be refurbished, but was still in an acceptable state. The air con was rather loud especially at night
The resort is located at a very beautiful beach with a stunning house reef. Next to it are some smaller chalets (Abduls and Cocohut), which means that you can also go there to have dinner.
The restaurant in the resort itself serves good food. However, it is nothing special and they don't have a menu of the day - After some days it gets a bit boring. I was also wondering why they don't have any tables at the beach, since the sea is only 5 meters away from the entrance of the restaurant. All in all the restaurant didn't give the impression of being very innovative. The absolute weakness of the restaurant is the quality of service. The staff is bored, often even unfriendly and ignorant. Every time we went there, we had to ask several times for the menu (once we even had to go to the bar to get it). We were a group of four people, but the staff never managed to serve our meals together. They also didn't get the concept of courses (starter and main), sometimes the starter came after the main course. Some of the snacks have only been served until 3 pm (which was already strange, we thought). But when we came five minutes past 3 to order some garlic bread and the waiter told us that it was too late now, we really found it outrageous. They even had the nerve to tell us that they use a special clock (which went wrong) to determine the time until they serve the snacks.
Don't expect the staff to greet you, when you enter the restaurant.
If you want your table to be cleaned, don't expect them to see it themselves. You should rather ask, sometimes plead for it.
We really tried to eat somewhere else whenever possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

nice beach, clean rooms, helpful staff, excelent food in the restaurant.
evening grilled seafood and indonesian claypot prawns are a must!
transfer provided by the hotel very reliable.

best place to stay on perhentian.

love universal diver too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KonradMuzykiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.6 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
637 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Resort
Arwana Perhentian Resort
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
651 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
315 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort

Property: Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Address: | Perhentian Island, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort is located on the south west coast of Pulau Perhentian Besar (Big Island), a quiet, untouched part of the island surrounded by tropical jungle, on a broad expanse of powdery white sand. The resort commands a breathtaking view of Pulau Perhentian Kecil (Small Island) and the South China Sea, right on your doorstep. All chalets are just a minute's walk from the beach and are tastefully built with wooden furnish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing