We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Bubbles Dive Centre and Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Mama's Place(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
Coral View Island Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Perhentian Island Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Flora Bay Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Average 3/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Watercolours Resort & Dive Centre(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Average 3/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Average 3/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Eco Marine Perhentian Island Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveler rating
365
449
131
48
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
449
131
48
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstunafishuniversal divercoral reefbeach frontkota bharuwater taxiegg stationother placesstandard chaletromantic beachadjoining roomsrooms are basicboat transfermarine parksea viewnoodles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

When we arrived we were welcomed with a juice while our luggage was taken to our chalet for us.

Located literally on the beach we were able to go snorkelling everyday renting the eqiuptment from the dive shop next door.

The water is crystal clear and the beach is maintained by the staff very well!

Definitely value for money!

You can walk around the island in a couple hours, and see some black and white monkeys on route! We also saw some lizards.

The staff were always helpful and friendly. The food was good if a little repetitive. Sadly the wifi was not always reliable - but trust me, when you stay here you don't need internet!!

Room Tip: Even if you can't get a beach front room but a garden room the beach is still on your doorstep!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalaciousJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

After a spine damaging boat trip, we arrived at Tuna Bay. We were aware it was going to be basic accommodation, but it was clean and perfectly comfortable. It was the end of the season in 2011 and we were equipped with our snorkels. Straight out the front, literally less than 1 min from the room, you walk onto the beach. It was clean and beautiful and to my delight I found Nemo, actually numerous nemo's right off the beach! The food was lovely and the service was sufficient. I have beautiful memories of visiting here. We stayed in Kota Bharu en route which really could be missed, there is nothing to see or do there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

With just 3 weeks to arrival, we somehow managed to book a garden view family chalet, but were grateful to have receive one during peak season!

The family chalets have 2 adjoining rooms in a free standing chalet structure. There was plenty of room with a king bed in one room and 2 twins in the other. Upkeep was excellent, and the resort ran generators in 3 shifts, minimizing blackout periods and electrical restarts. The rooms were immaculate and beautifully finished. Filtered water was provided for a nominal charge to refill bottles.

Drop off your baggage in the resort office on the mainland, and they deliver them to your room at the resort!

The complimentary breakfast was excellent with both western and local options and loads of protein. After catching 20 fish during an outing, the restaurant charged a very reasonable rate to clean them and prepare them 3 different ways. The activities arranged at the sea sports desk was efficient, friendly and very reasonable, and the quality continued.

The beach in front of the resort provided hours of amusement for our preteen children--we had to drag them to shore to feed, water and re-apply sunblock. The swim platform provided just enough security and rest for them to explore the amazing marine life.

Above all, Tuna Bay uses their own, large, covered boats to transfer from the resort and the mainland, ensuring that you and luggage stay dry!

While to inexpensive, this experience screamed amazing value for money, and we are hooked!

Room Tip: Be sure to book at least 6 months in advanced on the peak period--June through July. Bring just 1 set of water bottles to refill at the resort as necessary. Book all your activities including water taxis through the sea sports desk with confidence. The fishing trip they arranged was great fun!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lu-Shien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Having your own mini vistas was quite nice. Try to get one on the beach for an optimal vacation. Sometimes it was hard to find loungers on the beach, but we did alright. This is a great place for beginners who are learning to Scuba dive or people who enjoy snorkelling, because there is a great reef right on the beach you can easily swim out to in 30 seconds and see 100's of types of fish. Loved it! Oh wait, there was one thing that frightened me a bit. We found a huge spider in our room on the second night, but had it quickly removed...that sort of thing just happens in Malaysia.

Room Tip: The ones by the water seem the nicest.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nilly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This resort was the best priced one for what it offered. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The restaurant is great and the prices really good considering they could charge anything on a secluded island! Try the evening BBQ - yum yum! Would be great if the restaurant offered a kids menu though. They offer snorkelling trips, fishing trips etc. The baby cot they gave us was good. We had to ask for more blankets and pillows but they gave us them. Pressure in shower was bad but they are on a generator so expected. The A/C system was our biggest complaint - you can not change the temperature or power of air flow because they are all programmed the same! it was too cold for us and our 2 children and very annoying. The A/C units are really old and noisy too. There was a ceiling fan but this was too noisy too. The resort needs to upgrade their towels and sheets asap. They also need to provide cushions on the beach loungers and the staff should walk along the beach each morning and pick up any rubbish they see. There was always lots of staff hanging around so if they are being paid then they should do something useful. The resort had concrete paths around the rooms which was great for our baby stroller. Would help if there was a ramp up to the restaurant though. We would go back or next time maybe try the Perhentian Island Resort around the next bay. You can't fault the island, it is truly beautiful. We saw monkeys around the resort, the tropical fish were amazing, we even saw a harmless snake and lizards etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ExpatAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews