We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coral View Island Resort
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This resort is one of the oldest on the island. Although, some of the fittings and furnitures have aged, they are all in good working condition. The beds and pillows (my wife is especially particulars about them) also received the thumbs up from my wife. Would appreciate if the management combine some of the downlights with brighter bulbs to brighten up the interior of the rooms.
The restaurant is fantastic. Serving good food at a very reasonable and affordable price. After surveying the prices of nearby eateries, we found that the food here is of almost the same price if not cheaper and the ambiance is so much better. We ended having all our meals here. The waiters were friendly except for a new trainee who was unsure of the menus.
The sea view rooms will be a better choice tho a little bit more costly. if you are the adventurous type and don't mind some climbing, the hill tops rooms will be an exciting choice.
The beach is right at the door steps of the sea view rooms. Very convenience. If you want a longer beach, the one in front of Perhentian Island Resort is only a few stone throw away.

Room Tip: Would strongly recommend the Family suite seaview and if one can afford it the Exceutive Suite Sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 661 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel really need a major face lift as it is still the same old hotel since 10 years ago.

This time we stayed for 4 nights in two difference kinds of rooms, Deluxe Garden View and Sea View Family Suite. Deluxe Garden View is very dark inside and you need to switch on all the lights in broad day light. Sea View Family Suite is still ok as the big glass door allow more natural light to go in. The furnitures in rooms are very old. It is still the same furniture we came 10 years ago including the air conditional (box type). One of the night the air condition break down. Luckily there are workman from the hotel that can do the repair in 30 minutes. They removed the "dinosaur" air con and replace another new "dinosaur" air con. The air con service guy is very polite and helpful.

The restaurant service is very poor, the waiter can't really understand the order and they don't even border repeat the order. The coffee is diluted and half boiled eggs are raw! The local fried noodle is good but come in very small portion. However the restaurant is located at a convenient location and you will surely pass by and need to eat here one of the day if you are staying along this beach (for variety). A few newer table located outside has beautiful sea view and setting.

The good thing about this hotel is that they have beautiful land scape. Also the location is great as you can stay here and walk to the sandy beach in front of Perhentian Island Resort or do 15 minutes trekking over the hill to Tuna Bay side.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe Sea View if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivdaviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

In its price cathegory it's way better than most of the places we stayed in peninsular Malaysia. Rooms are ok and clean. Personnel is kind and friendly. Restaurant is ok. Position is possibly the best you can get on Pulau Besar. Nice beach on the North side.

Room Tip: North side beach (next to PIR) is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solobagaglioamano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We 4 Adults and 1 children booked this resort via MyEho.com with meal.We dont have any problem with our booking We arrived at this resort when they celebrate Hari Raya Idul Fitri.The resort give us voucher meal for use in lunch Rm 35 for 1adult and Rm 25 for 1child and for dinner Rm 60 for 1 adult and Rm 30 for 1 chid.Breakfast is buffet dining.So you can oder from menu book what do you want to eat.If you oder meal more bigger than your voucher meal so you must pay the rest.
.Travelling in Hari Raya Idul Fitri we do not find any problem.We use taxi non AC from Tune .Hotel Kota Bahru For 4 Adults And 1 Children to jetty Rm 65 and retur to Aiport Rm 60 with AC the journey is about 1.30 hour by taxi.
z
YOU MUST CHOOSE CORAL VIEW ISLAND RESORT IF THESE CONDITIONS ARE SUITABLE FOR YOU.
1) You want to eat delicious meal.
2)You must transfer from speed boat to small boat they don't have jetty
3) must bring your luggage yourself
4)No warm welcome.
5)Ordinary quality of bed
Overall we dont regret stay at this resort.

Room Tip: family sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This resort is probably the one with best value on Perhentian Besar. It´s not so expensive compared to the neighbor "Perhentian Island Resort" and it is just a two minutes walk to the best beach on the island.

They have great bungalows and probably the best restaurant in the neighborhood, even if it´s more expensive than others.

Don´t expect luxury when you arrive here. Just take it for what it is and you will definately like it. There is nothing to complain about. If you book any of the hillside bungalows you almost stay in the middle of the jungle, but you still don´t have to worry about any mosquitos or other animals in your room. Very good!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex09150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was at the Coral view with my wife and 2 children’s for 1 week in August 2013 in a garden view family deluxe bungalow. The room was clean and even it was a garden view we had a nice view of the sea and maybe 50 meter far from the beach.

On 2 occasions we were trying the restaurant (breakfast and lunch) and we decide not to go anymore since the service is inexistent and not friendly at all. Of course we were not happy since the kitchen was not able to provide 4 very simple dishes at the same time. All the dishes were sent to the table with 10 min interval so we were eating in a sequence and on top of that my platter was missing....

I complain to the waiter because it was impossible to get in contact with the manager and this polite gentleman reply to me that if I am not happy I can go somewhere else. Which we did....and they did not see us anymore….

Room Tip: Familly garden view 434 with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chavon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

if you want the view of the sea you have to ask for a sea view deluxe, if they offer a standard you will have to hike up the hill to your room, and it is a hike alright. we had the standard for 3 nights and then 4 nights in sea view. and what a difference. they take card payment, which saved us for some things. as we didn't manage to withdraw before getting to the island. oh in the standard room there was no hot water, but the sea view had hot water and air con. they have a little shop where you can charge it to your room as well.

Room Tip: deluxe sea view and you should be alright. :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttp1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.9 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#2 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
1,003 reviews
1.8 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
666 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#5 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral View Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral View Island Resort

Address: Jalan Besar, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range: $43 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coral View Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Coral View Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral View Island Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar
Hotel Coral View Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing