We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive Here But Don't Stay Here”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Perhentian Paradise Resort
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Dive Here But Don't Stay Here”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Type in Watercolours Paradise and TA sends you all over the place, as so many reviewers used the work paradise when referring to Watercolours Impiana Resort on Kecil, which is closed down and under refurb. And like fool thats where I entered my review cos I couldnt locate this link. So I'm not going to repeat it all - suffice to say the accomodation is basic backpacker level and could be soooo much better if the chalets were modernised (power point, hot water, proper beds and mattresses, AC standard). The restaurant is ok; you will find many things on the menu are "finish already" or "never had in the first place". So don't be fooled by the impressive choice....and dont dare try to order chicken fried rice at 11.30am as its still the breckfast menu and lunch menu starts at 12! Service is island pace so be patient. The whole place could be so much better.

The dive centre doesnt seem to have it own site so I'll say something here. Dive staff are a transient bunch so current lot might move on, but they were all very friendly, knowledgable and helpful and I enjoyed all 8 dives I did over 3 days . Equipment seemed good (BCD's looked new), tanks always filled to 210 bar. Enjoyable debrief after each dive and no one ever complained of anything faulty. The staff set up your BCD/regs onto tanks before each dive (but always insist you do a safety check of your kit) which is nice timesaving set up. One minor comment for the less agile divers out there (older or BMI challenged) - the dive boats look like adapted inter island speedboats and are quite small, and have no ladders. So getting back onboard even without your tank and weights was tough for some divers. My mate who still dives at 60 couldn't have done it. Other than that, great set up and Perhentians still blessed with abundant healthy coral and fish stocks; rays, turtles and more fish than I had space in my dive logbook to list each dive.

Room Tip: I probably wouldnt stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotsmaninmalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    12
    15
    14
See reviews for
5
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

It is a very busy, crowded place with a very friendly giggling female staff but the only reason for it being busy is the price and maybe the bieer they serve in the restaurant. Yes, this place is cheap but it is also shabby, dirty and neglected. We stayed in a new longhouse in the garden, 3 night in one room, and 4 in another. Neither had ever been cleaned during our stay! The rooms in the longhouse are new but the inside is never touched by sun or wind and it's dark and damp. I cannot recomend this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurasakiWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pulau Perhentian Besar hotels

Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

This is definitely not the best hotel in the world but let's just be happy that this island is not yet taken over by tasteless 4-5 star resorts. If that would be the case you would be paying 5-10 times the price you pay at Watercolours - and let's be honest, you don't come here for the hotel, but for the island, the snorkeling and diving. It's a top-spot in that regard and luckily Perhentian is still small-scale / budget type of tourism which makes up for the lack of quality accommodation. Maybe other places around Watercolours could be a better option but we really enjoyed the place. The place is relaxed, it is almost like a small village and the food is probably the best compared to other places as it was always busy. The food is good, not great, and service is very friendly. We did a snorkeling trip organised by the hotel and this is definitely recommended - 2 hours of snorkeling at some of the best spots around - great fun and excellent experience. i did not mind not having electricity points in the room as ipods etc can be charged at reception. The only recommendation i would have for the hotel is to invest in better mattresses. It was still OK after two nights but could feel my back on the second morning. Don't go here if you need a special therapeutic mattress bot all in all we had a great time and enjoyed our stay at Watercolours.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdv999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Possibly the best place to eat in the area ... and one of the few places to be able to buy a beer with the meal; but when we come back, we'll still eat here but stay in accommodation around the corner in Coral Bay.
Even taking into account it's budget accommodation, it's still under the line that I find acceptable. VERY VERY basic .. but at least your own WC and (cold) shower. Very limited lighting and no power-points at all in the accommodation. I've seen many cockroaches in the years I've lived in Sarawak and Cyprus but the one I killed in our bathroom was the granddaddy of all :) :)
The beach and view outside is nowhere near as nice as at Coral Bay ..
The service at the restaurant is very friendly; if maybe a bit overrelaxed ... sometimes need to tap the girls on the shoulder after 10 minutes to let them know you'd arrived and were hungry :) :)
The guys and gals at the diving school were GREAT ...
Thanks Nadine and crew ... and all the very best to you all !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I've been to Perhentain before but i think this resort is one of the best... Nice beach.. Very nice food.... Good service... Friendly staff....The chalet well...clean.... Watercolours Dive Centre also 2 thumbs up!!! Thanks to Mr Azizi (resort mananger) and Dive Instructor, Nadine... U guys are great!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Malxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The rooms were very dirty, towels as well. We reservated and payed for a week but we could'nt stay more than 1 night in this horrabel room. We didn't get our money back. The staff is the restaurant is very slow. It can take more than a hour before you get any food. We moved after 1 night to coral view resort, where we had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suusvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

A good thing with this place (commonly known as Watercolours Paradise) is that you do not need to buy a package to stay here. The AC bungalows are very basic and there are no power sockets in the rooms, but you can recharge in the reception. Free WiFi for all guests and power around the clock (or at least supposed to). The beach in front of the hotel is not particularly good, but just a 10 minute walk away is the best beach you can find at the Perhentians.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
1.0 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#7 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
226 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
810 reviews
1.3 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#1 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
958 reviews
2.5 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perhentian Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perhentian Paradise Resort

Property: Perhentian Paradise Resort
Address: Pulau Perhentian Besar, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 146
Also Known As:
Perhentian Paradise Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing