We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation”
Review of Mama's Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mama's Chalet
Zug, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We spent about a week in a sea view family chalet with AC. The staff was very helpful, specially the son responsible for the rooms. He helped us with all kinds of things, even repairing our kids toys. The room itself was nice and big. It would have been nice to have AC during the afternoon, but this is somehow not possible. They didn't clean everyday, but when we asked them to they took care of it right away. One drawback is that the beach right in front of the hotel is not that nice and very rocky. The nicer beaches are about 5-10 minutes away.
The restaurant was good and priced fairly. The personnel did not feel super motivated at first but they were always friendly.
It was very practical to be able to use their ferry boat so that you end up right at the hotel.
It is great to dive with the turtle bay dive shop when you stay here.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SwissBrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    55
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
49
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Scenery is superb. Food is fantastic. All staff also very friendly & very informative. Clean & tidy. Normally went there twice a year in march & sept for almost 8 years. Lovely place to enjoy the white beaches, smell of sea breeze, pay a visit to Long Beach exactly gave me different experiences & having breakfast with local folks at kg pulau perhentian. No wonder this island was nominated as 1 of the most beautiful island in the world. My next vacation to this island will be next month, April 2014. Wait for me...........

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marchetta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Mama Chalets are run by educated people who understand the importance of Service, hospitality and convenience. Every thing was arranged as per request. No wonder people come back to the place. I would stay in Mama Chalet again if ever visited Perhentian Islands again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzaffar_Syed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is one of the budget chalets with good value in Perhentian Island. We stayed in sea view family chalet for 4 persons. Chalet is located at Perhentian Island Besar, and face to Perhentian Island Kecil, make the sea view become interesting.

The beach in front Mama's Chalet is just normal, All those resorts besides and nearby are sharing the same beach, so we can simply walk to the other part of beach nearby, which was very clean and beautiful. We enjoyed the part of beach in front of Perhentian island resort, haha.

The chalet was built at the beach, so it was difficult to maintain the cleanliness of the room, so a broom was provided, I swept the floor every morning during our stay at the chalet. However, at the 1st night, we were disturbed by mice, which came in through air-cond piping. Luckily 2nd night was ok.

Dive center is just nearby, very convenient. And, restaurant with delicious food is also nearby, make our stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Take the sea view chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YSBanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Aziz is the owner, nice and smart with useful suggestions for avoiding tourist-traps.
The bungalows are perfect compared with the ones i've seen in both kecil and besar, the 2 perenthian-islands I've visited. I've found the best compromise price/quality in Mama's. The whole staff is gentle and active for any needs, moreover it's located in the best place where tourist can find different restaurants. I've booked by means of Aziz the other connection of my vacation, as coming back to KL, as other boat-trip,...
More than one tourist I've met there, they all suggested me to go eating at the Mama's for the best BBQ i could get, but i can say i had not this opportunity...by the way, next time...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I trusted a travel agency and booked a 2 person chalet at Mama's, in Pulau Besar, and we were glad we booked it. Cheap, good value for money, and close to one of the best beach in Besar.

We had a nice chalet with a fan and were perfectly satisfied of it. Large & clean bed, correct bathroom, and possibility to get one of the chalets facing the sea...

The staff was also very friendly and helpful, and allowed us to make our stay in the Perhentian Islands one of the best we've had during our roadtrip in Asia. The possibility of having breakfast, enjoying a view worthy of postcard is just like a dream.

I'd definitely advise you to go there if you have planned heading towards the Perhentians.


One small advice, if you stay at Mama's, you definitely have to go to their restaurant and to get a fresh fish with its coconut sauce (advised in most of the guides ;) )!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at mama's chalet on the island of Besar (perhentian). As we saw on internet this was the only and best budget option on the island near the beach. And it was. Different types of chalets with different prices. We paid 85 ringgit (€ 22,-) each night for a fan cabin with garden view. Most cheap are fan chalets for 65 ringgit and the highest price for a/c big beach rooms 160 ringgit. The resort is on a busy part of the island but quiet enough. A lot of wildlife at the resort. We took al lot of beautifull pics of this wildlife. The cabins are basic. a big comfy bed (big enough for 3 persons) but no mozzy net !! Glad we brought our baycon with us to kill the mozzies. Rooms are big enough. 1 dresser, miror. Bathroom with cold water and low pressure. No water or what so ever included. They provide towels and toiletpaper. No cleaning at all in 5 days but they clean on demand. No noise at night. The restaurant is just ok. Little high priced but thats everywhere on the island. 1 man at the reception is great (Aziz) the other staff are just louzy not willing to do anything for you. Playing with there games and mobile phones all day. Strange remarks to woman from some staff members !! They charge around 5 % on all the food prices (we didnt find that anywhere) and they charge 5 % extra if you pay with visa !!
There is no internet or wifi at mama's. (This would be a big ++ if they add that service.) So you need to go to the neighbours at waterfront. Buy some food or drinks and you get a wifi password for 3 hours. Sometimes the people at waterfront are not nice. They ask you to buy more food or drinks if you want to use the wifi a.s.o. We absolutely didnt like the place but we had to go there if we want to use the internet.
There is no more beach at mama's but if you walk a few minutes you find nice beaches with great snorkling places. We are divers but we saw with snorkling at least the same marine life and much more sharks. Also very nice divespots but it can be overcrowded. A lot of people in the weekend and all the dive spots are cowded with divers then. Turtle bay divers is the place to be for some nice scuba dives with great divemasters and good gear.
There are no minimarkets or what so ever on the island. Just some stores from the resort. So for every softdrink you pay at least 3 ringgit and so on. Take so supplies with you if you travel on budget :)
Aziz can arrange a taxi for you back to Kota Bharu (or airport) for a good price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Perhentian Besar hotels
1.0 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
636 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Resort
Arwana Perhentian Resort
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
852 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bayu Dive Lodge
Bayu Dive Lodge
#5 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets
New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets
#6 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama's Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Chalet

Property: Mama's Chalet
Address: B11 Terminal Pelancong, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Number of rooms: 41

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing