We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot,wooden floor with hole, garbage smell”
Review of Fauna Beach Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fauna Beach Chalet
Reviewed April 15, 2014

we, 5 person live at there for 3day.
room - very hot, small, bed not feel so clean, floor outside the bathroom got few small hole
food- just ok..spicy
beach- beautiful but sometime smell garbage, beach also have some garbage
however, have fun cause saw shark and sea turtle at the hotspot

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serena900616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 49 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you are on a budget holiday, Fauna Chalet might suit you. However, please take note of the conditions:-

The rooms are pretty old with minimal maintenance. Expect ants and cockroaches in the room and/or bathroom. The bathroom had no ventilation and smells like sewage. The shower doesn’t work because the water pressure is too low, plus, saw mosquito larvae in water.

The beach is peaceful and quiet during the day and night, not much activities going at nighttime.

Other than that, the food at the restaurant is good and we were well-taken care during the snorkeling and island hopping trips; the crew put your safety first!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank juaizzuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The chalet is facing northeast. Hence, can't view sunset here. Sunrise is blocked by a small island where Lata Air Berani located. The beach is nice and kayaking is strongly recommended. Rm15 per hour.

The food is excellent and the service rendered by Fauna restaurant owner was good. All food are prepared on the spot instead of pre cook or buffet style despite we have a package meals.

Staff at the reception are not helpful in resolving technical issues like water shower heater not working and no technician was sent despite they promised to.

The island guides are very friendly throughout the 4D3N snorkeling trip.

The room is very basic and run down. Suggest to upgrade the room cleanliness. Room is quite run down with the almost tore plastic carpet on the floor. Red Ants are everywhere in the room and we killed 3 crocoaches for 3 nights inside the room and bathroom. Some lights are not functioning and not replaced. The basin is not connected to the drain. It flow out to the bathroom's floor which is gross. The basin water from the rooms water tank contains larvae of mosquitoes. Water pressure is low and can't utilize the water shower heater at all. No television in the room. Only one television available at the restaurant.

No wifi provided. Even if you have your own data plan, only Celcom signal is strong. No signal for Maxis user and we have to go to the beach to get merely a 1G signal. Better than nothing.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juneisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

RM60 for detached chalet on beach ocean view with double or two single beds which is a great alternative to dorms for 2 people  This is as cheap as you are going to get on Besar the big island. I discovered this after doing the 45 min trek for the Coral View / Mammas beach area and moved here next morning.

The rooms are old, musty and hot until you open the windows or turn on the fan. A little make over would do wonders. There were a couple mosquitoes and some ants. They provide clean towels, soap and toilet paper. I was worried about the mattress and pillows but woke up with bites of any kind.

I really liked the porch, the breeze and ocean view. The locals and children can get a little boisterous but it's a nice area and glad i moved. Their restaurant also has the best food prices and quality is good. Staff and main boss helpful and friendly. No wifi.

Room Tip: If you are the type that attracts mosquitoes you may want to pack bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoJac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

rm300 for a 3D2N snorkelling trip with 6 meals included. the food there taste good *not sure if its because we were hungry* the room is what we paid, just nice for 3 person, a wall fan, lots of ants, the wash-room looks like anyone can peek in any time but i think its suitable for young adults who don't mind the accommodation.

the snorkelling trip was fun though. i touched a huge turtle, friends saw vegetarian sharks and many "nemo" fish!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuniceGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Location:
At pulau perhentian besar.
Approx 30 minutes from the Kuala Besut Jetty.
Approx 20 minutes from all other attractions.

Facilities:
depends on type of room:
available: aircond or fan, attached bathroom, single bed, double decker bed, restaurants, grocery store.

Overall:
Average

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nazzerooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Pretty bad accommodation. went on a 3d2n package with snorkelling. was on budget so chose the one without a/c. bad choice. the most basic room came with a wall fan only. room comes with a balcony. the place is infested with mozzies, thus most of the time the doors(balcony) is closed therefore room get pretty stuffy at night.
Will recommend those who intend on a budget stay there to opt for one with a/c.

One good thing about this trip is that this island is much more peaceful as compared to redang.

Room Tip: get one with air-con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeiQiangSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Perhentian Besar hotels
0.9 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#2 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
1,009 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
933 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets
New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fauna Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fauna Beach Chalet

Address: Pulau Perhentian Besar, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Fauna Beach Chalet Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing