We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at coco chalet for around 3 days. The chalet was small to accommodate 5 people as we got an extra mattress for us apart from two queen size beds. The washroom was ok and clean. There was AC in the room and hot water supplier in the washroom. They have their own restaurant which is perfectly on the beach and with excellent local and chinese food. The staff was good and environment was excellent. Wifi was only available in the restaurant and not in the chalets so you have to sit there to use internet which was still a big blessing over there. The speed was good enough to skype. There was no TV in the room.
But it was a good experience over all to be on a very appropriate and beautiful location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cennet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 464 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We came from Abdul's chalets down the beach for one night as they were fully booked and it was definitely not the best night sleep we've ever had. We paid over £50 for a garden view room and it was not worth the money. There were ants all in the bathroom and we had to shower with shoes on!! You can hear the banging from next door through the wall. We would never return back there as it is not good value for money at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcalland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The location is quite good as the beach is so beautiful. However, the chalets we stayed (cozy chalet) was located right up the hill, and were the furthest away from the beach. We have to climb up all the way everytime and there were basically nothing to see from that location. I don't mind walking, but sometimes it is just too troublesome to walk up and down if i missed something. There were also lots of mosquitoes especially in the evening. The room is quite comfortable i would say, but personally i think the toilet needs maintenance. The foods provided i'm quite satisfied as normally the foods provided at the beach won't be that nice, but i find that the foods provided here are quite nice. The snorkeling trip went well too as the guide is very helpful and kind enough to bring us around to see special creatures in the sea. Due to time constraint, we only went to 3 spots which includes turtle spot and sharks spot! He also shared his precious experience with us too!

Room Tip: I think New cocohut chalet will be much better in terms of clealiness and location, it is just few w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaiLing03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Spend 4 days 3 nights at the beginning of April. Chalets good size and clean. Direct access to the beach. The restaurant and food is good, delicious fresh fish and seafood. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We did the jungle trek on the island and great for snorkelling. We watched some great thunderstorms from the terrace and from our chalet. Small resort, which was just what we wanted. We did also eat at Tuna Bay which is well worth a visit to eat dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tegandoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Hello,im a malaysian and this is my 1st time family trip to perhentian island. In my view,cocohut n cozy chalet is d best chalet at the island. The staff were friendly eventhough they dont speak fluent english but atleast they try.
Seriously i dont know how to swim,yet my brother just let me swim alone but one of the guider taught me and he also show me the coral, and i had a chance to hold the sea cucumber.
The restaurant menu is quite interesting but they still need to improve more in the preparation.
The cleanliness of the chalet is tip top.during my stayed here i didnt see any rubbish except inside the bin.
Dont worry about the electricity because they are using 24hours generator.the water supply such as heater is functional well.
I stayed near the seaview and if u want to stay at hill site u have to climb up the stairs(im not sure how many step) but its WORTH it.
My family and i just enjoyed staying here!;)
Will come again

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masyitahfarahin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at Cocohut in July last year as part of our honeymoon. We had nothing booked and arrived at the island, hoping to get accommodation. We were lucky that there was a chalet available. We stayed for 5 nights. We stayed in a few different chalets, as some were booked and we had to move. That was fine..sure we had nothing booked so we were lucky. The first night we stayed in a ground chalet which was right on the beach, but very little view of the beach, as there was another chalet in front. The next three nights we stayed in a hill chalet and the final night in another hill chalet. As far as the inside of the chalets go, they are all quite similar. Personally, I preferred the hill chalet as it looked right over the sea, sitting out on the balcony was heaven. But be prepared of the steps up the hill, I felt that the steps were worth the view though. Either way, state that you want a chalet with a sea view (same price). Breakfast was included, just eggs and toast, but it was all we wanted. We had dinner there a few nights and they do a really good bbq with every type of fish... Cocohut is right on the beach, walk 2 minutes along the beach and you have the best snorkelling I've ever had. Tuna Bay Resort beside has amazing grub too. All in all a fab time, would love to be there now!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hi,
I spent few days in New Cocohut chalet, and I have to say that it was a great location.
At the beginning of the beach, with easy access to jungle treck. The beach in front has very nice coral for snorkeling and if you swim a bit further, you might be able to meet giant turtles!
The restaurant is great for coffee and food is decent. We spent few nights at Tunay Bay which happened to have live jazz music and nice decoration...

Would go there again.

Room Tip: We changed room from high up on the rock to on the beach because it happened to be available, smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geo009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.6 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#1 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
352 reviews
2 mi away
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
#4 of 14 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets

Address: Lot 58B Lorong Empat | Kuala Besut, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range: $59 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing