We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bungalows for Divers”
Review of Bayu Dive Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayu Dive Lodge
Reviewed April 16, 2010

The lodge is ruled by Swedish people (they have attached a dive center with new and good diving equipement). Wood bungalows are quite small, but brand news and in a good condition, with modern bathrooms. They face to a small garden, not to the sea. There is no service during your stay here. Wifi is available. Good place for divers. If you need sometingh more, we aware that it is located in a small bay, no good for swimming (less than 1 m depth for more than 200 mts); there is not more thinks to do; just sunbathing or reading a book (for snorkeling, you must rent a boat, cheap but annoying).

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cedeboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 251 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2010

Went there to take my first diving lessons. The teacher (Mark) was incredibly patient and always very supportive even when I was struggling a little bit.
Alu Alu is the best place to stay if you want to dive with professional and fun teachers, like to snorkel and get a "little bit" of sun. The room (basic chalet) was nice enough, though very hot during the day but at night it was cold enough. I didn't spend much time in the chalet during the day anyway coz the restaurant area is a nice place to sit and relax (and a lot cooler).
The chalet's walls are really thin, so you can hear everything but that didn't really matter coz it was so quiet there anyway.
I'd recommend this place to anyone and will definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nibrylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the friendly staffs, especially Maya and Mark. We were then ushered to our prebooked basic air-cond room but found it very stuffy and a lot of ants on the floor so we decided to switch to the deluxe air-cond sea view room with a varanda - shady and breezy. I specially enjoyed the time sitting there chilling out with a cup of coffee, looking at the turquoise sea.

After come back from the dive trips in the hot mid afternoon, it was good to have a nice shower in the en-suite bathroom and relax in the air-cond room surfing with free wifi (surprisingly fast speed). The room is especially well kept and clean, bedsheets were clean and free of dustmites, sufficient hangers in the cupboard for clothes and fresh towels were readily available.

Alu-alu dive centre is one of the best - it's common to find instructors here with vast experience diving around the world. They are friendly, patient & knowledgeable and could possibly answer every questions that you ask! I took the EFR course at Alu Alu at their air-cond training room, which made the course very relaxing and an opportunity to cool off from the afternoon heat. A very professional EFR course delivered by Karl Ter Vehn Lexell. More importantly, apart from having very experienced and knowledgeable trainers, they made sure we had a safe diving experience. Thanks Mel!

Another big plus for us was the casual chats we had with the staffs, it made us feel welcome and warm. We left Alu-Alu Dive Centre feeling that the professional staff helped elevate our appreciation of diving to a whole new level and that we made new friends along the way, making the whole trip all worthy. Special thanks to Johan Bratt, Ari, Melanie Huser and Ezzad Mohamad.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ccquek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

If you come to Perhentian for the diving (and that is why you should come) then Alu Alu Divers and the Bayu dive lodge is the best place to stay. I spent 5 nights here, completed the Open Water course and took a number of extra dives. The dive staff is fantastic - highly skilled, very qualified, but really passionate about their work. Mark was my instructor - extremely patient, and knowledgable, and an excellent teacher. I also went on dives with Mel and Karl - both made the trip very enjoyable, and Mel in particular showed her diving skills when I struggled a bit.

Every dive was better than the previous and every dive we saw something spectacular - sharks, turtles moray eels, brilliant nudibranches, tons and tons of fish, and amazing coral. Also had a chance to explore a wreck - so many firsts for me, and so exciting I want to come back soon. The gear and boats were also stop quality, and safety was very much in evidence in all that they did.

At the end of the day the accommodations were great and relaxing. I stayed in one of the garden chalets. They got a bit stuffy during the day, as they face away from the sea breeze, but most days I was out anyway so it didn't matter. I got there right at the beginning of the season, so they were still setting up, and training new staff, but everyone was helpful and friendly, and the food was terrific (they were really just getting started for the season - every day was a new menu that kept getting longer and longer!)

Evenings were spend sitting around with the dive staff and other divers, enjoyed stories of the day's adventure.

There are other places fancier, and other dive shops and restaurants cheaper, but no one comes close to the quality of the diving service provided by Alu Alu.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dobiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

could only book a basic chalet as everything else was booked up, very basic room but clean and very good value for money, just a thin bit of wood between you and the next chalet though so could hear every converstaion, sneeze etc! wasn't diving but told management this in advance and they were fine with it, this does mean you inevitably feel a bit out of it though! breakfast was o.k., limited choice and small portions and sometimes cold, but again o.k. for the price. other parts of the island are a bit more lively, this is one of the quiter sides and is better for swimming than snorkeling, bar next door is nice though, cheap good food, nice cocktails and chilled out music by candlelight. use the footpaths to walk to the other side of the islands, saw amazing wildlife lizards, monkeys etc it was brilliant. overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littledchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

LOCATION: is not the best of the island as the resort lies on Teluk Dalam beach, which is particularly subject to tides making it impossible to swim and very difficult for the taxi boats to reach the beach in the afternoon because of the low level of the water. The sea bottom at the shore is rather muddy, too.

COTTAGE: IMO a top-quality accommodation in comparison to other accommodations on the island that I’ve seen during my stay. I booked well in advance through their website and I managed to book one of the 2 Sea View Cottages (the Great White) which is in the front row and has its own private veranda with a little table and 2 chairs. The dark wood cottage features a queen-size bed and an extra single bed which has been added for our 3-year-old son. Furniture is basic: just one closet and some drawers. Air-conditioning and fan in the room. And a bright and clean en-suite Western-style bathroom (the best!). Water pressure in the shower is also good. Hot water always available.
Just one downside: the cottage walls aren’t soundproof at all: being in the cottage closest to the beach we could hear voices, laughing and loud music coming from the 2 restaurants at both sides of the lodge till late in the night.

SERVICE: Staff are friendly though some free services such as cleaning of the room and change of towels are on request (!!??). The laundry service is good and cheap (charged per kg). WiFi free internet in your cottage, just ask for the access code at the reception. Breakfast at the restaurant on the beach is OK but the service is extremely slow. Fish and meat BBQ twice per week is good but rather pricey compared to other BBQs on the same beach strip.
Very professional diving center.

NEGATIVE: Location - No soundproof walls – Service at the restaurant extremely slow
POSITIVE: One of the best accommodations for standard on the island

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghighipatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

What can i say, i moved in halfway through my holiday and wished i could have been there the whole time. while not the best place i stayed on my trip, it was certainly the nicest, and the staff, especially manager Ari, bent over backwards to do everything they could to help out. in one fell swoop, she booked my return speedboat t the mainland, a taxi to kota bharu, a hotel there and my taxi to the airport in the morning. I simply can't say enough good things about the place. the only (very minor) complaint i would have is about how little soundproofing there is in the rooms, its a very strange experience hearing people washing and prepping their kit next door at alu alu while sitting on the toilet. Cozy chalets, comfortable beds, good prices and amazing service, i can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrycoke106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.9 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
343 reviews
2.6 mi away
Perhentian Tropicana Inn
Perhentian Tropicana Inn
#8 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#2 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayu Dive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayu Dive Lodge

Address: Teluk Dalam, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range: $73 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unspoiled diving. Unspoiled scenery. Warm tropical waters. A focus on conservation. And no crowds. All reasons why those who have discovered diving at Perhentian Island come back again and again. From start to finish, we aim to give you the best experience possible. Our goal is to provide you with an unforgettable stay at Bayu Dive Lodge and an unforgettable day experience at Alu Alu divers. Our experienced and multilingual staff and dive crew are available to assist you and answer all your questions. Always greeting visitors with a warm friendly smile, our qualified staff is also trained to ensure your adventure with us is a safe and memorable one. Local diving sites are suitable for all levels of experience, from beginners to experienced divers. Experience the crystal clear blue water, abundant sea life and thriving coral reefs. Variety is the key word on the reefs around Perhentian: soft and hard corals, sponges and anemones abound, and you will be amazed by the sheer range of fish species in these waters. We specialize in providing personalized service for small dive groups and try to be as flexible as possible. New divers can gain experience with the individual attention they may require and experienced divers can enjoy the freedom of spectacular reef diving, wreck diving and underwater photography opportunities. With five specially fitted dive boats, Alu Alu Divers is able to meet the needs of any size group while keeping each dive party small and personal. Bring your equipment and store it in our secure equipment room, or use our well-maintained rental dive gears. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayu Dive Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing