We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best compromise in the Perhentian island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bayu Dive Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayu Dive Lodge
Cestas, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best compromise in the Perhentian island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

The rooms are very clean, not luxury, with "european bathroom", in Perhentian island that's great
For divers the team is excellent, speaks english, french and more, can do your open water for less than 1200 rm in 4 days and get a good discount on the rooms.
The restaurant is malaysian and very good
Staff is really great
I've seen various accomodation in Perhentian, that's really the best
If malaysian resident go on alualudiver site

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garcia33610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    82
    61
    27
    19
See reviews for
30
127
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

I have to say that I was very sceptical about staying in a ‘basic’ room in a diving lodge. Having seen some diving lodges before, I did not fancy spending 4 days in a grubby room, even if it was in paradise.

However, my preconceived notions were quickly dispelled the moment I walked in, this property is very clean and appears well looked after. I stayed in one of the rooms at the back, and while it is basic, it most certainly isn't grubby. The room is smallish but functional and bathroom is clean and adequate. I only wish there was more lighting in the room.

Indeed, Bayu Dive Lodge is geared towards divers, it seemed to me that the guys here and at Alualu are genuinely passionate about diving, and they were all exceptionally patient with a first-timer like me. This was also the first time that I was holidaying alone, but the warmth of everyone here didn’t make me realise that.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahulkale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubeck, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

We stayed one week at the Bayu Diving Lodge and dived a lot with AluAluDivers and it was absolutely great.

Friendly staff-Carlton wants to help you 'round the clock. The female manager Ari offered us a lot of hints for our travel through southeast asia. The resort is at a top location, with a fine beach just in front of the bungalows and all divesites just a few minutes with a boat away.

Of course, this is a DIVING lodge - so I cannot understand people get annoyed at this. If you do not want to dive or snorkel or if you want cheap and basic accomodation, just go to some of the other places on the islands. If you want to do some nice diving, with good guides, fine equipment and a lot of relaxing in the evening - just go for Bayu Dive Lodge/AluAluDivers.

We stayed in a gardenview bungalow with a nice attached bathroom.

If you want to dive, ask for the local guides. We did some dives with Bob, he knows the area very well and offered us some really nice muck-diving.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IT4n6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

I'll start with the good, then get to the bad.

We stayed in a Sea View lodge for 2 nights. The lodge was great. Beautiful location. It was amazing hearing the sea lapping at the shore all day and night. The staff were very helpful, especially Carlton, who is basically the concierge. The restaurant had decent food, a little pricey by Malay standards, but reasonable, well kept, and in a beautiful location. If you can't decide (or just can't be bothered), you can always ask Carlton for his culinary advice. We did this on a few occasions, and were never disappointed.

The main reason to come here is the snorkeling and diving, and we were far from disappointed. We did one snorkeling trip, and one discovery SCUBA dive, and I would have to say it was one of the best experiences of my life. For the snorkeling, we were taken to a couple of reefs (they're not very big, so I don't know how people couldn't find the "hot spots"). The visibility was incredible, and the ocean-life bountiful and varied. Where we were dropped was always a bed of broken coral, but withing 10m or so we always found a great number of fish, and a couple of sharks. We were also taken to the sea grass beds, where we got to swim with a number of Leatherback turtles. FYI - there's nothing to see if snorkeling just off the beach, but shark point is just at the tip of the cove, barely 5 minutes by boat. A packed lunch (2 tuna sandwiches) and water was provided. Needless to say, after 4 hours in the water, we also bought lunch on our return.

Snorkeling was amazing, so we decided to try diving the next day. The instructor, Johan, was very helpful, and clearly passionate about diving. We both felt we were in good hands. Keep in mind, he's a dive instructor, not a bellhop, so in this situation his no-nonsense attitude is actually very comforting (in my opinion). Anyway, the diving was also spectacular, and I now endeavor to get my license in the not too distant future. All the equipment was in great condition, so no complaints there. The only mistake was that my partner wasn't given enough weight on the weight belt, so was a little too buoyant.

Now to the bad. The primary complaint I would have is that there is a large amount of rubbish on the beach. A lot of it is obviously washed up in high tide, although it does appear that a lot of it is just dumped. The beach outside the lodges was always clean, but we couldn't comfortably walk the length of the beach due to the amount of refuse in the areas without any development. This isn't just the responsibility of Bayu Dive Lodge, but surely all the lodges should band together to keep the beach clean? It was quite disgusting. Nappies, plastic drums, oil containers, cans, bottles, plastic bags, and who knows what else. That's the only reason I didn't give 5 points for cleanliness and location, because otherwise it was great. It was really very disappointing, but I did my best not to think about it (which became easier after our snorkeling trip).

Apart from that, a couple of free shampoos would have been nice. Also, as others suggested, the rooms aren't cleaned daily, but that didn't bother us. I'm sure if you asked, they'd clean the room for you.

Anyway, overall we both really enjoyed our stay, and I would go there again. I just hope they clean up the beach. I understand that there is no rubbish collection service, but there has to be a better way?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lok_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

Okay so this is not a 5 star hotel, but then those are character less and impersonal. Bayu Dive lodge is far from that. The staff are real people with their own personalities and they treated us with nothing but the upmost respect. Unlike some previous commentators we did want to Dive. However, neither I or my friend had any experience whatsoever. The staff where extremely helpful and patient with us, when things went wrong such as when I started getting gas and my friend got ear ache, we were supported to continue at our own pace and I managed to pass my PADI Scuba Divers course with one to one support from a truly brilliant coach after just a few days training.

I had the very best holiday of my life, the food was amazing with meals such as Balinese Fish which was made from fish brought in fresh from the sea that morning and similarly fresh squid, crayfish and local fish. At night we sat in the moonlight singing along with a member of the staff who played guitar and sang. There were no TV's or distractions from the peace and tranquility apart from internet which was truly excellent allowing us to keep up with e-mails and some of our neighbours to hold daily video calls with their family in the US.

When we left it was like leaving family and I cannot wait to go back and be a part of it all again

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinHalliganDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

I totally agree with Sandwich's comments. I been to this place as attracted by the newly build chalet. When arriving at the chalet were greeted with fair friendliness, but after knowing that I was not doing scuba dive, the attitude and attention were obviously changed and not welcoming. Room were nice, but found cockroaches living in for sometime, that's disgusting. No cleaning services during the 2 nights stay, billing were wrongly accounted, beware and insist to look at all your bills. Finally, were chase out on the last morning of stay at 8am!! That was all because they need to accommodate a big diving group arriving. So, if you are a small group and you are not diving, be ready to be ignored and kicked out by the manager and owner.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ristretto_cup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pulau Perhentian Besar hotels

Liverpool
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

We pre booked this place and they have an office in the UK - which responded and confirmed very quickly - just what you need when you are on the road.

When we arrived we were greeted by a guy called Carlton, who waved us over to Johan who we think is one of the Managers/owners. He was happy until we said we were NOT diving. (being on a budget travelling we would love to, but that would cut our travels short by a few months!). We both found his sudden change of attitude understandable and appreciate the place is a dive lodge but its not full and would appreciate our custom..??

The room is nicely decorated and for a hut. the bathroom is really cool and the extras like trendy soap and free loo paper are welcoming. If you get bit by mozzies, you may want to try another room. We had a 'fan chalet' and there was a large gap between the wall and the roof... Johan told us there was hardly any mozzies and my partner would be ok after asking for a mozzie net (she ended up getting bitten quite a lot)

The whole grounds are on the fringe of the beach and we couldn't of asked for more of a beautiful setting.

One thing we have to write about is the attitude of the staff. It was weird/confusing. Whenever we passed through reception we (like most people) wave over and say hello/morning... but never ever got an answer back. We stayed 5 nights and he must acknowledged us once during our whole stay. He would just turn the other way?... weird?

When we asked about the snorkeling trip we were told you get water and snacks on the boat.. which we didn't.... and the guy who took us out just pulled up at different sites and didn't give us any clue where the 'hot' spots were. It was also 20rm more than next door.. we paid it hoping to get a better experience (being a dive lodge) but they failed to deliver.. oh and without trying to sound like a moaner... my partners life jacket was in bits so would not strap properly.

Upon arrival we were also not made aware about the free breakfast. I cannot see it on the website. We saw on Asia rooms website something about breakfast so we asked and they confirmed it was included.

We also found out from another guest (on the last night) that they have free tea and coffee... shame the owner didn't mention that too!!

Good
Beach - location
Quite
Clean/trendy rooms

Bad
Unfriendly owners
Lack of information upon arrival
Snorkeling trip

OK - but look around before booking, Abduls on the otherside may be another option.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello_sandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Perhentian Besar hotels
0.9 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#4 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#3 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#6 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.8 mi away
New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets
New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets
#6 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayu Dive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayu Dive Lodge

Property: Bayu Dive Lodge
Address: Teluk Dalam, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unspoiled diving. Unspoiled scenery. Warm tropical waters. A focus on conservation. And no crowds. All reasons why those who have discovered diving at Perhentian Island come back again and again. From start to finish, we aim to give you the best experience possible. Our goal is to provide you with an unforgettable stay at Bayu Dive Lodge and an unforgettable day experience at Alu Alu divers. Our experienced and multilingual staff and dive crew are available to assist you and answer all your questions. Always greeting visitors with a warm friendly smile, our qualified staff is also trained to ensure your adventure with us is a safe and memorable one. Local diving sites are suitable for all levels of experience, from beginners to experienced divers. Experience the crystal clear blue water, abundant sea life and thriving coral reefs. Variety is the key word on the reefs around Perhentian: soft and hard corals, sponges and anemones abound, and you will be amazed by the sheer range of fish species in these waters. We specialize in providing personalized service for small dive groups and try to be as flexible as possible. New divers can gain experience with the individual attention they may require and experienced divers can enjoy the freedom of spectacular reef diving, wreck diving and underwater photography opportunities. With five specially fitted dive boats, Alu Alu Divers is able to meet the needs of any size group while keeping each dive party small and personal. Bring your equipment and store it in our secure equipment room, or use our well-maintained rental dive gears. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bayu Dive Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayu Dive Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing