We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah
Hinwil, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is everything but a 5* resort, what a ripoff!!! There is a very bad smell in the rooms that are so dirty. Everything is so dingy - you do not even want to stay in the bed. The buffet is fairly limited the staff very reluctant. The manager neither takes care of his guests nor appreciates their visit.
However, great beach and dive sites.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel on this niceisland
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marcel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    57
    47
    23
    29
See reviews for
46
81
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schwaz
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Location is extremely beautiful with a very very beautiful beach. I was there for scuba diving. Unfortunately the dive Center was not open - there was no pre-information about that. Fortunately the diving Center at the next Resort was open.
To save electricity from 3pm to 5 pm they switched off electricity - this means, that then toilets also did not work.
The rooms could have been better and cleaner but not as bad as mentioned in other reports we have read before on trip advisor. But anyway - we where only there for sleeping, the other time we enjoyed the beach and scuba diving.
You should go there, if you want to relax, as at the beach except Swimming, snorcheling, scuba diving there is not much activities - but we excactly did look for that.. The Resort next to Sari Pacifica offer sometimes banana boat rides.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited Sari Pacifica after a short visit to Perhentian Palau Kecil. It was difficult to communicate with the staff via email (we were trying to figure out how to get at the island, staff wasn't that helpful), so we chartered a boat ourselves. Upon arrival, the contrast with backpack heavy Perhentian Island was big, so at first glance a were very pleased. This isn't a top of the live resort though. Staff is friendly enough, but the rooms want that well cleaned (especially the bathroom). We notified the reception, but we didn't see any improvement. The glassesof or welcome drink remained on or porch throughout our stay...
The Malay food is good, rest of it isn't special. It is a real quiet place, not much to do when not sunbathing or diving/snorkelling. Snorkelling is good! You have to swim a bit out (recommended to rent a lifejacket so the boats see you). Ask Scuba Yu for the spots in the bay (blue coral).

Fair warning: while a stayed there, there were a lot of Chinese guests a well. We've seen them stepping and standing on the coral, not cool! Wonder if there's any coral left after a couple of years. We also found the Chinese a but noisy and irritable, but maybe that's just us.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JoranQuinten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pulau Lang Tengah hotels

Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We wanted to treat ourselves to a luxurious long weekend at a "5 star resort", and booked 4 nights at Sari Pacifica Spa hotel through a website. My first initial reaction when I approched the resort from the sea, was that it looked just that. At closer look, however, I must say I was dissappointed. Although the staff were friendly, it did lack the professionalism you normally receive arriving at a resort. Having received our order a couple of weeks in advance, I was surprised to see how they hadn't entered our details into the system in advance, to save us sittng in the lobby after such a long journey. That, however, is not a major fault, just an improvement factor. When we arrived at our room, the dissapppointment was highly present, to say the least. Our room was facing what were the remains of an artificial lake, however the water had evaporated - so all that was in view was a blue plastic tarmat, with remains of brown, gross water/mud. After a lot of argueing, we did however get a room facing the seafront. I advise anyone staying here to request a seafacing villa. Although it was infested by insects (ants on the walls) and not very clean, it at least gave us a nice place to sit and enjoy some wine! :)
We had lunch and dinner here the first day, but never came back. The food was bland and horrible, to say the least. Not to mention, very expensive. Instead, we ate at Summer Point, a great basic little restaurant along the next beach. The food at Laguna beach hotel is also recommendable.
We were informed by the manager that the hotel recently has been abandoned by the past owner, so it was currently in the process of reaching it's old glory days. It's a pity then that the hotel did not update their website to manage guests' expectations.
Overall we had a nice time as got to know the staff and the place, however, it was a dissappointment and I will not return. If you want to have a luxurious resort type holiday, do not come here.

Room Tip: Request a seafacing bungalow, loser to the lobby. The ones at the far left end of the beach are next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delfi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were on a package deal for a group of 14 people in this hotel. We've made the booking about a month ahead of time!!!

This hotel has got a very nice and serene setting from the first touch down experience. It called itself the Luxurious Spa and Resort Hotel!!!

But, The first 3 hours experience in this resort is just a nightmare.
- The hotel checking was not being straight forward. The hotel staffs doesn't seem to know what we've been booked and our requirements at all. The staffs like to mumbling among them but no one can make a call of what to do next and how to do. It took quite a bit of effort to communicate with them and finally got our keys
- The rooms are quite torn down, dirty, lots of lizards, we found a huge 7cm in diameter of spider in one of the bathroom.
- The meals are quite limited choices, timing is very specific and rigid. They don't provide any coffee or breads for tea time or self-service! (one of my friend went to the neighbor hotel, and the staff there had offered free coffee and bread plus bakeries even though he knew my friend weren't their hotel guest)...even we want to pay they said NO!
- The hotel got a very special "utilities shut down" timing from 3-6, and nobody has ever inform us, be it at the check-in or any notice board in the room...we later found out they're short of power engines and they needed to shut down for some maintenance purpose...and it is DAILY at the hottest timing...
- The Staffs are not trained AT ALL...can't really speak any proper english...and doesn't seems to know what is "service" and what is "hospitality"...forget about luxurious...they simply know nothing about the hotel. We later found out everyone here is not more than few weeks work, and they were not trained....

Our group leader decided to speak to the Manager. We were told he left the hotel at 4 something and no other manager or supervisor equivalent is stationed in the hotel at all. Oh my god! what if some urgent and emergency matters happened at no time in the hotel...who is suppose to take the lead? We've came to a conclusion that these staffs there will continue mumbling among themselves and will never come out with any concrete decision while the whole hotel had burnt down!!!

However, after some long communication with the staff... they finally took our suggestion to call their manager who already left the island, hotel and guest, and staff and back home to the mainland for his family time... the group leader managed to convinced the manager to come back to the island again in immediately.

The manager came back after 2 hour plus...we've had a list of unsatisfactory items for him. He had then proposed two options:
1. They will make up for whatever shortcoming in the hotel during our stay\
2. Move to another hotel of their hotelchain in Redang.

We've not a single doubt opted for TWO... we just want to get out from this nightmare hotel...but we endured to put it up there for one night as they can only arrange for a boat to chauffeur us to the next island, which took about 30 mins.

AND yes, we are out of nightmare!

Please see my sincere review of what is happening in Redang's Sri Pacifica...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skywalker008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We read the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a chance because it looked fantastic on its website and we wanted to go East Coast. Unfortunately, despite any other complaints people may have, the hotel is just not clean, or kept at a standard approaching acceptability anywhere.

The staff obviously don't care. It is marketed as a luxury report and it simply isn't, and after 24 hours there we felt the whole thing was a scam. I also don't believe the positive reviews I read here. Simple jobs that could make a difference were not being done. One of our rooms actually had windows held in by sticky tape...

We checked out early and went to Gem Island Beach Resort which was fantastic and was a much shorter boat trip. Highly recommend this instead - fantastic location, great staff and set in a stunning location.

Room Tip: Not any of the three rooms we had anyway, particularly not 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank notnem9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The beach is beautiful, very clean and water was very clear. We had the ocean front room for five nights. The room had two queen beds and a huge bathroom. Decor could definitely do with a bit of updating. After first night I was bitten by bed bugs. Notified the front desk the next day and they offered to change the linen. I was bitten again that night. We figured the bugs were in the mattress and not the linen. We were reluctant to change rooms as we loved the location of our seafront views. We opted for the half board option and on reflection we should have just gone for the full board option as the menu selection was limited and there wasnt anywhere else you could have a meal in the island. I did enjoy the evening buffets, the kitchen prepared many home style local dishes. Staff were pleasant enough. I would return to the island but not necessarily this resort...unless the went through an upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2yllek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Lang Tengah
0.3 mi away
D'Coconut Lagoon
D'Coconut Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Pulau Lang Tengah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summer Bay Resort Lang Tengah Island
Summer Bay Resort Lang Tengah Is...
#1 of 1 in Pulau Lang Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
7.8 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#9 of 12 in Pulau Redang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah

Property: Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah
Address: Lang Tengah Island, Pasir Besar, Pulau Lang Tengah 21030, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Lang Tengah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Lang Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah island in Terengganu state, Malaysia. Resort with perfect private beach not too far from the mainland. The closest big island - Redang, closest city with the airport - Kuala Terengganu. We offer 3D2N packages the same as common booking room. Our resort has a DIVE CENTER with PADI courses. Special WEDDING packages could be created on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing