We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent beach but a second class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I recently stayed for a week at the Sari Pacifica in Lang Tengah and have to say it was a stay with mixed feelings. First of of all lets start with the good. Lang Tengah is a beautiful island and I have to say it was very easy to get to. Just a quick flight from KL to Terengganu with malaysian airlines (30min flight) then a 40min (50rm) taxi to the jetty and a 30min boat ride. Over all the journey was very easy and painless. Once we got to Sari Pacifica you are met by the most wonderfull setting and beautiful beach you could imagine. White silky smooth sand and clear waters with plenty to see while snorkling, however this is where the dream ends. The hotel is self is far from impressive, although the grounds are pretty well maintained the rooms were damp, dirty, full with oversized furniture and had the stranges of things wrong with them, take our bathroom for example. It was a great size and also have a very large Jacuzzi however you could not get enough water to ever fill it up so it had absolutely no purpose, also the bathroom had a great large mirror over the two wash basins whish was great however when they put the mirror up they have rested it on the waste leaver so you couldn't close the waste hole to fill the basin with water. The walls were dirty and the aircondition only worked add hoc and not very well. The room had a constant damp smell and you could see mold growing under the wallpaper and in the celing. The hotel only has one resturant and also have a what they call beach bar but this was never open. The resturant was very disappointing with a small menu (same for lunch, dinner & snacks) which mainly contained pasta, pizza and frozen western food such as salmon. If you have lunch and dinner at the hotel in 3 days you would have had everything on the menu. Like I said most of the food served was frozen western food and western attempts at local food such as Nasi Goreng. I have had far better food from street stalls in KL or frozen microwave food from 7-11 then this hotel. The only little bright light was that the chef is really good and if you talk to him he will try and prepare other dishes for you based on the ingredients we has available. There are also some fishing boats docked not far from the hotel which if you are lucky you can buy some fish from and take back to the chef to prepare for you. The staff was over all friendly and tried to help the best they could and it's also clear that they feel embarrassed about the standard at the hotel and they also appologised for this a number of times saying that compared to other hotels they have worked in this is a 2-3 star hotel at best. The hotel lack the most basic things such as even a first aid kit in case you cut yourself snorkling. I have stayed in many many hotels all over the world and I have to say the location and setting is great but everything else lets this hotel down. It's very very overpriced not much on offer appart from the beach. I could not recomend this hotel to anyone, but would say if you are concidering coming here don't instead go to the perhentian islands or Redang where you will get more for your money and also have more variaty.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 200 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2011

Sari Pacifica is far from a 5-star hotel, and is fairly overpriced considering the (lack of) facilities available. However the location and the staff were fantastic, and we very much enjoyed our 7-night stay.
The menu is disappointing, mostly consisting of pizza, pasta, and frozen western style meals, but when we asked them the chef made a delicious malay chicken curry, and it was possible to buy large fish (e.g. giant mackerel, small shark) or squid from the fishing boats which the chef can prepare for you.
We thought the room was quite nice but would have been nicer if the furniture was more simple and didn't take up so much space! There were probably 2 rooms with a full sea view, about half of the chalets are close to the pool. We were in the row at the back, which feels a bit like it's on the edge of a construction site because of some fencing. However it doesn't look as though any work is happening, and there was no noise.
The dive centre is closed so we went diving with Redang Lang resort, which is at the other end of the beach. We were the only people diving mid week so we could chose times and dive sites. The diving was interesting, plenty of sharks and some nice underwater scenery, (90RM/dive), but we were charged extra for equipment and wetsuit hire on a daily basis (75RM/day!).
There is a small shop at Redang Lang resort where you can get basic food provisions, ice creams, and soft drinks, and the bar is considerably cheaper than Sari Pacifica.
Snorkels are provided free at Sari Pacifica. We saw sharks and sting rays, but the coral has been completely destroyed - probably by dynamite fishing?
We didn't go into the jungle but there are another 3 hotels on the other side of the island, and I believe it is possible to walk to these.
Overall, very nice. It is overpriced, but we didn't mind as the hotel was so quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qlizgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I spent 4 days and 3 nights at the hotel. By the end of my trip, I was sad to leave and wish I could stay longer.

The definite plus points for this hotel are its private stretch of beach, low density chalet-styled accommodation with patio and friendly staff.

The beach is definitely one of the best I've seen and I've been to quite a number of beaches around the world. I enjoyed snorkelling every day and it was definitely the highlight of my activities at the hotel (although to be frank, there isn't much else to do but snorkel, dive and swim).

The room is very extravagant - king sized bed with luxurious bed sheet, flatscreen TV with limited cable channels and DVD player (it might be a good idea to bring some DVDs with you since the channels are limited and there's not much to do at night).

The size of the bathroom is as big as the sleeping area - separate shower, toilet and a twin-sharing jacuzzi! All toiletries were provided.

Since we were there during off-peak season, the choice of food was limited and there were only a few staff on duty. We paid for half-board (it was a good decision since there is no other decent restaurant or cafe around). We were expecting a buffet spread where we could sample local Malay food but was deeply disappointed on the first night. However, after a word with the manager, the chef quickly took to the task of preparing delicious meals for the remaining night. We were very pleased with it.

If there are a few improvements the hotel could do, it would be to provide daily newspaper in the morning, reduce the price of spa treatments (they were exhorbitant and most were more expensive than the room itself) and to provide more fun activities; ski, banana boat, canoeing, etc., have better gift shops that also sell basic food provisions.

This would be a perfect place for honey-mooners and family. It's quiet and private. For those who like to have more fun and activities, do come prepared with your own stuff to occupy yourself. Bringing basic provisions like snacks will help too.

Otherwise, it's the perfect getaway for those who just like to laze on soft white sandy beach and do nothing but read and snorkel. The beach is seriously to die for.

My friends and I are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NipetteT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of days, and the first day we got sick, there is something very wrong in the kitchen.
The staff is very nice and serviceminded and the island is beautiful, but we will not go back here again and we cant recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caol64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

ive read some negative reviews about sari pacifica. but this is what we exprienced :
we stayed in sari pacifica Lang Tengah Island recently. it was supposed to be a 3days 2 nights vacation but we eventually extend another night because of its excellent services and the beauty of the island and resort. food is also very GOOD

this is our second visit to Sari Pacifica. first visit was in the May 2010 in redang island. well to be frank, since this resort is newly open with its new "rebrand", i shall say that the management and staff tried their very best in providing good hospitality and services to their valued guest. though we faced a few unpleasant situations upon reaching the resort, but it was then 'covered' with a good service and apology. overall i should rate their service and resort as a five star.

i should say that our family are so addicted to the island activities..such as diving, snokelling, fishing etc. my kids love it too! hahaha
.. it is a must for us to visit several islands a year during the off moonson season month.
so when each year month of march comes, haha here we come.. :)
my kids ( 6 and 2 yrs old) enjoyed their stay very much in both sari pacifica resort lang tengah and redang. we checked into the seafront villa ( in Lang tengah island) and a royal villa suite ( in redang island) and for sure the view is superb! room is clean and comfy though there were some genarator problem ( yeah, what would u expect with a man made electric power supply) but we really enjoyed our stay. both island we extended our stay because we were satisfied with the resort and the services provided by the resort.

we are definately going back there in the near future. most probably end of this month again..hahaha my kids are addicted to SARI PACIFICA! finally, we found our truly called 'resort home' ! we stayed in many other resorts before including the ones in some few private island, but we find sari pacifica has its own unique hospitality services and the most importand thing is we are satisfied and definately going to end up being their 'regular' guest! haha

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timetravellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed at Lang Tengah after 3 nights at their sister hotel in Redang. We were looking for some rest after a long time travelling and the hotel definately delivered. There isn't much to do here apart from dive and snorkel -the island was extremely quiet but we definately felt like we were getting a personal service. The chalets and grounds are well maintained and very pretty however look behind your rooms and to the back of the resort and there is rubbish everywhere. I felt this really let the resort down....the assumption that guests aren't going to see behind the hotel. I am told this is quite typical on the islands but it is such a shame to see masses of empty cans, old toilet seats, abandoned furniture etc when you are supposed to be in paradise. The staff were very friendly and helpful, food nice but limited menu....in 3 nights we had had just about all of it. All in all a beautiful resort, lovely people, stunning beach, 'rustic' Malaysia

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Redang is a very nice island with one of the best beach I have ever seen. We stayed on the island 3 times before we actually decided to try out the new Sari Pacifica. The place could be nice though it needs some major improvements:

1) Service: Slow and untrained staff - the one hand does not know what the other does- in my view too less staff (with experience of working in a 4/5 Star place).

2) Price is too high for a what you get: you literally can stay at the Chedi on Phuket island or at the Space @Bali for the same price - both places are stunning - a customer can expirience the extra bit of service quality and never comparable with the low quality/slow service/low cost built rooms of Sari Pacifica

3) Management by excuse - however nothing changes...(if I would be a travel agent I would not consider to send customers there for that price neither I would rate that hotel as 5 Star -50 Euro a night per room max/3 Star property would be fine to advertise - although the Impiana in KL is the better hotel)

4) Rooms are nice (if you would pay 70 USD per night) - for USD 200 sorry no comment..

Summary: Redang is really a fantastic place to go and not to be missed. However think twice whether you want to stay at Sari P. since value for money and service is better in any of other beach cottage resorts close by - one night we had a thunderstorm, in the morning all other resorts cleaned up except Sari P. - there the guests were trying to find a dry towel... I would not go back there since in my view the owners need to make major investments to the place in order to keep up with other 5 Star places in SOA. If they would sell the place for 50 Euro a night, my expectation level would be different, however you could not recommend a place were you just felt sorry if something went wrong..(this was the case every 10 minutes; i.e. generator broke down, construction going on in front of the cottage, no beach towels, overflowing pool etc...

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank marimariSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Lang Tengah
0.3 mi away
D'Coconut Lagoon
D'Coconut Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Pulau Lang Tengah
215 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summer Bay Resort Lang Tengah Island
Summer Bay Resort Lang Tengah Is...
#1 of 1 in Pulau Lang Tengah
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
933 reviews
7.8 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#9 of 12 in Pulau Redang
165 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah

Address: Lang Tengah Island, Pasir Besar, Pulau Lang Tengah 21030, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Lang Tengah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Lang Tengah
Price Range: $72 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah island in Terengganu state, Malaysia. Resort with perfect private beach not too far from the mainland. The closest big island - Redang, closest city with the airport - Kuala Terengganu. We offer 3D2N packages the same as common booking room. Our resort has a DIVE CENTER with PADI courses. Special WEDDING packages could be created on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing