We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go there!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Kapas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapas Turtle Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't go there!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Believe the other reviews - we didn't stay there but went for a walk around the island and visited Turtle Valley. It can only be accessed either by boat or by hiking up and over very steep and dangerous steps - you will be cut off if you stay here and you will regret making this your choice! We were treated very badly by the male owner when we visited, he was extremely rude to us. It was also very sad to see Sylvia demean herself on more than one occasion after several drinks ... things are not right in any way at Kapas Turtle Valley

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
13 Thank likesblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    37
    10
    12
    9
See reviews for
43
88
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed here recently for couple days. This resort is isolated and has private beach. Being ran by foreigners & not Malaysians. Very basic facilities only. No aircond, no fridge, no laundry bag , no phone and no tv, etc They only provide bed & towel and mosquito coil. They dont clean the rooms everyday. There are stains in the washroom probably thats the island standard. A bit pricey though. You can get other resorts along the same beach for half the price.They claim they are cleanest in the island but I was surprised to see cat furs on the food and plates they serve you to eat. There a 4 or 5 cats in the kitchen area where the eating tables are located for dining. You can see kitten & cats lying on the table and sometimes they are just there all time when you having your meals waiting to be fed. And the owners seemed to be ok with that. For us , there is a limit for pets.
Please go to this resort if you ONLY love cats and if you are ok with all their unhygenic attitudes otherwise don't spoil your holidays. Sylia the owner seems to be running the chalets with Hilter rules and not flexible at all. We just felt awkard through out our stay but too late as we already paid.

Room Tip: Not recommended for families even couples. Only for backpackers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sanjaay_Verman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Can't say I didn't like the place: had the family chalet over the restaurant. The chalets are confortable but a bit dark. Our hosts were friendly: can't blame Sylvia who basically had to run the place on her own... Sylvia is a GREAT cook, no doubt about that... the only problem being you basically HAVE TO have your dinner there as the place is rather isolated. The price is another problem: taking your dinners there basically DOUBLES the cost of the stay !!! Although the food is great, we felt it was not the right place to eat such heavy European food ! The situation is nice but the sea is not very interesting for scuba-diving as there is only dead coral and only a few fish there. Then you have to walk quite a long way if you want to see something... will probably try Qimi Chalet next time, probably not as "confortable" but definitely closer to the action...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d0m2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We spend 4 night at this place, looking for calm and rest. First thing the men did was to dump our bag in the water. No apologies.
Then the rules were specified(clean your feet, tell us where you eat...). Then no service at all. The kitchen was not clean with cats jumping all over the place at all time. The man being rude, sometime agressive and spending most of his time swimming in the water when the room needed servicing. The rest of his time is spent to watch what your are doing(or not)
You are only tolerated on their grounds because you pay and allow them to be tanned 6 months of the year...
This was the most horrible stay we ever had. Don't go there - Malaysia deserve more that these two grumpy greedy person.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank boulawane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2011

an isolated place,but we totally love it! we stayed there only for 3d2n as we were rushing to Singapore,wish we had more time there. Sylvia and Peter were great. we love the chalet and every tiny details they put into it,our fav - the bed! food?? well,we still craving for Sylvia's cooking! no doubt she's a good cooker. nothing much to do here,but i guess that's the reason we're going for vacation,to ease our tense and this was a great place to be,perfect for couple :)

Room Tip: there are some mosquito,but it wasn't that bad :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vertigonorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and we loved the place. Very cosy chalets which are clean and very comfertable. No AC, but the fans were sufficient. Sylvia cooks like the best (still waiting for her cooking book ;-) . Her food could make you wanting to stay one more night, and maybe one more... They als have a nice lounge area where you can relax until the sun goes down.

Pros:
- very nice owners who make you feel at home
- attention for detail everywhere (mosquitocoils at the veranda, free sarongs, free snorkeling equipment etc.)

Cons:
- almost nothing, but the only thing we could think of is the beach and sea which is full of rocks and coral. No easy swimming, but at the other side of the hill there is another nice beach

Room Tip: No bad rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had a great three night stay at Kapas Turtle Valley. The basic chalet rooms were clean and comfortable. If they had a/c they would be perfect but I respect the fact that they don't. My only complaint regarding the room is that the bed was very unstable, each time my spouse or I shifted the bed creaked and shook inevitably waking the other person up.

The beach at Kapas is rocky and a bit rougher compared to other beaches on the island. However toucan simply walk to other sandier beaches if you choose. Really good snorkelling if you walk past the jetty, up the white stairs and around rocks. Kapas has inner tubes and snorkels you can freely borrow although the snorkel masks aren't in good condition. Bring your own if you have them.

Where Kapas Turtle Valley excels is the food. For each dinner there was three options, one usually Malaysian inspired. For us, who have been travelling for 5 months, it was nice to eat excellently prepared western food. Food was expensive for Malaysia but affordable for western standards - consider that Sylvia makes almost everything herself from scratch. That's a lot of work that goes into it and since it was so delicious we didn't object to the food prices.

I would send friends and family here for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lqdflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Kapas
3.9 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Marang
1.3 mi away
Gem Island Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Kapas Coral Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.1 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
59.8 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
59.7 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapas Turtle Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapas Turtle Valley

Property: Kapas Turtle Valley
Address: Kapas Turtle Valley Kapas Island, Pulau Kapas 42940, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Kapas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pulau Kapas
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Kapas Turtle Valley Hotel Pulau Kapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing