We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good place in Kapas Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Qimi Chalet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Kapas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Qimi Chalet
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Kapas
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good place in Kapas Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Qimi Chalet ids very well located on Kapas Island, on and near to calm and beautifull beaches.
Of course, rooms are not offering confort of a huge resort, but the small chalet in the wood are very confortable.
The service is great and the food is delicious, probably the best on Kapas Island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Radomir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    17
    18
    31
See reviews for
37
56
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were recommended to go to Qimi Chalet and we absolutely loved it. Rose and Nolly couldn't have looked after us better, so if you want an away from it all experience to de-stress, Qimi and Kapas won't disappoint. The rooms at Qimi are all different, they are not cheap, so when you book try to ask Rose to show you a photo of what the room is like and where it is situated so that you get what you want, but book ahead!. Some rooms are up a small number of steps in the trees just set back from the beach and are great for seclusion and views but others are almost in the sea! We had our fresh brewed morning coffee on the verandah and were very happy just sitting amongst the foliage admiring the view! The welcome at Qimi is second to none, and if you fancy a bit of a boat trip, Nolly may be happy to oblige. We went across to the little island adjacent to Kapas (forgotten the name), the one with only a resort on it, and were so glad to have stayed on Kapas main island where can visit other beaches and have fantastic walks. There are a couple of other places for chilled out food and drinks a stone's throw from Qimi. Kapas is one of my most favourite islands. You arrive by small boat from the mainland and alight on a small set of step - classic! Note to hardy boat travellers .. always wear your life jacket, the sea can be lively! Thanks to Nolly and Rose for making us so at home, and Rose what a beautiful hostess you are. As if that wasn't enough all your Malaysian food is just fantastic - the best we had on our tour of 4 islands! Thanks and see you again sometime. Vicky & Becky (March 2012) ..bit late I know! x

Room Tip: All rooms have different characteristics, so do your research if you want a particular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank likesblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights early July. We took the small Bamboo chalet which was ok for us since we don't need loads of space nor aircon. The room was clean and cosy. The resort is nice with a nice environement. The staff was helpfull and nice. We even received a fresh juice uppon arrival! The food is also very good. Bathroom was ok for the type of chalet we took (you don't have to expect hilton style on a tropical island).
On the negative side we experienced some issues with the bad smells on the terrace in the evening. The chalet was not cleaned once in the 4 days. Last point: there are also a lot of mosquitos in the area so bring good repelant when you go there!
PS: Snorkeling is great on Kapas!

Room Tip: There are some huge steps to take in order to go to the big cottages. If you don't like that cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank spoutnik78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erry82, Manager at Qimi Chalet, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Tq for your comment... we already solve that bed problem. We already by new bed for that room.. Hope u can came 2 stay with us again.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I wouldn't reccommend this resort to my worst enemy....!!!!! If I could stop one person staying there this review will be worth it....
Cons..
1. Shower stand by pipe in the ceiling with rusty dribble.
2. Had to clean the toilet myself as it stank so much -as made you want to vomit
3. Pillows were all mouldy and bed sheets grimey
4. Steps really steep with no hand rail...ok if you are a mountaineer
5. Laundry....left with it all wet and smelly and had to put into proper laundry
6. No toilet roll, smelly towels, only one socket and one light bulb
7. Loads of Mosquitos.
8. Food nothing special and service slow
9. cess pit smells so you can smell it while eating dinner.
10. Sink in first room, just leaked all over your feet.
11. Woodworm, so could fall through the floor probably at one point.
12. Very expensive compared to other resorts.

Pros...lovely din, Hannah and the cats

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank samanthafreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pulau Kapas hotels

Klang,selangor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

6 of us went there last week,as we arrive we weren't greeted..We have to wait for quite sometime to get the rooms.Unfortunately 3 of us were given tree house wit 30 steps to climb and 3 others lower ground.After we talk to ROSE,she were reluctant to give us a room on lower ground.We explain to her that we are here for holidays and we going to have some booze(alcohol).We don't want anyone to stumble n fall 30 steps down after the alcohol effects and look for hospital or doctor.The toilets were HORRIBLE and not clean.Our room's air-condition were out of service and no extra fan given or APOLOGY extended.Past midnight we were not allow to have drinks by the beach or have fun there.So due to low tide we took our things mid of the sea to have fun.Some off the food were nice but the service is so SLOW,they don't ANTICIPATE or have some URGENCY in service.Their snorkelling equipments,life vest,kayak boat in BAD condition.The only person who is friendly and helpful is DIN and rest of them r there just to make money ,he made our holidays memorable one.A BIG THANK YOU TO DIN.There are many other chalets around that island and i'm sure we won't be going to QIMI

Room Tip: There is non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Raoul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed it. Rose is a awesome cook, ate some of the best food I've had in whole Malaysia right here! The prices are of course higher than on the mainland but don't let this hold you back from placing an order even if only for a walk-in dinner.
The rooms are nice but a bit over-priced to my opinion. The water-issue mentioned some reviews before is still there, it smells quite strong of iron from the old pipes in some of the bungalows higher up the hill slope. And the water-pressuer is very low up there. So if you can, take a room below.
The beach is totally secluded and absolutely lovely, only a few trespassers during daytime. At night it is really quiet and with the cool breeze just wonderful to relax and chill on the balcony.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanction4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We spent 3 days 2 nights at Qimi chalet and were extremely happy and glad that we picked this little chalet. Run by a family with additional help from 2 locals and 2 tourists who stayed with them, we felt we are at home always. They are very friendly and warm. Language is never a problem because each one of them speaks excellent English. Rose (the mother) is an excellent cook; food is delicious, nutritious and the portion is generous. Best of all, dinner is served under the stars on the beach - sand on our feet. We brought our own wines to enjoy with and after dinner. Rose was happy to chill them for us - passed to her few hours before dinner. After dinner, we spend an hour or two recollecting what we did during the day and our plan for the next morning while they play soothing selection of music from Jason Mraz's 'I'm yours' to 'Hotel California' and also Bob Marley's masterpieces.

My advise - even if you don't stay in Qimi, you must have at least one of your dinner here. Price - very reasonable. Lots to do and play here - Swimming, snorkeling, kayaks and jungle trekking to indoor games like chess, carrom and checkers when the weather doesn't permit outdoor activities.The chalet itself is not the typical 'by the beach' chalet type; at Qimi, you are surrounded by lush greenery with constant birds chirping, insects buzzing and wave hitting the beach.

An experience not to be missed. The cheapest room is a little small with dim lights (water and solar electricity is very expensive on this island) so if you are not the backpacker type, pick the more expensive room and you'll be happy. Basically, you get what you pay for ~ this resort caters for all types of travelers. It's unfair to pick the cheapest room and expect that you get top notch room. The service from the guys manning the place is top notch though. This post doesn't do any justice, you need to be there and experience it yourself. I know I will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: Put the right expectation for room chosen. You will get with what you have paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank leekian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Kapas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Marang
0.0 mi away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#15 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gem Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kapas Coral Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qimi Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qimi Chalet

Property: Qimi Chalet
Address: Qimi Chalet Marang, Pulau Kapas 42940, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Kapas
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Kapas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome all to qimi chalet. We treat you as our family... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Qimi Chalet Hotel Pulau Kapas
Qimi Chalet Pulau Kapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing