We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a 5-star...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resorts World Kijal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kijal
Reviewed July 22, 2006

Me and my husband visited Awana Kijal Golf Resort 21-23 July 2006. It's a huge place with both hotelrooms and apartments. Lots of things to do, specially for children and there were a lot of families there. We had a premier room with a see view, quite ok and enough space but the doors to the toilet and bathroom were a bit odd. We do not golf so we have no idea about that but we do like to swim and since we don't have children the beach was perfect for us. The beach is quiet, white and long! We tried the chinese restaurant and it was ok, and we also tried the restaurant by the pool with western cuisine - we really liked the pizza! It's rated a 5-star hotel but we consider it more like 3-star +, it feels like a huge European tourist hotel. The service is ok but nothing special. The rooms are ok but not on the top. And no balcony facing the ocean. The coccroaches on the breakfast buffe (running around the food!) brings minus to the star rating.

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank stina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 328 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2006

Instead of going to the usual Terengganu resorts like Tanjong Jara or Aryani, we thought of trying out this place. We drove up from Kuala Lumpur. At the reception there was a slight mix up as we made reservations through Genting.

We took the room with the sea view overlooking the pool. The view was excellent.

The beach is beautiful but not suitable for swimming as Terengganu beaches (mainland not the islands) tend to be a bit dangerous due to the sudden drops in the sand. Other water activities are available.

The environment and the crowd are more suitable for families. Kids filled up the shallow pool. Golf is one of the main attraction as the course is just next to the hotel.

We also went to the Spa for massages. It was excellent and at a reasonable price. Service was good and friendly.

We didn't try out the food that much. We only had dinner at the Chinese restaurant which we found to be quite good.

All in all, we found the place to be more suitable for families and golfers.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pathmosttravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
Thank patrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled on business
Thank FP1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Simone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank michel-sattahip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kijal
18.5 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 7 in Cherating
124 reviews
18.7 mi away
Royale Chulan Cherating
Royale Chulan Cherating
#2 of 7 in Cherating
31 reviews
20.4 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#34 of 44 in Kuantan
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
11.0 mi away
Riverine Garden Hotel
Riverine Garden Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chukai
5 reviews
3.2 mi away
AL-Safina Kijal Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Kijal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Kijal

Address: Jalan Kemaman-Dungun, Kijal 24100, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Kijal Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kemaman District > Kijal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kijal
Price Range: $58 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Kijal 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on an East Coast adventure, and experience Malaysia’s heritage traditions that you would otherwise only seen and heard about. Immerse yourself with your family on a journey filled with exotic cuisines, historical architectures and the beautiful 7.6km stretch of white sand beach while being surrounded by the tranquil ambience away from the usual daily pressure of work. Make your family bonding fun and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resorts World Kijal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Kijal Hotel Kijal
Awana Hotel Kijal
Resorts World Kijal Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing