We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Resorts World Kijal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kijal
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Room - clean & big.
Service - ok and the staffs are vey friendly.
Location - not starategic because very far from other places. very difficult to find food outside the resort.

We are very lucky bcause on the first & second day we had dinner at Kampung meregis restaurant. on third day, the kampung restaurant were closed.so we moved to waterfall restaurant. I asked one of the staff in waterfall restaurant why kampung is closed, she said if not many people stayed in the resort the kampong will closed.
We are lucky because on that day we arrive in resort there are a lot of people stayed there and have a seminar.
The dishes in kampung is very nice. They will change the menu every day.(Bfast and dinner).
Although on third day we moved to waterfall, the food also nice. We can choose the buffet or ala carte. so i choose ala cart because the steamboat buffet is not so many choices.
Ala carte, we can choose for apertizer, main course and dessert..

The swimming pool is not so clean.maybe because of the tree is around the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azma0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 332 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2009

Stayed 3D2N at Awana Kijal. The resort is quite rundown, but still acceptable. Actually you don't have to pay extra for a seaview, because all rooms are facing the sea, some at a certain angle. One let down was there were many flies in the room.
My girl enjoyed the swimming pool most. It was somewhat dirty because of the fallen leaves from the trees surrounding the pool. There was a signboard saying to wear proper attire for the pool, but many malays just jumped into the pool with their clothes on.
There was a row of shops just at the entrance of the resort. We tried one of the seafood restaurant. It was good and value for money. Food is fresh and delicious.
The next day, we drove to cukai town to try the famous Hai Peng coffee and bread. It was the nasi lemak that is the best. In fact, we even packed some on our way home. Heard many people talking about the stuffed crab. We went to try it out from Tong Juan. To be honest, nothing fantastic and it's expensive too. I think the restaurant behind Muni Hotel served better food compare to Tong Juan.
There was this chinese shop that sells very nice curry noodles and scalded fish. It's located near the market. They even sell keropok which is made from fish.The keropok is the yummiest I've ever tried. Bought 10 pkts back to fry ourselves.
Well if you are just staying at the resort to entertain you, It will be a disappointment. Driving out to explore the town is the best recommendation.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joletapteltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Stayed 4D3N in Deluxe King room from 28 Mar – 31 Mar 09. We booked the Holiday Delight package. Our room was really really nice. There is a bathtub in the living room and we can watch TV while lying in the tub!
On the 1st nite, the Kampong restaurant serving the buffet dinner was closed and we were directed to the Waterfall restaurant where there was Steamboat and BBQ buffet. The BBQ was really good but the Steamboat was not nice at all.
The pool is dirty. During my 4 days there, the pool was not cleaned at all. The water in the jacuzzi is murky. There is lack of enforcement at the pool i.e. some people enter the pool without changing to swimming attire and this was allowed. On the 2nd night, the Kampong restaurant was not open for dinner again and we had to go to the Waterfall. The staff at the Waterfall were not friendly and we were made to wait there whilst they check if our vouchers could be used in that restaurant. Same thing occurred on the 3rd night. Basically, if the Kampong restaurant will be closed during that period, then they should not sell us buffet dinners at the Kampong restaurant during our booking!
There used to be a sunken bar at the pool… but there is none now. And, there are also no alcoholic beverages served at this hotel. Fortunately, there is a pub and nice Chinese/western restaurants located right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LL721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

My friends and I decided to have a road trip and decided to head to the east coast for a weekend! Since my friend had a voucher, we decided to check into Awana Kijal for 2 nights.

The hotel and lobby was impressive and gave a good impression. However, we were so dissapointed with the condition of the room. It looks really old and would have been great 10 years ago! The sliding door for the bathroom came off when we tried to open it, so go figure!

The biggest let down has to be the service level of the staffs. I wasn't at the check-in counter, so couldn't comment on them, however the staffs at the restaurants were bad. They weren't friendly at all and looks as if being forced to work there! The breakfast selection and variety was ok, however the buffet steamboat dinner was horrible as the food wasn't fresh and overall the food is expensive.

On the upside, the resort had a beautiful beach and the view from our room was great! It also has a big pool and great for kids!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Calvin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

I have stayed in this hotel numerous times to date, all on business trips. The lobby is really spacious, the rooms are big and clean. Some of the rooms (facing the sea, above the lobby) has been recently renovated. On some rooms, the bath tub has moved from the bath to the 'living' area, so you can now laze in the tub and watch TV.

The Chinese restaurant downstairs serves tasty food. The Italian restaurant has very nice deco. The Kampung restaurant is where buffet breakfast is spread in the mornings. Breakfast is ok, you get a wide spread of local dishes, I have never stayed multiple nights in a row to see if the breakfast menu changes.

There are also few restaurants outside the hotel (including a KFC) at walking distance from the hotel.

The pool is quite spacious, they have a section for kids (with slide and pool playground) which would keep them busy. The beach is not bad.

Overall all my stays here has been pleasant.

p/s: Good time for the hotel to upgrade their limo cars, I think they are in need of some internal refurbishment.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Overall the room and facilities are okay.But there is needs to improve for the people eg front desk etc. I believe the attitude of the staffs has to be improve if we like to attract foreign tourist.Besides that treating our own people is also very important.Remember that we are your guest.We are here for holiday and enjoy and not to make complaint.if we have to do so then what is the main purpose we are here.I believe our neighbour country hotel hospitality is much more better that we do.As a frequent travelling and i can see the different.I hope we malaysian can do better and indirectly creating the good image to the rest of the world.

Stayed: October 2008
3  Thank Horizonsubangjaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

LOVE IT! We drove to the resort wiz 4 other families wiz young children and stayed 4nites.When we arrived,first impression abt the lobby ws good.It was big,comfy and the toilets were clean also the staff were friendly.We love the beautiful beach and grew to like the pool.Many activities at the beach and the hubbies even played football wiz other guests.WE spent most of the time at the beach and pool.
The kids tried Archery and Batik painting. The guys had great time at golf.My 6yrs old boy managed to practice his golf swings at the driving range and got other kids to have a go at it.
For lunch and dinner,we wud drive or took less than 10mins walk out of the resort to the few restaurants nearby.Food ws good and cheap.Do sample Kemaman Coconut Biscuit for rm5.50 in one of the restaurants.We bought alot to bring home.
The guys had so much fun after dinner at Studio One playing pools and karaoke while the mummies stayed with the kids in the rooms but we had fantastic time at the spa for massage while the guys entertained the children the next day.
HATE IT! We bkd Deluxe rm wiz seaview.Eventhough,we got nice pool view but seaview was blkd by the trees.Rm was basic,no safe,bath rope,slippers and definate needed upgrading.My boys kept asking to change room.All of us were given Premier rm on the last nite wch ws MUCH MUCH BETTER than the Deluxe.Cleaner and proper..
The pool also need good cleaning coz it was pretty murky esp the Jacuzzi.On the 3rd day we were there, the pool ws cleaner but Jacuzzi ws still the same.Eventhough,the pool needed maintainance and upgraging the kids and adults grew to like it.
Food not so good during Buffet Breakfast and Dinner.Do have breakfast very early to avoid flies and ants(not many but visible).
Overall,eventhough the resort needs gd splash of paint,we really enjoyed our stay and dun mind coming back for more but definate will stay at better rooms :D

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Puzzlemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kijal
18.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 6 in Cherating
125 reviews
18.7 mi away
Royale Chulan Cherating
Royale Chulan Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
36 reviews
11 mi away
Riverine Garden Hotel
Riverine Garden Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chukai
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#33 of 44 in Kuantan
444 reviews
16 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort
16.9 mi away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Kijal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Kijal

Address: Jalan Kemaman-Dungun, Kijal 24100, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Kijal Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kemaman District > Kijal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kijal
Price Range: $58 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Kijal 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on an East Coast adventure, and experience Malaysia’s heritage traditions that you would otherwise only seen and heard about. Immerse yourself with your family on a journey filled with exotic cuisines, historical architectures and the beautiful 7.6km stretch of white sand beach while being surrounded by the tranquil ambience away from the usual daily pressure of work. Make your family bonding fun and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resorts World Kijal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Kijal Hotel Kijal
Awana Hotel Kijal
Resorts World Kijal Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing