We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but breakfast for kids too expensive!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resorts World Kijal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Resorts World Kijal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kijal
Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but breakfast for kids too expensive!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The rooms was average. They have kids playground swimming pool. I will never forget riding a bicycle with my kids and my husband. It was so fun.

No nasi dagang menu for breakfast. We booked two rooms with 2 breakfasts for each room. I have no problem to pay for my kids breakfast but the price far too expensive! Not worth paying because the food can consider average too.

Room Tip: You will get better room when you check in on low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    93
    107
    41
    21
See reviews for
101
38
12
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The resort is the best place in the area.. there is not much more around. After re-branding from Awana Kiajal to Resorts World Kijal, some necessary updates have been done and are still ongoing. With one of the many golf courses beside, that is a kind of local country club...for the residents. A lot of guests are business travellers on the way to off shore platforms or local oil companies. Coveralls in all bright colors is usual outfit of guests. Therefore (nice big)pool is not very busy and beach is empty. Food selection is average, breakfast buffet is ok, but nothing 5 star at all. More 3* +. As Terengganu is strictly islamic, no alcohol is served in the restaurants. Only place is the KTV bar and the beach hut (closing at 7:00 pm) Rooms are average. Hotel is more than 10 years old, furniture too. CRT TV is standard, Internet is charged (quite pricy) and speed in the lobby quite poor. Staff is friendly but often not very fast. Parking is free. There is not much to see around there. In Monsoon time (November to mid March ?) the sea is too rough swim. It is quite expensive for the package, but they do not really have any competition close enough.

Room Tip: The shop cluster just in front of the hotel has several small restaurants and the Chinese operations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BK_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The first impression I had on the property was good: The hotel boasts a stately lobby and grand appearance, especially when viewed from outside. The room I got, however, fell short of the hotel's 5-star status. It had the distinctive 'damp' smell that you normally get in an old, poorly-maintained hotel room. Perhaps they should steam clean the carpet more often? The interior fittings, whilst pretty grand, were very dated. The room looked like they were taken straight from a 90s film. The washroom was reasonably clean and the bed was comfy enough, so no complaint there.

I tried the in-room dining service, and the food was delivered on time. The food, however, was so-so, especially considering the price. The hotel cab, however, was the biggest rip-off: I was charged RM 70 to get to the Kertih Airport (Mind you that the airport was just 10 minutes' away from the hotel).

To sum it up, Awana Kijal is a reasonable choice when you're in Kemaman/Kertih (for lack of other options), but it certainly doesn't deserve the 5-star rating anymore. It's a shame that such a great investment would be left to rot gradually without proper maintenance. A breath of fresh air is what the hotel direly needs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fayhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is very worn out and badly in need of an overhaul. The rooms are dated the and lacking in facilities that are standard in any modern hotel. The wifi is possibly the most expensive in Malaysia and the food is sub standard. Chicken burger we had in the restaurant was inedible and the buffet breakfast is 3 times the price of a buffet breakfast in KL and nowhere near as good.

Room Tip: The Spa is for ladies only so I cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Martinmc1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kijal hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
ampang
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Used to love this hotel..my 5th stay within the past 3 years.....wonderful room..the sea view..friendly staff.....facilities..breakfast...nearby wonderful chinese restaurant (outside of hotel which is 2-3 drive)..but oh my....you guys are going downhill....the view is still wonderful as ever, the facilities,friendly staff, good breakfast option are still the same...but the room when we came in smelt like something did not being dried properly and the pillows are soooo soft that other cheaper hotels which I had stayed-in have better pillows......overall we did have a wonderful time....time to improve guys...the not free wifi (RM25 for 24 hrs) is not cool at all with such room rate....the x-factor which makes me keeps coming back is slowwwllllllyyyyy sizzling out.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is suitable for family gathering / holiday, it have indoor sport carter for children, and swimming pool is well separated by adult and children pool. The beach was long and nice, you can have beach football and volleyball along the beach.
Room is big,if you are with 3 to 4 family member in your this holiday, you may just book one premium room with two king size beds and the each bed was big enough for 2 person.
If you have your own transport, you visit the "City of Light" which about 15 mins driving distance toward north
There was an small town toward to the north, you can find a shopping mall and fast food restaurant.
The food serve in the hotel was very expensive but you can get some nice seafood outside the hotel with reasonable price which just right beside the main road (5 mins walk away from the lobby)
If you wanted to have some Chinese food, you can to go Cukai town which just drive 18 min toward to the south.

Room Tip: Room which facing the sea or premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mervin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

When I wanted to make hotel bookings for a trip to Kerteh, a friend of mine suggested Resort World Awana Kijal. He said that is one of the best you could find in that area. And so we booked a place there. It was very last minute and we booked it from agoda and costs us about RM200 per night, which is quite reasonable, knowing it's one of tje best hotel there. My expectation was high before I arrived. But it went down drastically as I entered the room. The furniture is considered old but I can accept it. The bedsheet was like super old and out of fashion. To make it worse, it smells old. I was thinking to myself, I know they can't do anything to the structure and furniture, but at least change the bedsheet to a newer one please.

Other than that, I must say the breakfast they provided was superb and the service as well. However, the beach was very quiet and empty and i felt desertes. It should be a resort I expected.

Being a traveler in Kerteh, if you don't have ur own transport to commute there, you will find it difficult because the taxi fare there is super super high and unrealistic.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Arilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kijal
18.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
19.9 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#30 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
18.5 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
11.4 mi away
Skyview Hotel
Skyview Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kemaman District
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Kijal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Kijal

Property: Resorts World Kijal
Address: Jalan Kemaman-Dungun, Kijal 24100, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Kijal Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kemaman District > Kijal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kijal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Kijal 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on an East Coast adventure, and experience Malaysia’s heritage traditions that you would otherwise only seen and heard about. Immerse yourself with your family on a journey filled with exotic cuisines, historical architectures and the beautiful 7.6km stretch of white sand beach while being surrounded by the tranquil ambience away from the usual daily pressure of work. Make your family bonding fun and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Resorts World Kijal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Kijal Hotel Kijal
Awana Hotel Kijal
Resorts World Kijal Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing