We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I didn't stay here, just had dinner. The food was superb! We had steak, lamb and homemade ice cream. Best western food I've had in Miri, and reasonably priced. I can't comment on accommodation, but for a nice dinner for couples especially, with a live pianist, it's recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    41
    32
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
8
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Grand Palace exudes an aura of luxury and comfort that is rare for hotels in Miri. Rooms were exceptionally clean. The staff was kind enough to allow us to check out 20 minutes later than usual because we were running late.

The hotel is located away from major shopping areas but it isn't too far. The immediate surroundings include a department store, Belle's bookshop, a number of massage parlors and too many restaurants to count. The hotel food isn't bad but if you ever want to try something different you will not have much trouble finding a different place to eat.

My only minor issue is the hotel provides free WiFi for only 1 device per room. Access to the WiFi is protected by a username & password combination which must be obtained at the reception. Connecting additional devices cost extra. I'm of two minds about this: while I can understand why they would want to limit access to the hotel network I imagine it would rub a lot of guests the wrong way given how even solo guests will likely have multiple devices that need WiFi. So if you're not willing to pay extra, best bring a network-sharing device.

Room Tip: As of June 2014 the hotel provides free WiFi for only 1 device per room. If you have multiple device...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limshengming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I would call it a convenience hotel for business personnel wanting a quiet accommodation not far from attractions.
Personally I rate the hotel as having one of the best beds in Miri, giving you sleeping comfort. Meals would be reasonable for breakfast. For lunch and dinner it has a good list of choices from the menu.
Comfortable for meetings over meals.
The health centre (gym, sauna and steam room) is another reason for it being my choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohamedMIQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel when I went to Miri for business. There were two good restaurants, although no bar and I found the gym with enough equipment to allow me to have a good workout. Wifi is in the rooms which was a bonus as I thought it was only in the public areas. If I had more time I would have ventured out the back of the hotel where there were interesting and busy eating places especially for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turi, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for another weekend in Miri. We checked in before noon, the front office was so welcoming, prompt and courteous. We booked the deluxe room but we were upgraded to the executive floor because the next day was my husband's birthday also because the first time we were staying in Grand Palace. The front office staff also congratulated my husband, just a small human touch but we felt so much appreciated. The room was not that big and the furnitures was quite old but it was very clean and neat. Parking is easy, but they don't have basement parking. Your car will be so hot in the day. Location is good, 5-10 min drive to the Bintang Mall and Permaisuri Mall (depends on the traffic). What we love here is the restaurant, we had dinner in Western Palace Restaurant, we ordered steak and it was great. For breakfast was just ok, they don't have a lot of variety.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zyrajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Spend a night here to attend a course held here on the next day. Rates per night is expensive even though im using corp rate. Room furniture is old, corridor & room smell of cigarette smoke. Bed is due for replacement, hard at the sides but sink in the middle. Pillow is so so. Sound proof from street noise is poor, luckily the neighbor is quiet even though it have connecting door. Curtain blind is thin there is some light coming in, im having trouble sleeping in the afternoon after returning offshore from night shift duty.
Bath amenities are minimal, just soap & shampoo. Shower cap is missing from its packaging.
Breakfast are included in the room rates. It is held at the American restaurant. Food quality is average with very little choices. Although the restaurant said to be opened at 6am, the omelette chef only shows up at 6.45. I came early, no staff to greet me at the door. I have to call them before they showed up.
There are better place to stay which cost less than RM200++ per night. Im still puzzled why my company wants to do their meeting over here (its been a long time since we held any events here, usually it was always Eastwood Valley or Meritz hotel) the food is not that great after all

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ayla_Kosmonova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at this hotel. After an embarassing incident involving my bank not releasing funds to pay for the hotel, they allowed me to deposit cash etc. The attitude of the reception was one of being dismissive and borderline patronising, even after explaining the situation.
The location is only good if you interested in visiting the bars nearby. Taxis are needed for everywhere else.
Cost of food in the hotel is exorbitant and the fact that we could smell cigarette smoke in the room from our neighbours didn't help the overall experience.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miri hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
1.1 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#9 of 31 in Miri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
2.7 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Property: Grand Palace Hotel
Address: Grand Palace Hotel Grand Palace Hotel 2-Km. Jl. Miri-Pujut, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Hotel Miri, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing