We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, probably better to avoid weekends”
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Booked this hotel for a week end in Miri. Looks good from outside and reception is fine. Booked a room on executive floor, all was good until about 1am when all the guys who had come over from Brunei for the week end arrived back drunk with women in tow ... noise went on for about 3 hours as women arrived and then left again after a couple of hours..... not quietly!
Room was a good size but a little tired. Breakfast was fine but not fantastic. Swimming pool is ice but small...

Room Tip: Not the exec floor at week ends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 98 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

I choose this hotel everytime I go miri to see my friends. I'm agree that someone complaint about the card door key problem. Better check it routine. Add more tv channels. All are perfect..but why no hose in toilet? Better provide hose for Muslim use. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the hotel should anybody required to stay in Miri.. Very convenient, good staff, good service. Near to town, quite cheap and value of your every penny.. I took my family for weekend trip to Miri and we're happy throughout the stay..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaizNazri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here mid August for three nights. Easy run from the airport ( get Budget taxi at 28 RM, the other Blue one cost twice the price 57RM.)
Staff were all helpful and friendly and with good English.
Breakfast fairly comprehensive choices, the fresh cheese omelette was very good. Fruit juice not great, but fresh fruit was. Good coffee, and range of pastries for continental choice. Served till 10am.
Felt like a safe environment for a solo female traveller as did the locality, and the all-and-everything supermarket over the small side road is both handy and culturally interesting in itself.
Mosque over the larger main road had daily call to prayer on loud speaker but not audible from inside the room.
Good price for B&B, did not use any other facilities.
I found the Internet was frustrating having to re-enter the code daily. Its 12RM per day ,per device, so an iPhone and iPad for two days was 48RM. Also ask reception to write out for you the code and password. It came on a small faded print out , like a till receipt, which was hard to decipher.
Like the hotel itself that could do with a little updating compared with contemporary hotels which automatically have wifi in each room. Did not use ether net.
Good bathroom, plenty of 'stuff' : shower and hair wash, sewing kit, shaving kit.
First room I was taken to was Fourth floor, smelled badly of cigarette smoke, as did the corridor. Although it was past midnight ( local time) when I arrived I mentioned it to the bell boy who arranged for me to be moved , which happened very swiftly . I ended up on the sixth floor where there no such problems and had a comfortable stay.
My regional flight out of Miri was in the afternoon, the hotel had no problem with me checking out at 1.00.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Majen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights. The price is decent for the value in that city. The rooms are old but well kept and there is a resturant downstairs that offers complimentary breakfast decent meals throughout the day. There is also a grocery next door that can come in handy for all needs. There are many local restaurants around the area within walking distance. There is free wifi in the lobby but in the rooms they require payment for use, cheap but speedy.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krishan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in order to have a night out in Miri - my friend lives in Brunei. The hotel was functional, and clean. Service was ropey - we had two rooms in initially instead of one, although they did handle that well.

Would definitely stay here again - great value for money, and right next to the bars so we had a fun night out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located near town center. Easy to locate. Hotel also situated next to a hypermarket mall and commercial shops. Very convenient for quick shopping. The hotel has an open parking bay and guarded with security. Hotel is slightly traditional from outlook.
Easy check-in to hotel. Room is tidy and clean. Only one fine thing which I find the hotel need change is the entrance access to the hotel room. I guess my encounter is not a favorable one as I tried to access my room easily more than 5 mins coz it really caused me frustration as wanting to quickly rush in to hotel room for hot bath after a long day outdoor activities. I find its rusty and the access card is no longer sensitive or less detectable to open. Please do routine maintenance check.
Overall, its simple and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miri hotels
0.7 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
1.5 mi away
Meritz Hotel
Meritz Hotel
#9 of 31 in Miri
259 reviews
3.2 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
1.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Address: Grand Palace Hotel Grand Palace Hotel 2-Km. Jl. Miri-Pujut, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price Range: $36 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Hotel Miri, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing