We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly dark and vast caverns”
Review of Niah Caves

Niah Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.55*
and up
Historical Niah National Park Day Trip from Miri
Ranked #3 of 34 things to do in Miri
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smelly dark and vast caverns”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Adventure, thrill and exploration are things that go together. The caves are vast, dark and smelly. There is bat and bird poop everywhere. The wooden board-walk to the cave and through the cave is extremely slippery. I underestimated how slippery the walk was so be prepared.

Be prepared as you'll need to pay a small entrance fee with foreigners paying extra compared to Malaysian locals with MYKAD. You will take a one-minute small motor powered boat ride across the crocodile infested water before going on a 1 hour long walk through the tall Borneo forest. Bring a raincoat as it could rain on the one hour walk to the site.

If you're lucky you can catch a monkey jumping from tree to tree. There are red millipedes along the walk feeding on the moss on the handrails. Also be careful for furry caterpillars along the railing as my friend accidentally touched one and ended up with blisters along his arm that lasted a week.

You'll catch bird nets with swiftlets and bats perched in their spots, and also the occasional rock wall painting if you look closely. The painted caves was closed when I went there and looks like it's been closed since March 2012.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayteewoofed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    104
    30
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Highlight of Sarawak”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The caves are the highlight of the hike in the Niah National Park.

Traders Cave is an open air dwelling of birds and bats. At the appropriate season, local men climb the scaffolds and gather the birds’ nests and trade them for money and goods.

The Great Cave of Niah is enormous. The floor area of the cave is 10 hectares (25 acres) and in places the cave roof rises 75 meters (246 feet) above the floor. It has been the site of 40,000 years of human occupation. I definitely need a flashlight to climb up and down the slippery stairs through utter darkness.

Don't miss this spot in Sarawak!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan_Polatschek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawau, Malaysia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“a photographer's walk to Niah Cave”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We drove there and stayed in a hotel at Batu Niah, which is a small town. The town is about 10 kilometers to Niah Caves HQ. We were the first to register and paid for the entry at 8.00am. We then proceeded to the river side for a very short boat transfer across the river. Once on the other side of the river, we walked (only means) on the cement and raised platform trail to Niah Caves. We went there for the purpose of photography so it took us about 3 hours to reach Niah Caves. The suggested time is one and three quarter hours. Just before the Cave, there were some locals who live at a nearby longhouse selling souvenirs and can drinks. Since we knew that the painted cave is closed for renovations, we only stayed around the main cave.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven_Teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Interesting and educational”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The journey to the cave is approximately 1and half hr by car
and we had to walk to the cave around 1 hour and exploring
the cave took us around 45 mins. Don't forget to bring along
touch lights as the caves is not illuminated and some paths are
dark and slippery. We were disappointed we could not visit the painted cave as it was closed for public.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Zingg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Niah”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Much smaller scale than Mulu and not as well preserved. No more bats in the cave and the swift population has dwindled to very small. Cave is huge and smelly due to the birds and bats dropping. They were upgarding the graveyard leftover of stone age civilization in the cafe. Easily accessible from Bintulu or Sibu. Take the boat across and nice platform walk all along to the cave. Pretty safe.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NabilaofKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niah Caves also viewed

 

Been to Niah Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing