We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for seafood lover”
Review of Meng Chai Seafood

Meng Chai Seafood
Ranked #30 of 227 Restaurants in Miri
Cuisines: Malaysian
Restaurant details
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good for seafood lover”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

There are plenty of fresh seafood for your choice here, they can cook very well but just the standard is not stable, we all know overcook will spoil the seafood, we have grilled sambal squid few time which is too hard to chew , and so the fish and clam. We always remind them not to overcook, but it seem hardly to avoid. We like their Sambal (a kind of sauce) vey much, sometime I even think that we go there is because of the sambal not the food, without the sambal, all the food here seem incomplete in taste, so for me the sambal is the soul of their food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessB_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    15
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great seafood, good price”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Arrived here late at night on taxi drivers recommendation. Great service and fabulous seafood ...really cheap. Definitely worth going back to

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Simple seafood restaurant”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This outlet is a no frills seafood joint. Popular with locals and tourists and pricing is decent. They do not have menus for you to choose or guide you to their cooking but offers simple straight forward dishes like fried seafood with sambal or steamed. We have visited this eatery twice and had to wait about 30 to 40 minutes but on the second visit, we had to chase for our remaining 2 dishes as we had finished up the first two. Prices are fair and food is alright with no complaints.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NyonyaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good place that I had dinner for 2 nights in a row.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very good local restaurant. Highly recommend the grilled sardines and gonggong (a type of shell).
I am used to eating sardines out of a can in tomoto sauce. The ones they have in meng Chai is fresh and grilled. No additional sauces are needed.
If it is too hot, air-conditioned room is available.
Bill for the 10 of us is RM400 which includes steamed fish, sardines, gonggong, prawns and drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aarbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“sotong sambal is the best”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I came here since i was kid and never stop coming here the locals love it... i love the tom yam fish and sotong sambal which makes my day and best rewards. Everytime me and my family we will buy fresh fish ourselves and bring it here and ask them to cook curry or tom yam which reduce the cost of the fish and it is best food in miri town which everyone should come if you stay not far from Meritz or Mega Hotel. It is not far from Ming Cafe and late night person can hang out having a few pints with friends and catch up with life.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ressyfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meng Chai Seafood also viewed

Miri, Miri District
 

Been to Meng Chai Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing