We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel with Hotel Feeling”
Review of Coco House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coco House
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Miri
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hostel with Hotel Feeling”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've read low average reviews on this lodge at first but insist to have a real experienced for at least a night.the front desk a bit slow and lack of professional yet very sincere and helpful.
the dorm which consist 2 double decker with personal security box and curtain(wow!) plus with personal bed lmap n electric plu to charge ur phone or laptop.well also with a budget pedal to hang ur towel.
the common room divided into female n male which is a bonus for some people.but it reduce each room to only 2 toilet with 1 shower room.i would like to suggest, they upgrade the 2 toilet with a simple portable shower to wash the butt plus shower.
the big mirror n spacious basin for hand wash not to say a waste but its better to invest for cream dispenser in each room as the one is the existing washroom is in poor condition.the shower room door a bit dirt, prior to lack of staff to do maintenance.
the living room is awesome plus with mini bar which provided great microwave for those hungry in the midnite so u may heat for noodle or prooidge, plus with mini fridge, water hot and cold dispenser n not forgetting the iron with the board.u may iron ur shirt at any time.
the living room provided with variety of local magazines and catalogue while for those need relax, sofa ambience very home feeling with bid lcd tv.
the cafe totally need help in terms of cooking, i only can give 2 from 5 where the tea tarik is poor and the fried noodles not more than a canteen quality.but the bread made by the malay girl in the morning is great,perfect blend of butter and coconut jam but again the tea is not well blend. i suggest let the free breakfast manage as self service so the cafe can focus more on request preparation.everyone would love the cafe because its so ambience, calming, welcoming and nice to hang out.
parking is ample facing main road with almost no noisy sound.safety consider great with cctv every floor.
location is 900m from imperial mall where i consider as main landmark of city centre, as well bintang mall.malay food court opposite miri-orient hotel is 500m.all in all is superb for a hostel with budget hotel feeling from outside while totally home inside.

Room Tip: ask not to put room facing mainroad,its not noisy but if u need totally silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
7
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed for a total of eight days in Coco House whilst I was diving with Coco Divers. I bought a package off Groupon which included scuba diving and accommodation with food all thrown in which was really fantastic value for money. I stayed in a double bed en suite room with private bathroom which normally costs RM80 per night. The room was only relatively clean with the walls already getting dirty and the toilet bowl had some issues. Nevertheless it was generally clean though the bed wasn't of the highest quality. The free wifi was much appreciated and the service and helpfulness from all the staff was really great, absolutely no complaints there. The food there was pretty lousy and uninspired at best. I normally just had a few bites before going off to eat some local food nearby. The location isn't too bad with a huge mall less than 15mins walk away and quite a few selections of restaurants and stalls less than 10 mins away. If you're scuba diving with Coco Dive and especially if you have your own diving equipment then it makes perfect sense to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaysanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This building is next to Dynasty Hotel. The Coco House has only recently open, less than 8 months.

The coco house is a 100% MUST visit for the CocoDive (Diving the Sea in Miri and everywhere else that is nearby). FREE Wifi. CHEAP priced ranging from only RM 40 and above. Temporary accomodation for the divers.

However, the food itself has problem. It was great but food quality has dropped tremendously lately. Price is even slightly more expensive than outside.

The roti jala used to have 5 pieces. Once we informed the staff, we wanted to get it as a take away instead of dine it. She only gave us 4 pieces. We saw return the last piece to the kitchen. Who knows she might have think the 5th piece is the charge for the disposable container. The use of disposable containers for drinks which are more suited to a fast food outlet is one of the major turn off.

We revisited and some of the staffs changed. The food does not taste as good as it looks as well. The shocking moment: We found hair on our friend's drinks. Some of our friends took their turns to invite the other friends to join in but, things does not seem to improve for the past 3 months.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnnWai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miri hotels

Miri, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

found out about this place from my friend,room are nice and very relaxing as it was quieter,there's a place to hang out in the afternoon at the rooftop,even town area are reachable within 10-15 mins walk which is a leisure walk.

Room Tip: room situated at south side have nice view of the fly over highway, room are quieter and nice with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank addam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miri hotels
1.0 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Meritz Hotel
Meritz Hotel
#9 of 31 in Miri
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nur
Hotel Nur
#6 of 31 in Miri
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco House

Property: Coco House
Address: Lot 2117 Block 9 Miri-Pujut Road | Miri Concession Land District (MCLD), Miri 98000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco House is a small property in Miri, just 10 minutes' walk from Miri Heritage Centre and Bintang Mega Mall. It offers both private and dormitory rooms with free Wi-Fi. The on-site Coco Cafe serves local dishes.All guestrooms are fitted with air conditioning and wooden flooring. All include a satellite TV and hairdryer, as well as private or shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Coco House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco House Miri, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing