We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great & tough trek, not much to see” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pinnacles Trail

The Pinnacles Trail
Ranked #4 of 33 things to do in Miri
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great & tough trek, not much to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a tough trek. You do a boat ride, then an easy 8.5k walk to the lodge. All fine. The next day you almost immediately start going up, and it just gets steeper and steeper. Walking poles are a waste of time - don't bother with them. Slippery roots, sharp rocks, and you want your hands to be available. Do take gloves. It is hot and humid all the way up - you will sweat buckets!
The top portion of the climb uses ladders and ropes, great fun. However, don't go expecting an amazing view - there is a small lookout area and the pinnacles are just a few sharp bits of rock jutting through the canopy. Not exactly breathtaking. BUT, you do feel you've accomplished a tough walk in the heart of the jungle, so I would recommend it for that reason.
We went with Planet Borneo, and they were excellent, with our guide Roland being absolutely wonderful. If you use a park guide, you have to look after yourself a lot more and cook your own meals - Roland looked after us brilliantly and made us delicious dinners and breakfasts.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cairoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    19
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty hardcore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was one of the most memorable hike I've ever done in my life. Despite the trek to the pinnacle summit being a mere 2.4km, this is not an easy feat. As we start from altitute zero and the summit is about 1,100m high, you can work out how steep this hike is. But I've done a lot of steep hikes so the gradient was not what I found most difficult. It was the the fact that I was scrambling in the middle of the rainforest for most of the hike, where the humidity is well over 90% and tempreature of around 30 degrees that I found tough. While you can come well prepared to hike the cold European and north American mountains, there's nothing you can do to prepare yourself for the humidity in this part of the world. This makes you sweat 20x more than you would normally and you get exhausted (and very thirsty) very quickly.

But despite all the physical challenge, this was an amazing trek. You don't see much open space in the first 60-70% of the hike and there were no clear trails. We had to rely on the markings in the forest trees and stumps. It definitely made me feel at one with the nature! The trek in the middle of the forest alone was quite amazing and the rewards at the end (the limestone pinnacle forrest) was just a very sweet icing on top of an already yummy moist cake!

Just be warned, you need to be physically quite fit to do this and it's definitely unsuitable for young children. Some parts of the hike were very slippery and can be dangerous. Especially the last few hundred metres where you practically need to do a bit of rock climbing!

But if you're at Mulu National Park, you're quite fit and you're umming and arring about doing this trek, my advice is DO IT!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mel_of_reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“High risk adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Please make sure you have enough exercise or trainning before trying out this trail. It is tougher than Mount Kinabalu due to sharp rocks and slippery. All the way climbing uphill to 2.4km and you will reach the top.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank goldenmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super Fun, Challenging and extremely Humid!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Yes, it was very tough and challenging BUT worth all the pain, cramps and scarpes every step of the climb. Alertness is paramount in every step, especially the last 400 meters which is quite tricky and slippery. Also on your way down especially when your legs start to tire that's when mistakes creep in... So be extra careful during descend. Also bring lots of water. I ran out of the 3.5 l at the 500M mark on the way down....had to struggle to focus and fight dehydration. Another thing is to wear rubber soled shoes that can can adapt to rocky terrain. Mine was with a hard synthetic sole which was 'almost' as good as wearing a ferragamo leather soled ;(... Especially during descend. Anyway, fantastic and worThwhile adventure! P.S. Buy insurance b4 climb ;)

Helpful?
Thank Gordon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“exhausting!! but FUN!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

since it was low tourist season we were afraid we wouldnt be able to do the pinnacle trek since there were just the 2 of us. but then 2 others also booked to trek. in high-season you should book further in advance to not be disappointed by fully booked treks. also you should first book the pinnacle trek and then your flights to mulu because the treks arent organised daily.

so at 9am we headed off with a longtail boat, stopping by the clearwater and wind cave, and arrived at the starting point to camp5 around noon. the 8km trail to camp 5 was very easy, you can do it in 2 hours. but there were lots of leaches,make sure to wear long pants and shirts and use repellent (also after catching a leach, they apperently let go after being sprayed on..)

at camp 5 the accomaodation is very basic but ok. bathrooms were surprisingly clean. do use a mosquito net! there is a nice very clear and refreshing river just next to the camp :) but otherwise there is not much to do, you should bring a book or cards.. theres a kitchen, but it was most convenient to bring snacks and instant noodles. after a small briefinf we went to bed early.

next day at 6:30 we started to hike. the incline of 50% started after just a few meters, where one of the girls decided to return to camp, so there were 3 of us left + our guide.

the first 900m to the "mini pinnacles" were just cruel!! in the few times i actually was able to catch my breath for a second i was thinking about turning around and going back. but then we reached the 900m mark (you need to reach the 900m mark within 1 hour after start to be "allowed" to continue) and took a 10min break. by this point we were all already covered in sweat completely. again a torture to the half-way-point at 1200m began. there, we took a short break again and left 1 bottle water each to have back-up on the way. at some point to the 2000m mark the incline was 70%. again, you need to reach 2000m before 11am to be allowed to continue. the last 400m are physically easier to manage but still take at least an hour because you need to climb ladders and over slippery, sharp limestone rocks. i dont think a climb like this and without safety equipment would be allowed anywhere in europe, but it wasnt that scary. but you need to make sure that youre thinking about every move and step you want to make, then its really fun making your way up!

around 10:30 we were at the top, admiring the pinnacles (yes, the view is like on the pics on the internet like a previous review describes, but come on, you cant compare a picture to that experience!!!!!!) and having "lunch" before headind down.

i have to say that even if everyone of us took 3 liters of water, my boyfriend had serious leg cramps at that time we reached the top. as medical students and people used to do workout/fitness: they were serious cramps! as he could not find a position (not even lying) in which they were bearble. so MAKE SURE TO DRINK not only water but coke etc.

the way down was almost harder than uphill. it took 1 hour of climbing down the ladders and slippery stones using your behind as a "5th limb" (as our guide said ;)) and 3 hours of torturing, knee-hurting trekking. the tiredness makes it difficult to focus on your steps so chances of injury increase.

but we made it back safely and it was a great feeling. some people say its kind of dangerous climbing the pinnacles and of course theres a risk of injury, but i never felt unsafe. though in the end i was worried about these increasing leg cramps my boyfriend experienced. we had to fill him up with loads of 100plus drinks and soup and do some serious muscle streching. putting him into the cold river also helped so after a while he was ok.

drink more than 3 liters of fluid and have fun :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 430travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pinnacles Trail also viewed

 

Been to The Pinnacles Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing