We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dillenia Guest House
Ranked #1 of 39 Miri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
WALTON ON THAMES
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My family stayed here for one night. We have been travelling for 11 months and this place is up there with the nicest places we have stayed. It is clean, laid out well and extremely well run. Mrs Lee is obviously a perfectionist, it shows in the communal area, as its all well thought out. Don't bother looking for other budget places just book in here. Thank you Mrs Lee, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    32
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
63
56
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We only planned to stay for 2 nights but extended to 3 once we got here and met Mrs.Lee. The guesthouse is very very clean and has a great lounge area where you can use the computers, watch tv or dvd's and use the kitchen facilities. There is free wifi through out the building and it is very fast. There is free breakfast with toast, and spreads and fruit. Free coffee and many different types of tea as well as drinking water are available 24 hours a day. We had a room with 2 single beds and shared bathroom which was always clean and had a blow dryer and soap and shampoo. Laundry services are also available. Mrs. Lee makes you feel welcomed from the minute you walk through the doors. She has an abundance of information about the area and surrounding areas and will not hesitate to give you direction or help in your planning. She can also arrange for transportation and she gave us contact information for a homestay in Mulu National Park. We've been traveling for over 3 months and this place we would put on the top of our list of places we have stayed so far. I would recommend it and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01Kelly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaseik, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed in Dilennia for just 2 nights, mainly to visit the Niah caves. Mrs Lee arranged for a transfer which costed 60RM, lunch included. This was excellent value for money, as independent travel would have costed as much, if not more, and would be less convenient. Mrs Lee knows all about the hotspots in Miri (not so many though). The hostel itself was very clean and tidy, bathroom facilities were good as well. The only remark I would make is that it doesn't seem to be a solo traveler's hostel, it's more a guest house for groups. For me it wasn't a problem because I didn't stay in Miri for too long, and this is not something the owners have control over. I enjoyed my stay a lot, with all the comforts a traveler needs.

Room Tip: Ear plugs as the A/C can get a bit loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gveugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place! Good clean rooms and spotlessly clean showers and bathroom. Mrs Lee, the owner, is a wonderful lady, doing almost everything for her guests. I highly recommend Dillenia Guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nipeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My experience with Dillenia started on the wrong foot when the owner turned up about half an hour late to let me into the guest house. Thankfully, it was all uphill from there. I stayed both in a private single room and a twin room, both of which were pleasantly clean (clean enough to be comfortable barefooted) and basic. I also enjoyed the fact that those rooms both had windows, though the large glass panels did warm the room up a bit unless you turn the aircon up (greenhouse effect).

The common toilets were very clean (I was somewhat taken by their handsome floor tiles) and somehow kept dry almost every time I visited them.

Aside from that, it's also a plus that the wifi was pretty fast (and free) even from the rooms. The legendary Mrs. Lee written all over other reviews did not disappoint in the hospitality department either.

I'd definitely come back here again if I need a place in Miri.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jklee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I can only confirm everything that is written in the previous post.

This location is absolutely amazing! And Mrs. Lee is unbelievably helpfull in everything you ask her.

As we flew into Miri very late (around 2230), she organised a pick-up for us for RM 20.
The next day we intended to go to Lambir Hills National Park. However, as we were on thight schedule we didn't want to take the bus until we get there. Mrs. Lee again offered us a pick-up which also waited for us there and brought us back (RM 40/pax).

And finally, as we were heading towards Bandar Seri Begawan, we again ask here, how to get there best.

There are two options: Either take the public bus (around 0800) or hop on a private car that does somehow a postal service between Miri and BSB. We opted for the second, and we were within 3hrs in BSB (RM 60/pax - almost the same price, as if you take taxi to bus station and then the bus to BSB).

Thank you Mrs. Lee for your help!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaeberli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spotlessly clean rooms and bathroom. Mrs Lee is really pleasant and helpful. Free wifi and two internet computers. Soap, shampoo and hairdryer supplied. The usual tea, coffee, toast and fruit included. Lots of good restaurants in easy walking distance. Had a really relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vagabond1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miri hotels
0.2 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nur
Hotel Nur
#7 of 31 in Miri
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#8 of 31 in Miri
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillenia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillenia Guest House

Property: Dillenia Guest House
Address: Lot 846 1st Floor Jalan Sida, Miri 98100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dillenia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dillenia Guest House Hotel Miri
Dillenia Guest House Miri, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing