We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room,good value,great food.”
Review of Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I love the recently renovated room. The price is affordable and value for money. The food is very satisfying. I stayed here twice and indeed I love it very much. Just one hiccups that this hotel have is the lighting at the basement parking. The basement needs more lights as it is quite dark. Overall, I love this hotel and did a function here. It is worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JordanJerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 43 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went for a weekend trip and stayed one night at this establishment. Staff service from start to leaving was exceptionally wonderful! They were very friendly, helpful and professional. Room wise, we were in the Superior Room on the 7th Floor. It looked like it was newly renovated.. It was clean and pleasant, having a view of the overhead bridge and some more distance away, the sea. The downside however was, there was no safe deposit box in the room. So we didn't dare to leave anything costly in the room when we went out. The bathroom was the shower type with sliding doors and a hair dryer. It was clean and like I said, newly refurbished. But the drain pipe next to the toilet kept overflowing from the shower water after a while. So the bathroom floor towel was constantly soaked.. Other than that.. everything else was ok..
Breakfast was so-so.. there wasn't much to choose from on the Saturday morning breakfast buffet layout.. was pretty disappointed on that.. But, F&B staff service was good. Location of this hotel is very strategic.. parking was no hassle too! Would I stay here again? Sure.. Staff service outshines the little uh-ohs! Cheers!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dgbanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hot running water, clean beds, good location for eating inside and out the hotel. Looking around Miri I'd say this is as good as you're going to get. Has everything you need.

If you're heading to the jungle enjoy your last piece of comfort!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RYCP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Dynasty Hotel must be avoided at all costs if you ever have the misfortune to find yourself in Miri. I would like to think if the management/owners of this hotel take the time to look at reviews they will be ashamed but if their staff are anything to go by, I doubt it. The staff, with the exception of a young bell-hop who always smiles and does his best, are the most surly, rude and disinterested hotel employess one could ever wish to come across. They have absolutely no idea how to serve or even be pleasant. I would particularly like to single out the young girl who prepares the eggs each morning. When she can be bothered to get off her mobile she may deign to cook an egg or two but she does it with such bad grace one really feels one shouldn't be putting her out. The rest of the breakfast is beyond bad; baked beans allowed to dry out and burn, watered down fruit juice, stewed coffee and all served with a scowl! On top of this the lift has been out of order for at least a week and the overall experience has left one wanting to throw oneself down the life-shaft just in order to maybe get the attention of the staff. DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL, it makes Fawlty Towers look like the Dorchester.

Room Tip: Don't stay there in the first place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dlt84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel seems central in Miri, rooms ok nothing flash but certainly clean along with toilet, staying here for three days working, was not impressed with restaurant on the first night, but just had lunch and have no complaints with the food, good laundry service, usual room service.
One lift seems to be in the middle of a revamp.
Dynasty hotel is a world apart from the Somerset hotel I stayed in last month which is just next door, no comparison come here for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G3VVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Dynasty Hotel is a 3-star grade hotel and it has 132 spacious rooms, furbished in soft colors and well equipped with modern facilities. The Hotel also has a Fitness Centre with sauna and steam bath located on the 2nd Floor. The Hotel has 3 good food and beverages outlets namely Café Rosita Coffee House, Dynasty Chinese Restaurant, and Manhattan Lounge and Garden. The Dynasty Chinese Restaurant was considered one of the better (not the best but decent one) chinese restaurant in Miri, and it was always the favorite venue for weddings. Food was good and prices were reasonable.
The Hotel has been operating for also 20 years now, and as far as I know, they are still maintaining the level of service and quality as they did all the previous years.
Even though I never stayed overnight in this hotel, I had friends who did, and they all had good things to say about this hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean, the service was good, the staffs were nice and friendly, and everything in the hotel was well-maintained.
When I was living in Miri, I used to frequent the restaurants and the bar lounge after work and on weekends. I also knew that flight crew of Malaysia Airlines used to stay in this hotel (but not sure if they still do until today). Anyway, I've included a review of Dynasty Hotel for visitors to Miri to have an option to stay near the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helenz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

It has been quite sometime when I last visited Miri. A year plus or may be almost two years. As the trip is arranged by my principal everything is prebooked. From flight to accomodation it is well taken care of.

Arriving at the airport, I was chaffuered to Dynasty Hotel Miri for two nights that I am here.

Checking in is a breeze, the usual ID request and signing documents registering your stay. The front office counter is very long to begin with. I was told the hotel has just been refurbished and all the rooms are new. The first thing I noticed is the room key which is a manual key with a large keychain meant for electric supply.

Going up the elevator, no security requirement to access the floor your room is located. Remeber, it was a manual key. When I reach the room it was a surprise as the door is unlocked. I thought someone is in the room. However after opening the door the room is ready for occupancy.

My first impression about the room is the size. It was so spacious for a superior room. It can easily accommodate eight adult with extra mattresses. There is a two seater sofa, a nice working table and a dresser in the room.

The washroom is also big with bath tub and the usual amenities you would find at a four star hotel even this is not one.

Breakfast was included and they have good selection of international and local offerings. However the menu seems to be similar during my two nights stay at this hotel.

Overall it is nice hotel for big family where space is very much appreciated.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank MHasni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miri hotels
4.7 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#6 of 31 in Miri
193 reviews
3.9 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
4.6 mi away
Meritz Hotel
Meritz Hotel
#9 of 31 in Miri
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
4.6 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#8 of 31 in Miri
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dynasty Hotel

Address: Lot 683 ,Block 9, Jalan Pujnt-Lutong, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price Range: $30 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dynasty Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dynasty Hotel Miri, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing