We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mega Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Reviewed November 17, 2013

One major issue I would like to point out is that the fire escape/staircase doors from the conference room at 4th floor are locked all the way down to at least 2nd floor where I stayed. One can't help but wonder what would happen in the event where the lifts malfunction or even worse, a fire breaks out. I certainly hope the staircase doors at ground level is not locked, otherwise this hotel is an accident waiting to happen. Plus, there's something wrong with the lift system. One of the lifts do not go to 2nd floor (only 4th floor onwards if I'm not mistaken) and this had caused a great inconvenience throughout my stay as my room was on that level. I certainly would think twice if I want to book a room in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't stay at 2nd floor. One of the lifts doesn't stop there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 194 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stay for 2 nite on weekend as i attand friend wedding at hotel ballroom..I had pleasent stay as room was clean and very comfortable. Located near to shopping mall and restaurants, make this hotel complete as very conveniance.

View was nice overlooking to south china see as i get high floor as per request..thanks to FOA team. Not try much on other hotel facilities as i was out most of the time.

Overall good hotel to stay in miri. will come back again. Good job

Room Tip: Higher floors will get more nice view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airtravel2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed few nights. We had nice and a pleasant stay. The room was huge and very clean with two king size bed. It was so peaceful sleep. The hotel is situated in the heart of the city. shopping malls n restaurants are walking distance from the hotel. Breakfast at the hotel is everage. Overall good place to stay if in Miri. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leisure93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

3 nights stay in this hotel was very comfortable with 2 beds (1 king & 1 queen size) occupying the room and yet still very spacious. I also like the facilities in the bathroom - it's comparable to a 5-star hotel. Location wise is right in the city so can just walk to shopping malls, shops and restaurants. Although the breakfast were not that excellent but good enough to fill in your tummy in the morning.
In general, the ambience of this hotel particularly the lobby is great. Will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah41KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a night while in transit to Brunei. The hotel is located right in the city centre with loads of eating and shopping options close by. The rooms are quite big with a good view of the seas from the higher floors. Staff was very prompt with my needs....wifi wasn't working and they provided a router which connected to LAN connection in the room. Room service was good with a wide array of cuisines available....however it could do with some new items. Breakfast buffet was more suited to local palate. On the whole a good hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 1 night in this hotel. The rooms are large and the bed is king size. If you need a good hotel at a central location, this hotel will be more than sufficient. Also used the small fitness room, good to stay in shape.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joost V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had been staying in very basic accommodation in Penang up until our 2 night visit to Miri - so maybe our warm response to the Mega was more a reflection of our previous privations! - nevertheless we loved the Mega: beds were MASSIVE, rooms large and clean, staff friendly and breakfast buffet nicely done. Contrary to some previous reviews we found both the broadband (plug in cable) and wifi very good - uploaded photos etc quite quickly. Mega is centrally located and surrounded by cheap and tasty food options; the Ming café opposite is cheap and cheerful or can venture down side streets for authentic local experience (even fresh frog if you desire!) If your view is "city" you will see the bustling river with supply ships putting out to South China Sea to service offshore oil rigs. Taxi fare (coupon system) from airport 20MR. The hotel seemed well patronised by both visiting maintenance crews and families with young children. The décor may be a little dated but has its own comfortable charm. May be worth checking the brand new ritzy Meritz hotel as their "walk in" rates were same as Mega when we asked.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miri hotels
0.3 mi away
Meritz Hotel
Meritz Hotel
#9 of 31 in Miri
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
1.5 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mega Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mega Hotel

Address: Lot 907, Jalan Merbau | P.O.Box 1165, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price Range: $33 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mega Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mega Hotel Miri is a 4-star hotel centrally located in the business, entertainment and shopping hubs of Miri Resort City and only fifteen minutes drive from the airport. Whether in Miri City for business or pleasure, Mega Hotel is the perfect choice.It has 293 guest rooms fully equipped with modern days amenities, 3 food and beverage outlets, a ballroom that can accommodates up to 1200 persons on theatre-style sitting and 6 other venues for smaller group seminars. The business centre offers secretarial service, which includes photocopying, facsimile services and computer facilities. RECREATIONAL FACILITIES: The gym is equipped with basic gym equipment which provides a great venue to sweat it out and to distress. After a hectic day at work, enjoy a refreshing dip in our swimming pool, then complete your relaxation with an invigorating sauna or enjoy a soothing massage at our health centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mega Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mega Hotel Miri, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing