We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in center of Miri with tired rooms”
Review of Mega Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mega Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hotel in center of Miri with tired rooms”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed for a night at the Mega and was given a room on the 10th floor. The room was unfortunately tired, with the mattress having little bounce and the pillows quite flat. Even the bath towels looked like they've better days.

Internet in the room is slow - OK for e-mails and not much else.

For breakfast, the choices were mainly local food, which is fine with me as the nasi lemak they served was pretty good.

Overall, if the price is good I may stay there again, but there are now better options in Miri town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyMatter_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    80
    67
    11
    3
See reviews for
45
29
18
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed there for one night for quick stop-over while on my way to Bandar Seri Begawan. I was flattered to learn that I was being allowed to check-in early and then was upgraded to a Deluxe Room ~ Thank you Alice for your courteousness and efficiency in handling my booking.
Indeed ~ room was huge with pleasant view overlooking the harbor. Clean, tidy, well kept, complete bathroom amenities and modestly decorated. To my surprise, a complimentary fruit basket was being delivered to my room an hour after I arrived. How thoughtful.
All facilities were on good working condition except for the slow Wi-Fi. But it was okay as I didn't need much of internet excess while on transit.
Breakfast was excellent with generous spread and speedy replenishment. Duty Managers were always at the Lobby to offer assistance.
All in all ~ I recommend this hotel to those who plan to travel to Miri. I will definitely stay there again and hope they can maintain their standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingRomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarawak
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel looked liked it was probably built a few generations ago by a Chinese family. The deco & interior design all reflect this. Something different from more modern hotels around its price range. However, I have to say the hotel is very well maintained. Everything in my room was functioning although it does look like decades old technology. I agree with previous reviewers when they say that the rooms are big. A single room could easily be the size of twin rooms in some hotels. Wouldn't need all that extra space though. Still, its a nice feeling.
The internet via Ethernet cable was really fast. Hot & cold water present throughout the day & night. Great view of Miri out the windows.
The reception staff were quick in processing my check in & check out. They are also very helpful in the lifts. They will press the buttons for you, hold the door for you & let you step out first even though some of them look like really senior staff. Exemplary courtesy.
This hotel is also very near many shophouses for an easy breakfast or snacks & within walking distance (15 min walk) of several malls as well as the city centre.
Someone asked me to buy Codonopsis Root 黨參 (Dang Shen). Apparently Miri has some of the best in Sarawak. You can find it in traditional herbal shops a few blocks away behind the hotel. It's not cheap though. RM20 for a small pack.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarodYJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in Mega for three nights. No complains on the size of the room- it was big! All's good except there was a noise that comes from the door area. Could be some electronic problems but on the first night it was rather creepy. We ignored it though the noise was still there for the rest of our stay. Bath tub was surprisingly clean in appearance. We had our meals at the Chinese restaurant ad coffee house. I love the selection of salads as I m not a meat person. Breakfast was ok. Nothing to shout about but no complaints either. The hotel is situated at the heart of happenings. Though we were at the 10th floor, the music from nearby entertainment outlest was - loud! Imagine you have to listen to loud "Oppa Gangnam style" half a dozen times a night! Plenty of eating places nearby. Selection and reception of the TV channels can be greatly improved.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back, unless you like free music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel called "MEGA" which means "HUGE" ... and it is really huge ... wide spacious lobby area and the rooms . Stayed at the deluxe room ,... and the room really deluxe with a king bed , newly refurbished and a lot space in the room . It is also well located at city center . Walking distant to river banks where you can find the famous "sarawak cake" shop . It is also near to food stalls where you can dine.. especially " nasi ayam lelapan " . Will come back here again !

Room Tip: Ask for city view .... nice view especially at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wazaruha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

well located, clean and nice hotel, like the food and also rooms are clean and with all basic facility which a business person need...... free internet...nice bed with pillow.........staff also reasonablly good

Room Tip: any room...all are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank poddar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I first stayed here in 2009 for two weeks, and again in 2010 before making my recent trip to Miri on the 20th June 2012. What I like about the Mega Hotel is its location and what can be found in the vicinity. Banks are within walking distance, there are food stalls open at night across the road.

Rooms are spacious, comes with TV, complimentary coffee and tea and free wifi. Please ask for the wifi password when you check-in. There is a nice Chinese restaurant on level 4 as well as a coffee house on the ground floor. There is also a 24-hour convenience shop just outside while a gymnasium is located on level 11.

The hotel isn't new, however, and on my last stay I could smell rust in the water from the sink in Room 1411. I hope something could be done about it.

Anyway, do enjoy the pool. It is located on the 4th floor. Since it overlooks the Miri Anchorage and the South China Sea, the best time to be there is from 5pm through 7pm when the pool closes. This is when I normally bring my camera with me to take shots of the setting sun.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miri hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
1.0 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#6 of 31 in Miri
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mega Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mega Hotel

Property: Mega Hotel
Address: Lot 907, Jalan Merbau | P.O.Box 1165, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mega Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mega Hotel Miri is a 4-star hotel centrally located in the business, entertainment and shopping hubs of Miri Resort City and only fifteen minutes drive from the airport. Whether in Miri City for business or pleasure, Mega Hotel is the perfect choice.It has 293 guest rooms fully equipped with modern days amenities, 3 food and beverage outlets, a ballroom that can accommodates up to 1200 persons on theatre-style sitting and 6 other venues for smaller group seminars. The business centre offers secretarial service, which includes photocopying, facsimile services and computer facilities. RECREATIONAL FACILITIES: The gym is equipped with basic gym equipment which provides a great venue to sweat it out and to distress. After a hectic day at work, enjoy a refreshing dip in our swimming pool, then complete your relaxation with an invigorating sauna or enjoy a soothing massage at our health centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mega Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mega Hotel Miri, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing