We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic accomodations”
Review of Hotel London

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandakan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel London
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Spent several nights here while visiting some sites around Sandakan. Clean rooms (albeit it a bit small). Basic breakfast. WiFi only working in lobby area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoulderTravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 64 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights.The room was quite basic with dated furniture but was clean.The A/C worked and we had satellite TV - only 2 channels in english.
Breakfast was included and served on the roof terrace - toast,bananas,tea and coffee.
We didnt notice any noise from the mosque.
It was only a 10 min walk to the harbour. The area is quite poorly lit at night, so bring a torch if walking alone.
To go to Sepilogue it is easy to catch Bus 14 which will drop you right inside the rehab centre for orangutans.Feeding times are 10am and 3pm. On the way back the bus will pick you up from inside the centre,the guest house have the timetable.Much cheaper to do this way.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We booked the Hotel London via email a few days before arriving. It is a decent hotel just blocks from the waterfront. Our room was nice, and the staff was generally friendly as well. You have to pay to use the computers there. The street it was on could have used more lighting at night. We tried to be in before dark, but the restaurants we ate at were a bit farther away. A nice thing they've done is post some photos and information about the wildlife you can spot on the hillside behind the building.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Stayed just one night; Michael was very helpful, room was clean and comfy (tv, ac, comfy bed, hot shower)... Didn't bother me that didn't have a lift, it's only a couple of flights of stairs - not everest!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llooxxlleeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Reading the reviews on this site I figured hotel london would be fine for a night or two. It is rated on various websites as the top budget place in Sandakan.

We booked for 4 nights and stayed for 1. We would have left within a few hours of checking in but I suppose I'm on a budget and didn't want to lose the night I'd paid for (silly I know, but it was bearable).

The staff are really lovely and the hotel is kinda cute. It looks nothing like the photo online. When the taxi stopped at the door I told him he'd taken us to the wrong hotel. It certainly looks like it's on the wrong side of town, but it's only a few blocks up from the markets etc.

My main issues are:
(a) the mattress was all hard steel springs, it was like sleeping on .. well, like sleeping on solid coils, no foam. Ouch. I could bear it on my side but was so sore in the morning.
(b) breakfast all gone by the time we arrived (before the advertised end of breakfast)
(c) no elevator, may flights of steep stairs (we were on 4th floor). This is not a big issue for fit backpackers but we are on a round the world trip with heavy suitcases. Luckily they did help us with the bags.

So look, that's just a little whinge. If you are on a tight budget, it's OK.

We checked out Hotel Sandakan which is only 100 metres (300 ft) away. They have an internet special at the moment, it's cheapest to book through their website and not through booking sites (but you should compare of course). Anyway my point is that for an extra RM 60 ($15) or so (together, not each), we got a really deluxe room in a fine, almost luxurious hotel. It was so worth it.

Just thought I'd post it in the hope of creating balanced views.

I travel full time and yep, I'm full of opinions. Feel free to contact me.
Simon

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Hotel London offers a excellent budget accomodation, With really helpful Staff, even offered breakfast at 5.30 am. Rooms are simple and clean, with free WIFI

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Sparkling clean, friendly, central and inexpensive, the London is all the non-resort traveller needs when exploring the Sandakan environs or preparing for more 'off-road' experiences. Being long-standing members of the community, the Heng family know where to direct the adventurous visitor for outstanding excursions at sensible rates, after starting the day with breakfast in the roof-garden overlooking the bustling town, made known to many by Agnes Keith and her novel 'Land below the Wind'. Her house is nearby.
Brian Cleary
Athens, Greece

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianfromAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
3.1 mi away
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
#24 of 33 in Sandakan
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Sandakan
41 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#10 of 33 in Sandakan
23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel London

Address: Lot D1-D2, Block 10, Jalan Empat, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: $18 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel London was established in 1975. By 2006, the hotel management renovated the hotel completely. All the new rooms are furnished with new furniture. The hotel is located in the heart of Sandakan Town. The hotel facilities include Internet Access Corner, Rooftop Garden, Internet Access from room (upon enquiry) , Air Conditioned Room, Satellite TV, TV in every room, and hot water bath. One of the major attractions in this hotel is the Roof Top Garden. It is a perfect place for guests to rest and have some reading while hearing the sounds of the waterfall from the pond. This hotel is an ideal choice for travellers that come in Budget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
London Hotel Sandakan
Hotel London Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing