We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great basic stay value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel London

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandakan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel London
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great basic stay value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed 4 nights . Rooms were huge with tv, ac ensuite. Large bathroom. Towels provided and soap. Great free breakfast on the roof. Good location just 2 mins to town. Great food on the water front and for a great sunset view get to the nac hotel rooftop bar.
Sandakan good for turtle island visits. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwilea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
32
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and we where surprised the size of the rooms and the cleanliness - both exceeded our expectations.
We especially enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace each morning with the pool of terrapins.
On a personal note Sandakan is not one of the most appealling cities to stay in but it is home to some of the most friendly people we have ever met and is an excellent gateway to other attractions.

Room Tip: get a room on the lower floors as wifi can be dodgy on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daviddwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Hotel London was surprisingly good value for the 65 RM we paid for a twin room. It's in walking distance of everything in Sandakan, even the Agnes Keith house, if you're good at hill walking.
Breakfast is included on the roof garden, but it's nothing special, hardly worth the trek up the stairs (no elevator)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zooey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. We had a room on the 2nd floor facing the back. There was no view as it was overlooking a storage area. The room was clean and attached toilet was clean. The room had tv. I would suggest to get a room on the 3rd floor facing the hill at the back, as it was beautiful with a small garden. There is no elevator, however. We didn't hear any prayers at all from the mosque.

The hotel also has a safe gated parking area for a few cars. The roof top garden is where breakfast is served. Breakfast is self-served, with toast and coffee/tea. There is free wifi throughout the hotel. It is a short walk from the busy downtown streets.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kutepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
259 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights after 5 nights on the Kinabatangan river.It is in town with wi-fi and free breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank updog247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

we stayed at the sandakan hotel for 1 night then went to turtle island, and hadnt booked anywhere for the next night. a couple we had met suggested the london hotel as it was about 15usd a night, compared to the 65 usd at the previous hotel.
the room was fine, its nothing flash for what you pay, we have never stayed in such a cheap place so we were a bit unsure, however we thought it was fine.
the BIG DOWN SIDE is that its right next to the mosque. who have pray ceremonies over loud speakers until around 10 or 11 at night and then again from like 4am onwards. this really didnt help us get any sleep.
so for 1 night id say its fine, but for more than that, maybe try else where.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekahtarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurstbridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

London Hotel is OK, little walk to centre town. Staff friendly but not too knowledgeable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieflicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0.1 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#28 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel Sandakan
Central Hotel Sandakan
#24 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Ramai
#13 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel London

Property: Hotel London
Address: Lot D1-D2, Block 10, Jalan Empat, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel London was established in 1975. By 2006, the hotel management renovated the hotel completely. All the new rooms are furnished with new furniture. The hotel is located in the heart of Sandakan Town. The hotel facilities include Internet Access Corner, Rooftop Garden, Internet Access from room (upon enquiry) , Air Conditioned Room, Satellite TV, TV in every room, and hot water bath. One of the major attractions in this hotel is the Roof Top Garden. It is a perfect place for guests to rest and have some reading while hearing the sounds of the waterfall from the pond. This hotel is an ideal choice for travellers that come in Budget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
London Hotel Sandakan
Hotel London Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing