We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NAK Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$12
$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
$31
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$43
$36
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sandakan(Sandakan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanbay Hotel(Sandakan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveler rating
49
174
77
27
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
174
77
27
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantgreat rooftop barchinese furnitureincluded breakfastnasi lemaklimited choicesea viewbudget hotellinbathharbourkettle
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 332 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Booked 2 nights family room. Spacious with 2 single and 1 Queen. Other than this, no other merit.

The room was dusty, the floor was like never mopped before. The furniture were old, maybe they want to decorate the room the antique style but it should be cleaned.

The beds were springy when we turn from side to side. the boiler has strong rubber smell after using it. We asked for change and the replacement is still having the same problem.

No WIFI in the room, only available in the lobby and rooftop bar. Staff not so friendly. Never care to help us with the door even we carried a big luggage when we checked out. They only helped us with the luggage when we first arrived.

Water heater is not the instant type. We have to wait for 10min after switched on for 10 min. After shower for about 10 min, it getting cold again.

Hotel should install instant heating heater and not the boiling type.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhiyun08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the NAK hotel for one night at the end of three weeks in Borneo. The room was spacious, well equipped, very clean and we loved the mid-century styling. The staff were very helpful - printing off my boarding pass for me and even ringing me up to remind me to send it to them. The rooftop bar is excellent and the breakfast delicious. If you've spent some time in the jungle whilst in Borneo we definitely recommend treating yourself to a bit of luxury and a cocktail at hotel NAK before you go home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryony5225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Prices starts from RM88 per night, which is cheap, considering the cleanliness of the room and completeness of the amenities provided. The hotel is conveniently located near the town and the waterfront, so it is relatively easy to look for food. If it is too hot to venture the town, you can always hide in the rooftop restaurant, which gives the best view of Sandakan and the food is considerably ok. If you are driving, the hotel provides a private parking for guests. Just ask the reception for information.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NELLICIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I find it interesting that the Nak is rated higher than the Sabah on trip advisor. I just stayed in both of them and there's NO camparison. Yes, the Nak might be a better location but it's old, dirty and used up. The Sabah is beautiful, lovely pool with trees and water falls and the rooms are clean and big. It is also a short walk to town or a short taxi ride. I loved having lunch served me as I sat by the pool

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

the people here were very friendly and helpful with onward travel the rooms not too bad for the price every thing worked but as a little bit sad old.
the roof top restaurant was the cherry on the cake so to speak both indoor air con seating for the day and outside for the evenings .too high for the mozzies to get at.
good food and a vast choice well presnted..
just around the corner from the harbour with seaviews from the front rooms.
just around another corner are some beauty saloons. Why do you need to know that ? they do that lighted splint in the earhole thing to clean out your ears before going diving to help them clear easy .
lots of shops around for stocking up on goodies before heading out to the jungle
theres a bar open to 3am on the harbour side in case of power cuts see choosing rooms

Room Tip: pick a rooom facing the road for sea views .back rooms on 3rd floor have the emergency generators out side them as we found out during a power cut
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timberaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews