We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel highly recommended”
Review of NAK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NAK Hotel
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel highly recommended”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We had 3 nights in Sandakan and booked 1 night here. We then stated somewhere else the second night but were back quick smart on the third night. Room was clean, staff were very friendly and the price included breakfast and welcome drinks. Slightly annoying that wifi is only available in the foyer or bar but the bar is so lovely it's a nice place to relax. Try the mocktails! Only other negative was a wonky bath that wasn't connected to the wall properly

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webbsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    171
    68
    26
    5
See reviews for
38
153
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donsol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the roof bar despite the price was 58 USD per night.

I was charged for 100 RM deposit when I checked in, it was quite a surprise to me since I always pre-pay thru agoda.

The room was facing a city fair and bus stop, can you imagine how noisy it was even there were two layers of glass windows to stop the soundwave?

Well, they don't help at all as the AC sounds like tractor motor when turned on.

No wifi in room and only CRT TV set has only 6 channels in poor quality

The shower room was wet all the time with no toothbrush or toothpaste provide. Hairdryer feels like it would burn itself and your hand anytime. The shower curtain was dotted with mouldy marks, feel so disgusting, the whole toilet smells mouldy all the time

We didn't get to visit the roof bar as it was raining from time to time, the roof was closed.

Breakfast was very disappointed with only two choices american/banana pancake and neither of them are with good quality.

Yes the deposit worked as I lost one room card and it worth 50 RM.

The line was always busy if you need any assistance.

Worst experience in my travel in SEA

It was a terrible experience to me

Room Tip: Try other places
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIYUANMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the nak hotel for one night and all was great.
Service was great and they helped us booking a taxi.
Room was spacious and clean and well decorated. Just the bath was a bit unstable. And we had view on the water.
The rooftop is great giving a fantastic view on the water. We also had a nice meal of pizza and pasta. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlainrlgMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We chose the Nak Hotel due to the Reviews here despite it was not even listed in our guide. It was a good choice!
The rooms are big and clean and well-equipped with a fridge and aircon. The warm water is working.
Last but not least, the rooftop Bai Lin Bar is by far the best drinking and eating place in the city.
We paid 138 RM (35 €) per night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnymab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Rooms have a nice design. Very spacious and comfortable.
Breakfast is a little bit too light.
The roof terrace is amazing you can spend a whole day there!restaurant is quiet expensive for you what you get.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexia_alessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Nak hotel is a lovely affordable hotel with a great restaurant and rooftop bar. We enjoyed the breakfast, dinner and dessert very much during our stay. Very nice staff to greet us when we arrived. Overall, I would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaceForLife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Not much more to add to other reviews. Rooms were big, clean, comfortable with some of the nicest bedsheets I've had the pleasure of sleeping under. Great location almost exactly halfway along the Sandekan seafront. Extraordinarily helpful staff on reception. Fantastic food and atmosphere in the rooftop bar/restaurant, but sadly the service staff up there let it down a bit. They also put on an excellent Halloween party during our stay. Very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Double rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrycoke106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
524 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
590 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NAK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NAK Hotel

Property: NAK Hotel
Address: Hotel Nak Jalan Pelabuhan, Sandakan 90708, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NAK Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest, purpose-built hotel in Sandakan. Family run since 1966. Retains the old and embraces the new - a hotel brimming with cultural detail and interest. Situated in the centre of town. Nestled among all the commercial buildings, banks, airline offices, and next to central market and bus station. Less than 2km from the jetty, and boat rides to islands such as Lankayan, Turtle island and Berhala island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your NAK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NAK Hotel Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing