We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NAK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NAK Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Nak hotel is a lovely affordable hotel with a great restaurant and rooftop bar. We enjoyed the breakfast, dinner and dessert very much during our stay. Very nice staff to greet us when we arrived. Overall, I would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaceForLife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    171
    67
    24
    3
See reviews for
36
153
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Not much more to add to other reviews. Rooms were big, clean, comfortable with some of the nicest bedsheets I've had the pleasure of sleeping under. Great location almost exactly halfway along the Sandekan seafront. Extraordinarily helpful staff on reception. Fantastic food and atmosphere in the rooftop bar/restaurant, but sadly the service staff up there let it down a bit. They also put on an excellent Halloween party during our stay. Very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Double rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrycoke106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Rooms are clean and big. Good value for money and the rooftop bar is a place you want to sit all night. Breakfast is great and the menu in the bar is a welcome change of food.
Service is also good. Only minor point, is that the showers could be better. But its well compensated due to the other advantages.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed fro two nights at the Nak and were throroughly impressed with our lovely large and spacious room. The room was clean, conveniently located for Sandakan town and the waterfront. Breakfast was also great and included in the room price. The rooftop bar is really really nice, sadly it was raining on our night of arrival but still lovely indoors too. Also enjoy cheap eats ont he waterfront restaurants - I had a beautiful curry for RM7 with rice!

The staff were also really helpful and friendly, thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddycat
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night after leaving the jungle, before going to Lankayan Island the next day. We stayed in the Tranquility Suite which was perfectly clean and a nice large room and bathroom. View of sea out of the window, not that you will be in your room for long with the amazing rooftop garden and bar.
We did find water on the bathroom floor which appeared be leaking from somewhere, and a quick word to reception sorted it while we were out.
We ate lunch and dinner at the rooftop bar, and all meals were delicious and reasonably priced. We also worked our way through a fair few cocktails, which were also lovely and not too expensive. The rooftop bar filled up at night, and is definately the place to go in Sandakan in the evenings.
Would definatly recommend this hotel if you need to stay in Sandakan!

Room Tip: Tranquility Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toddycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Nak was in a great location, close to banks, waterfront, bus terminal and shops. Views of the waterfront from higher rooms and roof top bar were excellent. Complimentary breakfast was more than adequate and very tasty. This a great value hotel with excellent service, friendly and helpful staff and clean, comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Request rooms on the higher levels: they are quieter and can offer lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozbreezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Nak was a convenient option for a day's break in Sandakan between rainforest and island stays. It's central position, clean rooms, good service and rooftop bar/cafe all added up to a very pleasant stay. The food at the bar was fresh and tasty and it made for a great position for an early evening drink. Sandakan itself is not the most attractive place but a few attractions such as Agnes Keith house and the Sandakan War Memorial Garden are worth visiting and can be seen in a day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wal1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.2 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.5 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NAK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NAK Hotel

Property: NAK Hotel
Address: Hotel Nak Jalan Pelabuhan, Sandakan 90708, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NAK Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest, purpose-built hotel in Sandakan. Family run since 1966. Retains the old and embraces the new - a hotel brimming with cultural detail and interest. Situated in the centre of town. Nestled among all the commercial buildings, banks, airline offices, and next to central market and bus station. Less than 2km from the jetty, and boat rides to islands such as Lankayan, Turtle island and Berhala island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your NAK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NAK Hotel Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing