We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a great location and nice rooftop bar & restaurant”
Review of NAK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NAK Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel has the perfect location in Sandakan right in the centre. The staff was very pleasant and they helped us out a lot by letting us leave our bags with them for 1 and a half days while were exploring Turtle Island and Orang uutan sanctuary. The roof top bar is a lovely place to relaxafter a busy day and the food and drinks are good too. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sokilenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 325 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel was great value for money, had clean spacious rooms, staff were really helpful and friendly - we liked everything about it. By far the best thing about it is the rooftop bar - absolutely loved it! We spent an entire afternoon eating and drinking out there on the lounges - was fantastic. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in the tranquility Suite Room for 3 nights while in the Sandakan region and were very pleased by EVERY aspect of this place.

Staff was kind, well informed, and always there to help,

Room was very clean, spacious and had a good AC

Location of the hotel is very good to have a look at anything in the region (although a bit noisy outside even through the windows)

Restaurant on the 7th floor is AMAZING with GREAT ambiance.

What more can you ask for,

Definitely recommend to anyone and will stop by again if passing through Sandakan

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2ExplorersIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

This was one of the best low price hotel we stayed. The roof bar is just amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but clean. We would recommend this hotel.
Greetings Andy & Erika Bossert

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two night with a family of 5. Great value. Location a bit noisy - rooms clean and service good. Certainly good value for money.

The BEST BEST thing about the hotel is the rooftop bar and restaurant. Great value for money and delicious food. To watch the sun set with a cocktail was a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamNaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very pleasant stay at Nak hotel. Paid a bit extra for 'sea views'. Not really worth it due to small windows from soviet style architecture. Reception Staff very friendly and helpful. Fantastic roof bar and restaurant. Only downside was cleaning staff who seemed a bit hopeless. Our bathroom had lots of stains on the tiles, bit disconcerting. Then again, it is not a 5 star hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank green_travels_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at this place in August. Very strategic position to explore the city of Sandakan and for starting trips to Sepilok. Simple rooms, very comfortable and cleaned. The roof on the top of the hotel is so cool, good cocktails. Rich breakfast with delicious banana cake!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomaSniky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
655 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
544 reviews
1.8 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#21 of 33 in Sandakan
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 33 in Sandakan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NAK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NAK Hotel

Address: Hotel Nak Jalan Pelabuhan, Sandakan 90708, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: $24 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — NAK Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest, purpose-built hotel in Sandakan. Family run since 1966. Retains the old and embraces the new - a hotel brimming with cultural detail and interest. Situated in the centre of town. Nestled among all the commercial buildings, banks, airline offices, and next to central market and bus station. Less than 2km from the jetty, and boat rides to islands such as Lankayan, Turtle island and Berhala island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your NAK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NAK Hotel Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing