We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Rain Forest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Suffolk, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Rain Forest”
Reviewed November 7, 2008

A reasonably priced, very comfortable hotel. After 3 days at Uncle Tan's jungle camp it was a treat to stay here. We had not prebooked and found the price very reasonable. Our children aged 9 & 11 years loved the swimming pool. A big tip if staying at this hotel is to get a piece of cake from the coffee shop to take back to your room. Not only is the cake lovely, its half price if taken away!
The rooms are spacious with a very heavy 70's style. Breakfast was great and included in the room price.
Easily the best hotel in Sandakan and although not in town, its just a short taxi ride away.
The English Tea Garden is very close and another nice, colonial style place to eat at.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Must smell caused by AirCon
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank snoe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    242
    129
    29
    15
See reviews for
107
220
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here for just 1 night as we were moving on after visiting Sepilok Orangutan centre. The hotel claims to be the only 4* hotel in Sandakan although having stayed there I don't really understand why it's not a 5*. The staff are incredibly helpful, polite and efficient, the facilities are excellent, including tennis and squash courts, a gym and even it's own nature trail, and our room was very large with a really comfortable bed. We had a lovely view over the pool and gardens behind it although we were only on the 4th of 7 floors.

The restaurant served both set meals and a buffet with a wide variety of choice and the food was really good. The entertainment was limited, consisting of a duo who serenaded the diners (a little embarassing) as we ate our evening meal in order to drum up an audience for their performance in the bar later. We went up there afterwards and found ourselves in the audience of six. Intimate!

We were really sad to leave after only one night and found ourselves thinking of excuses to visit Borneo again for a week or two just so we could stay here the whole time. Considering we live half way round the world I think that tells you everything about this hotel. The value for money here is unbeatable and you should definately stay here.

  • Liked — Large pool and value for money
  • Disliked — Mozzies down in the nature trail
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alimac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK (soon to be Brisbane)
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Tour with Titan Hitours - Borneo Adventure - March 2006

This was the last hotel we stayed in on our Borneo trip. This is a great hotel, the entrance well maintained.
The staff are very friendly.
Rooms are really good size.
The pool area fab!
The restaurant good choice of food breakfast, lunch and dinner

Would definitely stay here again 10/10

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank newlife_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

If you are staying in Sandakan we recommend this hotel ,having made the mistake of first booking the Sandakan hotel and changing to this hotel, the Sabah Hotel was heaven , a very nice entrance to this hotel set on top of a hill in a rain forest setting,with the pool set in the centre of the hotel ,a good restaurant and a nite club serviing cocktails and alcoholic drinks ( some hotels in this area do not serve alcohol being muslim ),The hotel has clean spacious rooms with good sized marble bathrooms and the staff helpful and friendly

  • Liked — clean and in a pleasant setting
  • Disliked — hard beds
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lanaQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

We stayed at the Sabah hotel for 3 nights as as base to visit the wildlife sights in Borneo. Although the hotel is a little tired in some areas (toilets, restaurants) it is by far the best option if you want to stay in Sandakan before or after a tour. It's location is a little out of town (which is a good thing!) though you can walk to the town in about 15 minutes. The rooms have been redecorated recently and are large, with large bathrooms including both bath and separate shower. The pool area, though in need of an upgrade in certain areas, is relaxing, and there are slides for the kids to play on. The gym is quite small but hardly anyone was using it when we were there so there was always enough equipment to go around. The food in the restaurant is expensive for the area, and while ok, we enjoyed that at the English Tea House up the road much better. The staff at the Sabah hotel are friendly and went out of their way to help us whenever we needed anything. If you need to stay in Sandakan, this hotel is definitely the best choice!

  • Liked — large rooms, nice pool
  • Disliked — some areas looking a bit tired and in need of an upgrade
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kateSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

We stayed here on our way to Sepilok, I booked through an online agent on a no cancellation policy costing me 40 pounds sterling per night. I thought this was good value. The breakfast was very good with a large selection. The hotel itself is clean and has a nice pool area. There is little to do in Sandakan so we spent a lot of time by the pool. Sandakan is also not especially attractive and fortunately this hotel is located on a hill out of the city centre (about a 10 minute walk or cheap taxi ride).

The hotel could do with some refurbishment as the décor is a bit 70’s but the room was comfortable and well equipped. There was entertainment in the evenings which we avoided but which seemed to please lots of guests.

There is a café called the rainforest café which serves fresh bread sandwiches, trust me, after 2 weeks in Borneo eating ‘plastic’ bread this was heaven!

The hotel has a well equipped gym.

I would recommend this hotel and think it is probably the best in Sandakan.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Les_vacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

Stayed here as a necessity for one night as part of a trip to rainforest. Rooms not bad at all, quite comfortable. Amadeus bar was great fun - resident singer was awesome in a 80's cheesy way - don't remember the last time I danced to footloose. Actually I probably haven't. Breakfast buffet was pretty basic (no coffee!!). Location a few miles out of town but taxis are cheap and on hand. As with previous posters, fly in and out same day if possible, you can easily do all you need in one day. From Sandakan airport to KK choose seats on RIGHT side of plane for views of Mount Kinabalu (opposite on reverse journey natch).

  • Liked — marble bathrooms. resident singer at amadeus bar. sounded like a funky scooby doo. quality!
  • Disliked — breakfast was pretty poor to be honest.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank gilesc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.5 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
588 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandakan
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#9 of 32 in Sandakan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabah Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabah Hotel Sandakan

Property: Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Address: Km 1 Jalan Utara, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabah Hotel Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sabah Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabah Hotel Sandakan Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing