We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel New Sabah(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sandakan(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel London(Sandakan)
View Hotel
Hotel Samila(Sandakan)
View Hotel
Hotel Lagenda(Sandakan)
View Hotel
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
May Fair Hotel(Sandakan)
View Hotel
Hotel City Star(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveler rating
112
259
138
29
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
259
138
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese restauranta short taxi rideswimming poolthe english tea housewalk into townnice hotelagnes keith housebit datedbuffet dinnersurrounded by treesrooms are largelovely poolegg stationmain restaurantone night staypleasant staykinabatangan river
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 556 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during our trip to Borneo 2012.
We didn't find any better option and the hotel looked nice and quiet.

We had a junior suite on a corner and had some nice views from the room (jungl views), and we had a balcony. The room itself was in need of a make over - new carpet and some fresh looking furinture would do the trick.

The breakfast was average, the service-level low - (compared to the rest of the trip).
The receptionist was the worst.

The swimmingpool is nice!

The gym was really small so we didn't use it.

We made a trip to the Labuk Bay Proboscis Monkey Santuary from the hotel (just ordered the trip through the reception). The sanctuary is great!! Do go there if you're interested in this rare monkey.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nora-amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Nora-amsterdam,

Greetings from Sabah Hotel , and thank you for your review.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our spacious Junior Suite that comes with magnificent rainforest view.

We have also taken note of your comments and it will be part of our continuous improvement program.

Do let us know if you plan to visit Sandakan again !

Thank you and regards,

Anthony Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is marvelous.The rooms are very clean and modern.The swimming pool is big and have a a slide!The food is very good too.The environment is very quiet too.This is the best hotel were we slept in Borneo.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libeccio16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Libeccio16,

Thank you for your positive comment.

We trust that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you again soon !

Regards,

Anthony Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is my 1st stay in this hotel. The staff are very courteous and helpful. The hotel is located within the rainforest of Sandakan. Everyday I woke up looking at the view of a forest with great sun light. The overall environment is very quiet and tranquil.

Below are some of the pros and cons of this hotel :

Pros
1) Quiet and tranquil
2) Room are clean
3) Swimming pool is clean and nice
4) Courteous and helpful staff
5) Good Gym facilities
6) Easy transportation arrangement
7) Tour information is easily available as there is a tour agent office located at the lobby.
8) Restaurant environment is nice

Cons
1) Room facilities is a bit old especially TV (still using the old non LCD/LED TV)
2) There are mosquitoes at the rest area near swimming pool
3) Lighting in the room are too dim
4) Room air con and lighting controller are too old

Overall comment that I can give are very good, a nice place for a relaxing stay and it's very convenient to get taxi or going for a tour.

Room Tip: Try to get to stay at the room that is facing the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LifeTravel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear LifeTravel96,

Thank you so much for the review.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed waking up everyday to the lush rainforest view , while staying with us.

Your comment is indeed spot on - quietness, tranquility, a nice swimming pool and coupled with courteous and helpful staff are part of the ingredients what Sabah Hotel is made of.

We have taken full note of your suggestion for improvement and be assured that it is all in the pipeline.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Sabah Hotel, Sandakan.

Thank you and regards,

Anthony Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Offer not genuine especially claimed for loyalty of Sabahan's 30 years of supporting the Hotel.
Was able to get same offer online probably better room than special offer to Sabahan. We have stayed many times at this hotel and can feel everything is deteriorating.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kulapis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Kulapis,

Thank you for your review.

For information sharing's sake, our current BAR online , for the lowest season is approximately 9% higher than the Sabahan Deal.

Please feel free to contact me directly for your next visit should we are able to be of any assistance.

Regards,

Anthony Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We (came here for a holiday with my wife and daughter) stayed here twice over a period of 10 days. The first time, we were put on the 2nd floor. The rooms were attrocious, dirty, stains everywhere. It smelled, and sheets smelled, and pretty much had a terrible night. We left the very next day. The hotel was more like a dirty lodge than anything else. When we returned from the small islands, we were put on the 4th floor. We got 3 rooms as we used the other two for kids of relatives in the area who wanted to use the pool. We spent several days here. The rooms this time were very nice. So, if you are staying here, always ask for a higher floor. My brother a local doc, recommended this hotel, and one of the staff told us, always ask for a higher floor as they a cleaner. So, ask for a higher floor. Avoid the 2nd.

The cleanliness was typical of all Malaysian hotels. Everything seemed damp, including the carpet. I wish they would stop carpeting hotels in Malaysia, especially in Sandakan. It is very wet here and things don't dry easy. Hardwood floor with 4 poly coating would solve a lot of their problems.

The checkin staff are great and the cafe at the lobby area is nice. They have nice pastries and service was prompt and good.

Cleanlines was average. Use Clorox in the bathrooms!

The restaurant was below average. The service is poor. Takes a while for waiters to notice you. The food is expensive and below average. I have no problem paying a lot of money for food, but it has to be good. I really wanted to eat dinner there, but again after the lunch on the first day, decided to go to town. Recommend going to town to eat. The bellhop are very helpful in giving suggestions and directions to city hotels. Felt like the waiters and waitresses were trying very hard not to provide service. They did not seem to have a restaurant manager supervising.

The pool is great. If you bring your kids, like I did, they can spend hours there. Come equipped with sun blocker. The restaurant service staff rarely make a visit to where you are so, walk to the restaurant receptionist and ask to be served as soon as you get there.

The hotel has a great backyard. There is a trail through the forest but it is not maintained. My wife being an ardent walker in California wanted to walk, and after my test run I discouraged her. To Hotel Management: Get a trail expert and build a nice trail through the woods. You have a nice property and should make full use of it. And pickup the trash.

This is Sandakan, which in my opinion is one of the dirtiest citties in Malaysia. Trash does not get picked up regularly, and that will get to you.

Even with the shortcomings, I recommend this hotel as it has much more to offer and a great deal. To hotel management, those little things count. Hire better management at the restaurant and your chef needs to be replaced. he or she is a terrible cook. And clean and fix the 2nd floor. I think I was put on the 2nd floor because I am local. Stop doing this! I think the second time, my wife got noticed.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor and higher. Eat in town. Get beer from the local markets and stock your fridge. BYOB to the pool side, as you may not get serviced.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MalaysianAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear MalaysianAmerican,

Thank you for your thorough review.

Firstly, on behalf of the management, I would like to affirm that your comment has been well received and taken note of.

Your comment and opinion specifically on the restaurant service, food quality, and the nature trail will be reviewed in depth at once.

Last but not least, we thank you for your recommendation and support.

Should you are making a trip to Sandakan again, please contact us.

Thank you and regards,

Anthony Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews