We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacefull setting good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at the sabah for 1 night befor + 1 night after our kinabatangan river safari, set in nice grounds just a short taxi ride from sandakan centre. Lovely pool, decent gym, good restaurant
where we had excellent breakfasts, + 1 very good lunch also 1 very nice diner. As other reviewers stated rooms are a bit dated but very clean there is a musty smell at times but not that bad, check in / out was fine and theres is a nice lounge area for coffee or a drink. Not a lot to see in sandakan but do go to the sepilok orang utan rehab centre less than 30 mins away also the ocean king seafood retaurant was recomended by another trip advissor reviewer and they weren't wrong if you like seafood its a must, about 15 mins by taxi. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank premierman801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Premierman801,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and the dining experience with us.

We hope to welcome you again to Sabah Hotel, Sandakan.

Regards,

Anthony Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Sabah Hotel Sandakan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 539 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. We were tossing up as to stay here or in the jungle, as we wanted to see the Orangutans and the other wildlife. We are so glad we stayed in Sandakan as we had so much more to do. The Sabah Hotel is not in the centre of town, but this is only a RM 10 Taxi Fare each way. There are plenty of places to eat at in the town centre.

The pool is definately the star attraction at this hotel and is a great place to relax.The rooms at the Sabah Hotel are large and spacious and have all the facilities you want. Other reviewers have complained about not having flat screen televisions. Why would you want to watch television when you are on holidays?

There was no room safe but the hotel has a good safety deposit box system. Check-in staff were friendly and efficient and allowed us to check in early, which was a bonus after a long flight from Australia.We had a problem with our mini bar fridge and the maintenance staff replaced it within 5 minutes. Very impressive.The wi fi in the room was great and was always reliable.

The Breakfast Buffet was good and there was ample food and the staff were always smiing and friendly.

Overall, thoroughly enoyed our stay and thought the hotel had plenty of character. Just needs a little sprucing up in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Maccs,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to welcome you back to Sabah Hotel , Sandakan again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Anthony Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We came here after staying on the Kinabatangan River and I felt pretty grimy and worn out. This was the perfect tonic. Very comfortable hotel with big rooms, wifi, TV. It definitely gave us the feeling of coming back to civilisation and being able to reflect on the great things we had seen in the rainforest. Food was good and there is a lovely pool where you can soak up the sun, however the waterslide enters only 2 feet of water which will leave you with a bruised and scratched rear if you try to use it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistairio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Alistairio,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back again to Sabah Hotel, Sandakan.

Regards,

Anthony Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Sabah Hotel for 2 nights after a Kinabatangan River adventure. Our teenage daughters were instantly delighted with the big airy foyer and resorty look of the hotel after the relative 'roughing it' at the river. The staff who took the luggage from our taxi and the reception staff were all very efficient and friendly. We had an upgrade to junior suites. The hotel seemed relatively quiet and it seemed the upgrade treatment is standard practice if the hotel is not full.
The rooms were spacious and ours had a nice view of the pool. There was a bit of the old, damp smell that other people have mentioned.. but it was no big deal.. and the rooms and huge bathrooms were perfectly clean. We had no problems with the free wifi in our rooms but the small old TVs could do with updating.
We arrived at Sabah Hotel in time for a late lunch at the restaurant by the pool. We had the semi-buffet (not available every day) which at 40MR per person was pretty good value for free choice of any main on the menu plus a good buffet selection of soup, salads, fruits and desserts. Breakfast was also served in this restaurant. We had the breakfast buffet included in our tarrif (we paid 240MR per night for each room) and it was okay, not the greatest we've had, but plenty of variety.
After lunch we enjoyed several hours loungeing in the pleasant pool area and my husband made use of the gym.
At night we walked into Sandakan town. If you have young children, you might be better off getting a cab. It was only 10 minutes or so but the footpath was quite narrow in some places and had many uneven bits and gaps in the drain covers .. would be really tricky with a stroller.
In town our teenage daughters were getting a lot of stares, whispers and giggles. It didn't take us long to realize that the short denim shorts they were wearing were not really appropriate in Sandakan. Our mistake! (Hadn't been an issue in Kota Kinabalu). The girls felt quite uncomfortable and wore leggings out for dinner the next night.
Anyhow, we enjoyed the Sabah Hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Escapade10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Eve H,

Thank you for the review.

We are glad to know that you like our big airy foyer and the resorty look of the hotel. We hope the room upgrading gesture has contributed positively to your stay experience with us.
Our pool has and will always be the preferred 'relaxation' spot and we are happy that this facility has served you well too.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sabah Hotel, Sandakan.

Thank you and regards,

Anthony Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's either a 10 minute walk downhill, or a short taxi ride into town, but we thought this was a price well worth paying for the tranquility of the setting. It's true that this hotel is starting to look a little bit tired in places, but the rooms are very clean, very spacious, with good beds and two comfortable chairs - something we found to be unusual, but very welcomed! The service could not have been better. I notice that someone has complained about the TVs, well, we didn't have a flat screen TV,that's true, but we were able to watch Wimbledon, so we wouldn't complain! We had a great stay there and are happy to recommend it.

Room Tip: If you go on a trip, ask for Benjamin - he was an absolutely excellent guide. We will never forget t...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twotravellingseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Twotravellingseniors,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and recommendation.

We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the stay with Sabah Hotel. This positive review has been communicated with the entire team and this is a very good encouragement for us to continue in our strive to provide each and every guest with a positively memorable stay.

Please drop us a note should you visit Sandakan again, and we promise to live up to your expectation !

Thank you and regards,

Anthony Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nice pool and location

Room was very dated and did smell badly of damp which has been mentioned on here before but still not rectified

I think this hotels has rested on its laurels and will now have to get its act together to compete with the newly opened Sheraton

I did find the reception staff very helpful

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasgow_Gambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Glasgow_Gambler,

Thank you for your review.

Renovation plan is in the pipeline, and it definitely addresses the carpet issue as raised by your goodself.

We hope to be able to serve you better once the make over is complete.

Regards,

Anthony Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Location - Situated on a hill where surround by green fresh environment where the moden building inside the amazon jungle. The environment is quiet and comfort and free from smoke from car.

Room: Spacious but the most dissapoint thing is the TV which still use the old CRT fashion TV. compare to a no-star hotel such as budget, they had installed LCD PLASMA. Room lighting is idea l but too dark. Makes me hard to read. Some windshield are in old fashion wooden form. Overall the room is CLEAN and acceptable.

Bathroom: CLEAN and SLIPERY...Beware. amenties limited where NO BUTTON BUD provided. WEIRD!!! Bathtub available with a stand shower that separate from bathtub.

Dinning: Limited choice of food but nice.

Value: Good for money when book early as I celebrate 31 Dec 2011 at this hotel. :) Stay 2 years in this hotel.. hahahhaa

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennyahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Kennyahm,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the stay with us, amidst the greenery and the fresh air.

We have taken note of your comment with regards to the room and amenities and we assure you that these will be addressed in our renovation plan.

Regards,

Anthony Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
649 reviews
11.4 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#11 of 32 in Sandakan
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#21 of 32 in Sandakan
65 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabah Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabah Hotel Sandakan

Address: Km 1 Jalan Utara, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: $36 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabah Hotel Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sabah Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabah Hotel Sandakan Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing