We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place - with problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We checked in and were immediately told that there was no room avaialble with a double, despite our request befoehand. I said, no problem, we can just move the two twins together, they responded that the beds are bolted to the floor. I insisted on a solution and they eventually agreed, albeit in a surly way, to give us a double room, but also a smoking room. Luckily it didn't have a bad smell, so all was well. They wanted us to be very clear that they were giving us an upgrade, but honestly, i feel that we got what we asked for and nothing more.

Other than the check in problems, everyone seemed quite pleasant and the room was perfectly acceptable. The breakfast on the other hand was disappointing, because there were bugs on the fruit and not a great selection. Also, we were charged RM6 for ice, which I thought was unfair.

the location of the hotel is such that you need to walk about 20 minutes to get to Sandakan proper, whihc isn't much to see anyway. It's uphill on the way back so you're better off with a taxi. No restaureants nearby, but managable walk to the English Tea House.

About Sandakan: If you plan to go outside of the peak (dry) season, plan to stay a little loner. This region is all about the wildlife (Sepilok Orang-Utan Center, the Kinabantan river etc) and when it rains, there is nothing to see.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoteleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 539 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2011

This is the biggest hotel in Sandakan..been staying there whenever I visit Sandakan. The rooms are comfortable especially those facing the jungle area. When it rains (Sandakan has heavy downpour), it feels like in the rainforest jungle. I like that they have nice table for makeup and all. They have free wifi but you have to request for login id from the reception. I didn't like the borneo wing because of the tile floor and the window and bathroom position. The window is facing walkway so it's only appropriate to draw the curtains at all times.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daydy_rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

The hotel was built in the mid 1980's, and to be honest, is showing its age. The decor in our room was definitely a little tired (except for the newer Borneo wing), although we found it clean and comfortable. Where the hotel scores better is the choice of eating venues at the hotel, gym, tennis court, table tennis court and swimming pool. Its also a short walking distance from the centre of Sandakan.
I also have to extend a special mention to the welcoming and caring staff. I suffered a nasty insect bite near the hotel (it is on the edge of the jungle!). Despite this not being the hotels fault in any way, the manager personally accompanied me to the local clinic for precautionary innoculations, paying the medical bill, taxi fare, and generally ensuring my comfort and safety. That's excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed here for a short layover while waiting for flights at the rather grim Sandakan airport. The hotel is in the western style in a pleasant setting. The food was good, the accomodation was clean and the service was efficient. Made a nice place to get clean after the jungle!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinsinamap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The Sabah Hotel proved to be an ideal base from which to explore some of the attractions in and around Sandakan. A choice of restaurants, a lovely pool in nice tropical surrounds, helpful staff and very comfortable rooms combined to make this a very pleasant hotel to stay in for a couple of nights. It is a relatively short and interesting cab ride to Sepilok, and staff at the hotel arranged our visit to the Labuk Bay Proboscis Monkey Sanctuary.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tragelaphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

A litle tired looking hotel, has seen better days but everything still works. Very impressed that they provide free WiFi as most other places still charge, great for business traveller. Adequate breakfast. Lovely pool with outdoor jacuzzi. Steam room and sauna also in good working order. Didn't use gym but looked well equipt. Also has squash court and tennis court and table tenis.
Location not great, need to walk or take taxi into Sandakan town for food/shops.Tap water is muddy colour.
Staff are very good.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Stayed in a room in the Borneo wing , The room was large , Clean and had great air con ,
Situatite in a quite corner of the hotels very peacefull ,

If you want to go to town You have to get a taxi but that is only 6 ringett each way , nice places to eat down at the harbour
Pleanty of taxis out side hotel
also used the hotel agent to book a trip they were very helpful

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denbrooks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
659 reviews
11.4 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#11 of 33 in Sandakan
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#21 of 33 in Sandakan
64 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 33 in Sandakan
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabah Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabah Hotel Sandakan

Address: Km 1 Jalan Utara, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: $35 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabah Hotel Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sabah Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabah Hotel Sandakan Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing