We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of Turtle Island Park

Turtle Island Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$515.99*
and up
2-Day Small-Group Tour: Sandakan City and Wildlife Experience from Sabah
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We saw turtles laying eggs, helped in releasing over 1300 baby turtles at night, a truly amazing experience.
You can snorkel through the day, but to be honest, when it is low tide it is just too shallow to go out, and having just come from the Perhentian Islands, the quality of the snorkelling was a let down for us, but it was the turtles we came to see, and there were plenty of them, it was fantastic.
The food wasn't much for lunch or dinner, and it felt like a bit of a school camp, but it is the turtles you come for. The rooms are basic with all single beds, but there is hot water in the shower, and the rooms are air conditioned, which is a must, as it is so hot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJungleCat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    130
    44
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mazzr
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing but also very touristy”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Accomodation and food at turtle island is simple, but clean and ok. The number of tourists permitted on the island per day is limited, but the experience is, none the less, somewhat touristy. That said, seeing the hatcheries, the baby turtles hatch and return to the sea, the mother turtle lay its eggs and hearing about the work done at Seligan Island was an experience.

Not much to do during the day when waiting for the turtles, but the beach and the sea are beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mazzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best things we've done”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place is fantastic. The island itself is an absolute dream - even without the turtles it's a great spot, perfect sandy beaches, really amazing snorkeling, crystal clear water - perfect. The food was fairly good, the accom is basic but so what - you shouldn't be in there, you should be lying on the beach. We were lucky enough to be walking along the beach during the day and saw a whole bunch of baby turtles tumbling their way down to the ocean - pretty unforgettable stuff. Watching the mother turtles lay their eggs at night was equally amazing. If you come to Sabah, make sure you do this trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing-what are you waiting for?”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went to Turtle Island as part of a 5 day/4night tour with SI Tours (who are highly recommended- absolutely fantastic). We are not fans of tours, (nor basic!) but wanted to experience seeing turtles laying.
Arrived at the island in time for lunch, and then were left to our own devices until just before dinner when we were given a talk and shown a short video. Snorkelling was good, beaches beautifully clean and unspoilt. Extra towels beach mats and snorkelling gear are available for rent, at very reasonable prices.
After dinner we sat around chatting until the call came, and like a bunch of excited school children we followed our guide to the beach. We were fortunate enough to witness a greenback lay her eggs- a very moving experience. It turned out that she had chosen the same nesting place as an earlier mum, and out popped dozens of baby turtles- a rare occurrence apparently. This added to the excitement, for all ages.
The whole island is very carefully monitored, as are its guests. This is not a tourist resort, but a conservation area. There is an expected level of behaviour, especially on the beach at night (no videoing, no flash photography to distract the turtles, etc., and the guides are quick to enforce the rules, and rightly so.
The rooms were clean but very basic- don't expect bathroom supplies or matching towels- but you do not come here for luxury. The food was ample, and the staff helpful. There is a small gift shop/ drinks area, but like everywhere we visited on this trip, we were never under pressure to spend money.
This is a once in a lifetime experience, and if you get to watch a mother struggling to produce her large batch of eggs, and then help to release hatchlings back into the sea, who cares what the rooms or food are like? You are there for less than 24 hours- relax and enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara0957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A trip to remember”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This trip was fantastic. We are backpackers so it was a big chunk of our budget. We do not regret it for one second. We were very lucky and got a cancellation the day before by going to the crystal quest office on the jetty.
To get to the jetty you need to take a local bus along Buli sim sim road and get of just before the mosque. We payd 570rm for two people (no guide) for dbl room, boat and meals. On the island we payd a further 60x2 + 10 for each camera. When we returned we waited by the road and a local bus picked us up for 0.5 rm each.
On the island we were met by a lovely lady called Pia, as we did not have a guide she took really good care of us and we are forever grateful to her for everything she did for us. Thank you Pia you are the best!!!

When you get to the island you have free time until the evening. You have dinner and then you wait for the turtles. We had 'turtle time' at 21:00. You get to see the turtle lay eggs, ranger bury the eggs and then for the finale you get to release baby turtles. All in all a fantastic experience.
Rooms are large and comfortable with AC and hot shower.
Enjoy
Thank you to everyone at turtle island and especially Pia ;-) Randi and Kevin

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RKrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Island Park also viewed

 
Sandakan, Sandakan Division
 

Been to Turtle Island Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing