We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best backpackers in Borneo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I've stayed in many backpackers around Sabah and this is easily the best! As soon as we walked in there's a great vibe and atmosphere created by the warm and welcoming staff, and you really feel like you can relax and unwind. It's the only backpackers I've been to that has a good lounging area where you can chill on beanbags and watch the TV, the only place with duvets which is a very homely touch, and it even has veggiemite to eat for breakfast! On top of this, it's also the cheapest hostel we've stayed in, 5 ringgit cheaper than the usual price for a hostel. In terms of location it's perfect, very central and just a 3 minute walk from bus stop, and the two owners, Jonathon and Gary, are tour guides and can give you all the information you need for where to go, prices, times, everything. They can even take you around themselves for a very reasonable price. They really put in the extra effort for their customers, and they're always happy to take their customers out for a chat and a drink at a local bar if the customer fancies it, they know how to have a good time! I don't think there are any other backpackers that go the extra mile like hey do just to make their customers happy. It's the perfect place to stay. Do it!

Room Tip: They have dorms, single rooms and double rooms. All are clean, quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Hi John,

Thank you very much for staying with us. Nice to meet all of you. Send our regards to the group and have a great time in Kota Kinabalu.


Regards
Team of Borneo Sandakan Backpackers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 170 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

There is no reason to look for any other hostel in Sandakan than this one. Seriously the best hostel where i have ever stayed. Superclean,tidy and new facilities with very friendly staff make this place unbeatable,where else will you find very clean and new bathrooms,air-cond and fan in room,clean towels and comfy not-smelly beds with clean bedsheets without bedbugs for this price including breakfast and free fast wifi ? Cleanliness is the keyword for this place and i absolutely love it,we stayed there for 4nights in dormitory and at the moment i sit in common area and we plan to stay for another three days. We had a really great time with Jon and Gary when they invited us to local harvest festival and we enjoyed the evening in hostel when we really felt like home. Thank you guys,we will recommend you for everyone who will plan to go to Sandakan.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vojtech000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hi Vojtech,

Glad to hear that you are having fun in Borneo. Once again thank you very much for the review. Really appreciate it.

Enjoy the remaining of your holiday.

Aramaitee...


Regards,
The Team of Borneo Sandakan Backpackers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is by far the best hostel I have stayed in in South East Asia!!!! The rooms, bathrooms and common area are very, very clean and the staff extremely friendly. We stayed in a private room, with great air-con, a fan and a really comfortable bed so we had a very good nights sleep - the bedding was very clean. Gary and Jonathan have perfect english and have both spent time in New Zealand (which is where we are from) so was great to be able to chat about NZ with them. The common area is ideal for socialising and meeting other backpackers - Gary and Jonathan took a group of us out to a local Malay place for food and drinks which was good fun. They are also both tour guides so were able to give us useful tips and let us know how much all of the activities cost. The hostel felt very safe and is in an ideal location as you can walk to markets, waterfront, shops, bus stops etc. You get a clean towels on arrival which was great. Would definitely recommended for any type and age traveller. The rooms are really cheap for what you get. I plan to come back again on my next trip to Sabah.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Whats up Summer?

Thank you very much for the review. Really appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon in Borneo.
Have fun in Abu Dhabi.


Regards,
Jonathan, Gary and The Borneo Sandakan Backpackers team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hostel is one of the best hostels I have stayed in. (I have been traveling for 6 months!) The staff are extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful with a superb level of English. We were only meant to stay one night but stayed three. The hotel is very new and is immaculate. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The hostel in general is the cleanest hostel I have stayed in but it was the staff that made this hostel the most enjoyable. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone on a budget or even those who are willing to splash some cash as you will not be disappointed! Ps the location is suburb as well!! Stones throw from where you need to be!

Room Tip: We had a room with fan and air con but the fan was strong enough for us and we didn't really use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hi Aoife & Sasha

How are you guys doing? Glad to have meet you guys. And thank you very much for the great review.

Enjoy the remaining of your holidays.

Regards,
The team of Borneo Sandakan Backpackers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The moment I stept at Borneo Sandakan Bakpackers I felt that this was the hostel to stay. The place was really clean, people are really nice and the facilities are great.
The atmosphere was so friendly that we even got the chance to cook a great meal with some of the guests. Spanish omellete and a nice saldad what a great day!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eskimales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hi

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

We appreciate your very kind review, thank you very much for that.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been in Sandakan for about a week and origionally we stayed in a different hostel. Our friend from our room said she was moving to this place, so decided to check it out. It was definatley worth the move for the same price we were paying we got a nice cosy dorm room with aircon.Breakfast is included and you get toast with a variety of spreads including peanut butter :) and Vegemite :D not quite marmite but nearly the same!! The staff were so friendly and made us feel as though we were at home. There is a small kitchen are and one of the evenings we made a Spanish omelette with 2 of people we made friends with from the hostel. Thank you so much for making our stay in Sandakan so pleasant. Aishah and Jon

Room Tip: Dorm was airconditioned for 20rm with breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasha98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi Aisha & Jon

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

We appreciate your very kind review, thank you very much for that.


Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great place. Perfect staff, they are very helpful, service minded and friendly. If you are looking for a place with good value for money this is the perfect stay-in. Bornes Sandakan backpackers is situated in the city centre and you have many restaurants just around the corner near the bay. It is also really clean and it's a good atmosphere.

Big thanks to the fantastic staff!

Kind regards
Axel & Nicole

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi Axel & Nicole,

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

We appreciate your very kind review, thank you very much for that.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
Jonathan, Gary and the Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
11.8 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
658 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Sandakan
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#9 of 33 in Sandakan
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#8 of 33 in Sandakan
122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#11 of 33 in Sandakan
23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Sandakan Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Sandakan Backpackers

Address: Block HS-5, Lot 54 & 55, 1st & 2nd floor, Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range: $14 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Sandakan Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to present you with the newly built Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, strategically located in Sandakan Harbour Square, a well-developed domestic area at the town of Sandakan. A couple of minutes’ walk to restaurants, banks and shops, Borneo Sandakan Backpackers offers comfortable and convenient accommodation for couples, singles, families and backpackers travelling to Sandakan.Borneo Sandakan Backpackers is directly in front of Swiss Inn Hotel. Our building is painted in red and white with a vertical red "BACKPACKERS" signboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Borneo Sandakan Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing