We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, bit out of town”
Review of Borneo Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Borneo Cove Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Fairford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, bit out of town”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel would have been great, but it looks like it is still being built!

After being on a jungle trek, coming into a nice comfortable hotel was a nice change. The facilities are (would be) good, but when we were there it just seemed a bit un-prepared for tourists! The swimming pool was empty, the bar was closed, the breakfast was not fully available.

These are all small things that wouldnt stop us going back. It is a nice comfortable hotel and we paid a small price for it, so altogether a good experience. The staff were great, booking taxis for us without delay, even when we were stuck out at a local temple miles from the Hotel!

Its about 10 minutes out of town, but at only £3 for a taxi, it didnt matter that much.

For a budget location, if the facilities are available when you go, it will be a great place to stay in Sandakan.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdt_y2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCH0tel, Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear mdt_y2k,
Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate you are taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, food, the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words and your experiences during your stay, to our team members.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Borneo Cove Hotel when you next return to Sandakan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
17
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henty Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was the second hotel we stayed at in Sandakan, the first was a let down. What a suprise to find a great hotel at this cost. The staff were all exceptionally pleasant and couldn't do enough for you. Room was pleasant, even though the room faced the main road, the noise was neglible.
This hotel also runs a training school for hospitality students, and the hotel is relatively new and if they did get the odd small thing wrong, who cares? they are such nice trying people. We got caught in a tropical downpour on a river trip, and that night had no shoes to wear in the restaurant, but they still invited us in and pretended not to notice! The only negative, was that the air/con was too cold. Booked in for two days stayed five.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCH0tel, Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Jim R,

Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate you are taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, food and the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team members.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Borneo Cove Hotel when you next return to Sandakan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor, malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent 2 nights of comfy stay at this new hotel that open in Sandakan. Booked through Agoda with good bargain, and get free upgrade to Superior standard upon check-in. Staff are attentive and efficient. Room facilities are brand new, nothing to complain. To us, location is good as it is away from sandakan town centre, which seems a bit run down. We rented a car at airport, and most of the tourist spot are not too far away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiauping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCH0tel, Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Chiauping,

Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate you are taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, food and the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team members.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Borneo Cove Hotel when you next return to Sandakan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

It's a 5 minute cab ride out of Sandakan, but that's not really an issue because the town itself is a bit of a dump.

The hotel itself feels a bit like an abandoned office block. While it is a bit soulless it is new, secure, clean and the staff are brilliant. The rooms are huge and well appointed...although despite all that space they've built the bathrooms so small that you can sit on the toilet and have a shower at the same time. Genius!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpyTravelerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCH0tel, Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear PADB1978,

Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate you are taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, food and the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team members.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Borneo Cove Hotel when you next return to Sandakan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Australia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Borneo Cove and would strongly recommend it. We booked through Agoda and the price was amazingly good for a room and breakfast for two - check it out. The room was large an spotlessly clean. Sheets and towels were changed every day. Hairdryer, iron and ironing board available upon request. There is also a washer and dryer available for guests for a small charge. Internet is to be persevered with (try the front desk or restaurant if your room has poor connection), and there are some maintenance issues (we changed rooms because the room safe in the first did not work, and the sink in the second room leaked, but it was fixed immediately).

As mentioned by others, this is a hospitality training venue, so most of the staff are trainees. They are very friendly and eager to please, but still have their training wheels on, so sometimes need to ask their supervisors for assistance, which is fine. However, every request we made (such as with the internet connection) was met with assistance and a smile - which is more than can be said for many hotels!

Foodwise, the restaurant is excellent value. There were buffet meals for the first 3 nights we were here, but there is generally an a la carte menu. The lunch special meals are great value, and we enjoyed the a la carte meals. There is no fresh juice or yoghurt at breakfast, but there is a range of Malaysian and western hot meals as well as fruit and cereal and scrambled eggs or omelettes on request.

We strongly recommend this hotel - our only regret is that management has not got on top of the maintenance issue in the rooms that are closed, and therefore is operating the hotel at below capacity. Fix the air conditioners and other small problems in these rooms and the hotel would be able to welcome many more guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCH0tel, Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Colin D,

Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate you are taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, food and the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team members.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Borneo Cove Hotel when you next return to Sandakan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Overall a great stay. Friendly helpfull staff & lots of trainees. Not close to the city centre but a bus is RM1 or a taxi RM 10-20. Big clean room, Good price although i think you can get a better price booking online.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCH0tel, Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Clam77,

Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate you are taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, food and the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team members.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Borneo Cove Hotel when you next return to Sandakan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The reviews don't lie - this is a really great place to stay if you are after solid modern comfort, no frills but decent quality and especially fantastic value for money (the front desk even told me to book online not over the counter cos the discount is huge). It is not within walking distance of Sandakan centre but then many hotels/hostels aren't and it's not as if the town centre is a major attraction. It's quite a dump actually apart from some nice bits by the seafront. So BC Hotel sits in its own very secure compound off the highway in from the airport, and is super clean and modern compared to most other buildings around. Big rooms, great showers, handy room safeboxes, no problem adding extra mattresses in our 2 doubles (at cost of RM30 each), to accommodate our family of six. Incredible value at RM30 per person - this is pretty much the same as backpacker hostels and you get a load more quality and space for your money. Massive bonus for us arriving straight from UK after long flight via KL was the pool - small but clean, private, quiet. The breakfast (included in the stunning price) is a bit ropey but fine. A la carte menu for lunch and supper (at nice outdoor tables) is good and varied, and again, not that pricey. Especially if you go for Asian options - as you'd expect. Western beer brands cost loads though - as everywhere in Sabah, expect to pay at least RM20 for a bottle of Stella or Carlsberg! It's not a highly Muslim place but the alcohol prices are high partly for that reason. Staff very obliging - changing our rooms twice because of faulty aircon. The hotel has a 'hotel training college' attached to it, so some of the staff are students/trainees, with varying standards but all are willing to please. We were charged RM25 for taxi from the airport (we didn't know any different) but that's a bit steep and you should be able to negociate down. Taxi to town should be no more than RM15 max. We recommend this place highly - we ended up cancelling another couple of bookings to return here at various points in our Sabah travels. Look no further in Sandakan!

Room Tip: All pretty similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank revieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCH0tel, Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear revieg,

Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate you are taking time to share the feedback on the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, food and the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team members.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Borneo Cove Hotel when you next return to Sandakan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
1.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
1.1 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
524 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#9 of 32 in Sandakan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
614 reviews
11.1 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
589 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Cove Hotel

Property: Borneo Cove Hotel
Address: Lot 2, Mile 1.5 Jalan Buli Sim-Sim | Negeri di Bawah Bayu, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borneo Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borneo Cove Hotel Located in the central area of Buli Sim Sim landmark, the Borneo Cove Hotel stands out for its eco-friendly style, diversity and vibrancy. This eco-friendly resort style hotel offers guests the comfort of a fully furnish hotel rooms or a dorm style accommodation. It is an experience that strikes the perfect balance between comfort and practicality, as is just 20 minutes from Sandakan Airport, 5 minutes from Sandakan town centre with its rich historical attraction, all creating an alternative for discerning yet value-conscious business and leisure guests, who yearns for comfort, peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Borneo Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Cove Hotel Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing