We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quaint”
Review of Lemongrass

Lemongrass
Ranked #23 of 87 Restaurants in Sandakan
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Malaysian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Lemongrass is a new cafe opened directly below the SeaView Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel. We serve delicious pancakes daily for a budget price. The options range from sweet to savoury, including the house speciality, Palm Sugar Syrup. Originally served to hotel guests for breakfast, the pancakes received excellent reviews and led Nabisatul, the owner, to open Lemongrass Cafe. Now everyone can try the delicious pancakes for a reasonable price! The recipe has been in Nabisatul's family for years and was passed to her from her late mother, making them truly unique! Make sure you come and visit us if you are in Sandakan and tell all your friends about us! We look forward to welcoming you!
Perth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice and quaint”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice little place, cheap, and fills the gap.
This is more of a snack bar then a restaurant, so good for that lunchtime urge.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Meal”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

After reading the extraordinary reviews about Lemon Grass Pancake House, we had to try it out, especially as it was just beside our hotel. While we had a pleasant meal, it certainly didn't live up to the rave reviews given by others. We had a very pleasant spinach pancake with egg-plant dip as entree, and this was great. For mains, I had a roti canal with chicken stuffing, and LAN had the much praised pumpkin stew. My roti was disappointing - I felt that it had been cooked some time ago, and was a little dry around the edges, and tasted oily. Lan enjoyed her pumpkin stew, which arrived just after I had finished my meal (!) although she said that while the sauce was nice, the pumpkin itself was a little bland.

They were a very friendly and helpful crew. While they didn't serve alcohol, they were very happy for me to bring a couple of beers from the supermarket. They put them in the freezer for us, so we had moderately cold beers with our meal.

Certainly not worthy of five stars, but a pleasant meal nonetheless.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrislan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Amazing food - and extremely good value.
Must tries are the lemon grass tea and the coconut pancakes..........

This is a very light and airy restauarnt with friendly and helpful staff and the food is excellent.
I would happily recommend it

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Pancakes”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The pancakes here were amazing, both the savoury and sweet. Reasonably priced too!!! The other food is also very good (we ate here regularly during our stay)!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tom1361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome little restaurant”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We ate here one evening, not really knowing what we were walking into. It was actually one of the best, most original and friendly meal of our trip in Borneo. The savory pancakes - which we had as a starter - are incredible. You will find a wide range of dishes on the menu. We were so amazed, we just kept ordering. Their house special (a pumpkin stew) was a great culinary discovery.
Not only is the place suitable for vegans and vegetarians, meat eaters also have a large choice.
The owner was extremely friendly, and had us taste her lemongrass infusion. She was always very attentive, although not intruding. All in all, this was a great experience and I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a nice, relaxing night in Sandakan (not to mention cheap... because the prices here are really incomparable).
Try it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemongrass also viewed

Sandakan, Sandakan Division
 
Sandakan, Sandakan Division
 

Been to Lemongrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing