We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting but nothing much”

Ranked #13 of 29 things to do in Sandakan
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting but nothing much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

There a bunch of houses on stilts on the waterfront. There is no history or hustle bustle. The village that we visited had running water and electricity but apparently there are many illegal villages as well.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank szaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    17
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sim Sim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I had the chance to spend a couple of hours in Sim Sim in September 2013 with my girlfriend. Our Bradt guide gave a nice description of it and we decided to go there in late afternoon to take some good pictures and having dinner at pier 8. We didn't expect much but this water village was surprisingly nice, the highlight of Sandakan for me, together with the market. For us it was even difficult to imagine something like this. There are several piers with many houses raised on wooden sticks. Just take some time to walk until the end of some piers, if you like to take pictures it is a very nice place to do it. The people there are extremely nice, some kids asked us to take a picture of them and almost everyone welcomed us saying hi.
I think the village is very safe. a couple of tips: go by taxi from Sandakan because it is not a nice walk till there and if you have the chance have a dinner at the seafood restaurant on pier 8, the one on right because there are 2 with a very similar name.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Federico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and Excellent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

once you reach there you will feel the fishermen village feeling. You will see their lifestyle for whole day. There have above 1,000 chinese residents stay at this village. Furthermore, is Malay village who also as fishermen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly22538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“simsim”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

cheeeeeaaap sea-foooooood.
had lovely sunset. very authentic feel.
oh but a lot of rubbish while waking on the planks!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lekuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fishermen's Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you want to sample the local diet - this is the place to go and taste the culinary of noodles, tofu, seafood. Get a local guide who speaks Cantonese to take you there and guide you through the verbal menus. It is an encounter of the first kind for visitors.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank jambalaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishermen's Village also viewed

Sandakan, Sandakan Division
Sandakan, Sandakan Division
 
Sandakan, Sandakan Division
Sandakan, Sandakan Division
 

Been to Fishermen's Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing