We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbourside Backpackers
Jakarta, Indonesië
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights, because of the location, the price, the cleanliness, the staff and just because it's a nice place! The living room is the place to hang out with other travellers, the bathrooms and toilets are sparkling clean and the hostel is near to the boulevard (where you can find cheap restaurants)! Thanks!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KevinMarrrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    34
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
51
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

stayed here 5 nights in the family room with shared bathrooms. the location of this place is just excellent! right underneath is the best curry house in town! and right opposite is the harbour mall.which has a supermarket and a kids corner on the 3rd floor with bouncy castle etc. behind the mall is the waterfront with restaurants. we have checked several places including hotels and inns and thought that the harbourside was the best place to stay! the owner is a very friendly lady who takes very very good care of her hostel. the bathrooms and showers are immaculate!!!! every morning either herself or her two lovely staff make a huge deep cleaning! this is by far the most clean hotel i have been since long time! we stayed in the family room upstairs. with a queen and two single beds. rooms is very clean and very sunny. downstairs is a kitchen and a tv lounge area with 2 computers free to use. they provide simple breakfast which we didnt eat as we the restaurant downstairs make the best roti ever!!!!
we didnt even bother eating anywhere else as the food was exceptionall in the curry house!!!
one can book tours right at the hostel to good prices too. there is a barefoot policy in the hostel which is fine as the place is immaculate! the atmosphere at the hostel was great too!
the only downside is the laundry service they provide. since my kids clothes were very dirty and muddy from our stay in the jungles i asked her to wash with warm water and she said cold will be ok. which wasnt. if you just need to refresh your clothes than her expensive laundry service is fine otherwise i would bring my stuff to a laundry.
besides that i can totally recommend this little gem!!!!

Room Tip: stayed in the yellow family room. very bright and comfortable!!! all rooms including the dorms looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suicideangel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the private rooms here, and after spending a few days on the kinabatangan, bathing in cold muddy river water, this place seemed like the height of luxury. The hostel was very clean and nicely done up. The rooms were small but had everything we needed so no complaints. They have a lovely common area with good wifi and a pc, tv etc. We changed our booking at the last minute but they were very accomodating. They helped us find cabs, including one at 5.30 am and were very gracious about it. Loved it and would defined recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkw_sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hostel is a good clean hostel with helpful staff and a good TV lounge.

Sandakan is quite an ordinary place known as the jump-off for Sepilok Orang Utan sanctuary and Kinabatangan river trips. The real bonus of staying here is this hostel sell a tour to the latter for the cheapest price I have knowledge of and I've worked in Sabah for 6 months (330RM for 3D/2N if I recall correctly). Save your money not being tempted by the agents in KK or Sandakan and book through these guys!! I've directed two lots of family members to these guys for the trip and they've not been disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatDogSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. Great staff and very helpful. Good place to use as a stepping stone to do the exciting tours on offer on that side of the Island. There isn't much to do in Sandakan itself so get on the internet and book some tours whilst you're in the hostel. If you don't mind paying more the hostel can organise tours or there are a few tour company shops close to the hostel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pont79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The staff here are very welcoming, helpful, and knowledgable about local information. There is always someone cleaning and the extra effort pays off. It's a great example of a basic hostel. Good location and cheap eats nearby. Local bus number 4 goes to the long distance bus terminal, although it can be a pain getting around without a taxi.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonothan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

The noise level would be much only complaint. As this place is wedged in between businesses, you can hear a lot of street noise. Besides this, it is in a great location near the water and the restaurants; it is incredibly clean; there is a very comfortable common area with a large couch, TV, and computers. Even more, there is included breakfast and free wifi

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vertrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.8 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourside Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourside Backpackers

Property: Harbourside Backpackers
Address: Lot 43 4 1st Floor, Block Hs | Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbourside Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Harbour Square in the heart of Sandakan town center and opposite Harbour Mall shopping center. Only five minutes walk from central bus station and eight minutes walk from Mini bus station (bus to/from Sepilok Orang Utan Center). Close by to central market, bank, restaurant, cafe, shopping mall and supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Harbourside Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourside Backpackers Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing