We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbourside Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my time at this hostel. I had my own room, which was basic with just a bed, but all I needed. I opted for the shared bathroom which I had all to myself for the first few days and was always very clean. The ac worked well in my room also. The common area was great, lots of movies to watch and a nice spot to meet others. There's a small kitchen and there is breakfast of toast and jam in the mornings. I liked that I was able to meet lots of people here but it wasn't a party hostel. Also having a private room for still a cheap price was great. The staff was also very helpful with dinner and sightseeing suggestions. They knew I wanted to go to Sepilok and they told me about others who were going as well so we could share the costs of transportation. I ended up having a great day with them and I am really glad I chose this hostel!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ilove2travel_kristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    37
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
53
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Excellent hostel right in the middle of Sandakan which is a great base to explore Sabah from. Large, comfortable room with excellent a/c. Clean kitchen area with good facilities so can cook food and save money. Large common room with DVD library which is great for evenings as not much to do in the area at night. Really social and staff are ultra friendly.

Two things that stop me from giving 5* - the WIFI is ok when it works but very intermittent. The common room, when full, doesn't have enough seats and gets very hot! Fan isn't enough and aircon really needs to be installed. Would still highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you want WIFI in your room ask for one on the ground floor or near the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaLouise89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was really surprised by this hostel. After bad experiences in other hostels, this one is very pretty, and clean, and there are a lot of windows! Bathrooms/showers are very good as well! Nice common room to chill out, with computers and WiFi. Staff is very friendly and nice, they helped me booking a very good trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anouk155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Clean as can be , the young staff cleaned it a few times a day and that's what I noticed. The breakfast is toast and jam. The rooms are clean as are the showers and toilets . The rooms could do with a little furniture instead of 4 beds for a double ro. But we just used the beds as wardrobe space. They say free tea and coffee but they wise the same bags a few times is my only negative . We payed 60 for a double room and stayed 5 nights

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quins15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hostel is brand new and clean. It is in the area near the big Mall in Sandakan and in proximity to tons of little street food restaurants and proper ones also.

I stayed in a private room with ensuites and it was perfect. The common room and kitchen are spotless.

The staff is very friendly and they will help you to organize your visits and transportation around the town.

The city of Sandakan doesn't offer much for tourism but tons of cool sites are accessible from this place and it is a good break if you are riding a bus between Kota Kinabalu and Semporna/Tawau.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in both a private room and dorm. Both very clean, new beds and spotless sheets/towels.

Showers new and ultra clean!

Lovely tv/computer room with good selection of new DVDs.

Great location opposite the mall.

Booked a 3 day Kinabatangan river trip through the hostel too - this was EXCELLENT and very highly recommended!!

All in all very impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliotAndSyeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The place was cozy and pleasant, with a good lounge and TV/DVD. We had a private double room, which was clean and well-decorated, and the aircon worked very well. Trouble was, it looked out over an all-night restaurant which made some quite extraordinary noise all night long. Not sure what they were doing but it sounded like dragging heavy metal objects across the pavement and dropping them into the road.

Worse, though, someone arrived at 2.30 AM but the hostel staff had gone to sleep, so the new arrivals just hung on the doorbell until someone (everyone!) was awake. Not a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Whichever side isn't next to that bloody restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
589 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourside Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourside Backpackers

Property: Harbourside Backpackers
Address: Lot 43, 1st Floor, Block Hs-4 | Harbour Square, Sandakan 90739, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbourside Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Harbour Square in the heart of Sandakan town center and opposite Harbour Mall shopping center. Only five minutes walk from central bus station and eight minutes walk from Mini bus station (bus to/from Sepilok Orang Utan Center). Close by to central market, bank, restaurant, cafe, shopping mall and supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Harbourside Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourside Backpackers Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing