We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed it. Room was a little dated but comfortable and clean enough. Location was top, easy walk to attractions in the area. Nice gardens and pool. Food was good and tasty, meal times were a little hectic sometimes. Some staff were nice and friendly, others ( 1 lazy lady in particular) was just rude and malicious. Price was fair at 130rm nett for a superior room

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear ktharris,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks for specially mention the cleanliness, delicious food and the location to nearby attractions.

We are glad that you are happy with the services except for one lady. We will continue to train our staff to ensure everyone is giving the best services to all our guests.

Looking forward to serve you again.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Sepilok Jungle Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 646 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel is situated in a beautiful garden with 2 ponds that attract a lot of birds. The restaurant offers a great view over 1 of them, and allows you to enjoy a nice meal and see danters, kingfisher and other beautiful species. The rooms have a seventies feel to them and could use a bit of paint & 21st century touch, but are more than OK. If you find your mattress too hard or soft, just turn it around. We only discovered this after 2 nights. The hotel has a great pool (you have to pay a small amount) a great place to relax in the evening. The greatest asset of the hotel is that it is at a walking distance of the rehabilitation centre. Go out early in the morning or late at night and there is a big chance of encountering wildlife. Great & unforgettable. And stop on the way there at the food stall for drinks and local sweets.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Joke C,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

The highlight of staying with us is the high chance of encountering a lot of different species of wildlife. I am happy that you are able to experience it on your own.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will continue to work harder.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is an excellent place to stay if you want to see the Orang-Utan orphanage and the Honey Bear orphanage both of which are walking distance.
The resort itself has plenty of lakes, walkways and a swimming pool. All in all a very jungle-like setting!
The rooms are average and clean.
Reception is rather slow but friendly. There is a small souvenir shop. There are no shops around as this is a jungle lodge. As such, you have to depend on the resort for everything.

The restaurant can be slow at peak times and the food is rather basic but good. Alcohol is served although not advertised. At evening meal times an Orang-Utan will sneak out of the orphanage and visit the restaurant!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gyanfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear gyanfernando,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for being patience with the food as this is peak season now. Happy that you like the food.

This orang utan is called Pougal. He comes here quite often because we have set aside 20 acres of land for fruit trees since we start the resort. It is now a fruit heaven for all the birds and wildlife in the area.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights.the sole purpose for this was to visit the orangutan Centre & rainforest Centre down the road. Excellent location, 5 mins from the orangutans & 15 mins walk from the rainforest Centre (although in the heat, feels like 45mins! ) food is excellent if you like local food but Western food such as burgers are available. Inclusive breakfast not so sharp but enough to start the day. The swimming pool is welcoming at the end of a hot day. Rooms are clean and tidy.
If arriving by bus at batu 14, don't worry about being stranded. There are lots of taxi pirates willing to take you the 5 min journey to sepilok.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank garyheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear garyheed,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We will inform our housekeeping and kitchen staff about your compliments and I am sure they will be very happy to hear it from a clients.

Once again, thank you very much.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Our family of 4 loved this place. In fact it was one of our favourites during our 3.5 weeks in Malaysia.

We had booked a 4 bed fan room but ended treating ourselves and upgrading to two deluxe rooms and we were glad we did. The rooms were very clean, very comfortable beds, decent shower and great location.

The grounds are beautiful and make you feel like you're in the middle of the jungle. The location of the restaurant looks out onto the small ''lake' and forest. The walkways through the resort are all raised off the ground so you feel safe and keep your feet dry while enjoying the beautiful grounds. The pool was also great and we loved cooling off there after a hot day out. We weren't concerned about the small fee we had to pay to use it.

The staff here were very helpful and always ready to help us with our plans. The breakfast provided at the buffet was a bit average but the meals we had there for lunch and dinner were very good.

It is a very handy locataion to the Orangutan and Sunbear Sanctuaries (5 minutes walk) and about 20 minutes by taxi to the Labuk Bay Proboscis Monkey Sanctuary.

Make sure you visit here when visiting Sepilok!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank familyminato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear familyminato,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are delighted overall you have enjoyed your stay.

We will inform our kitchen staff about your compliments and I am sure they will work even harder to provide the best food for all clients.

Upgrading to deluxe room is certainly a wise option if you are not used to the hot and humidity that could reach up to 32 degree and 90% respectively.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serve your family again.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I came to Sepilok Jungle Resort as backpackers and absolutely fell in love with the place. You have to bear in mind when you book here that it is right in the middle of the jungle, but if you are prepared for that you will enjoy your stay as much as we did.
Location to Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre couldn't have been better - only a 5 minute walk down the road and around the corner.
Staff are incredibly helpful, friendly and polite. Everyone we spoke to and the owner of the resort was fantastic. They gave us some great tips for future travel in Borneo and were more than accommodating of any queries etc that we asked of them.
We chose to stay in a standard room, as we were on a budget, and it had everything we needed: hot water, comfy beds etc. Although quite basic and some weak wifi, we couldn't have been happier with the price we paid for it. We actually preferred the standard rooms to the deluxe, as the standard rooms were in a little chalet just off of the restaurant.
The grounds itself were lovely. Connected by wooden walkways and surrounded by wildlife and jungle plants. We saw a beautiful kingfisher sat on a branch right in the lake right next to us on the first day at breakfast.
Breakfast food was included and very tasty.
We used the pool almost every day on our stay, as it was well maintained and a great price as in house guests, particularly in the heat.
Sepilok Jungle Resort is well worth the stay if, like us, you are keen to stay close to Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre on a budget. It has been our favourite place to stay in Sabah so far.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear HKLucy,

We are glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Usually, once people is clear that they are staying in the jungle and not expecting a 5 star facilities, they will enjoy themselves just like you.

The kingfisher is called Stork Billed Kingfisher and it is the largest Kingfisher in Malaysia. They used to only have 1 and last year he found a mate and they have 2 babies which has already grown up.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

First of all: the location and yard are great. The swimmingpool is nice and clean and I can understand the 5 ringgit pp per day. The room we got for 76 ringgit was fine, with a fan, enough room, a own bathroom with a glass pane between the shower and the toilet. Unfortunately the floor was not very clean, and worst of all it smelled like sewer. As backpackers we didn't worry too much, put on all the taps for a while and flushed the toilet. When we came back some hours later the smell wasn't gone unfortunately. We're not too picky, but this was a bit too much. We talked to the receptionists, and they offered to change to a more expensive room against a reduced rate, but still a lot more expensive than the room we stayed in now. The same type of room was fully booked. So we put up with it for one night and moved the next day. I think nothing was done to the room when new guests arrived the next day. Anyway, for us it was solved almost satisfactionary.

The breakfast was good, better than many other places for the same price! Pancakes, watermelon, omelette, sausages, a nice selection. The food from the restaurant tasted good as well, but still left a bit of a bad taste as the food and drinks are very expensive. There are some cheaper choices on the menu, but still the prices are double that of local restaurants.

After a two night stay we got the feeling all Sepilok Jungle Resort wants to do is make money out of everything. Getting transport: busticket price + 15 ringgit. Absurd prices for tours: 80 ringgits for a 2 hour night jungle walk. Most ridiculous of all: a staff member was timing me while I was making a local phonecall, charging me 1.60 ringgits a minute. I'm spending 300+ ringgits at your resort and you're charging me for a 2 minute local phonecall?! I also wonder if I got my key deposit back as I didn't get a receipt.

At SJR everything is possible, if you pay...

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
39  Thank JRVWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear JRVWO,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

Since you have checked out, we have received another comment from the tourist about the smell. We have sent our maintenance staff to check and there was a blockage and it was fixed already.

The rates of the jungle night walk was determined by Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre and we are helping to book it only. The charge for the bus ticket is because we need to collect it from the main express bus station. The distance between the resort and the bus station is 17km per way and we need to go there to collect the ticket. If you book your own taxi to go and collect it, it will be more expensive than our rates.

The reason why we time the phone call is because we need to know the duration of each phone call. Our telephone does not have a show call duration summary so we have to do it by watching our watch. Sorry that it appears to be rude to you.

We are glad that you are happy with the breakfast selection.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
649 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
40 reviews
11.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: $27 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing