We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Hotel City View(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
MJ Hotel(Sandakan)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveler rating
115
232
201
88
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
232
201
88
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana cafeair conrainforest discovery centresun bearsorang utan rehabilitation centrefeeding timesdeluxe roomfive minute walknice poollocation is excellentbit datedswimming pool isday tourstayed here for two nightsrooms are basicturtle islandthe river
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 686 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is very well situated with only a five minute walk from the world-famous Sepilok Orang-Utan Rehabilitation Centre. The rooms are spacious and most have good quality air conditioning. The bathrooms in each room are small but decent and with warm showers. The swimming pool is fairly big and only 5RM for a whole day pass, the only set back is that it closes at 5.30pm and has no life guard on duty. The rooms have very comfortable beds with a warm duvet if you get cold, the only problem is a thin window which goes along the top of the wall and has no blind or curtain so the lamps outside shine into your room a bit so it is never fully dark still dark enough to sleep for most people. The laundry service is fairly quick and to a high standard, and staff are very friendly. The restaurant is quite disappointing with expensive but poor quality food and disappointing portion sizes. The resort has not only tropical species of birds around but some quite unpleasant looking dogs roaming the park. I was unlucky enough to see one dog with its ear hanging off but the dogs seem very calm and ignore you if you ignore them. The resort is very beautiful (minus the dogs) during the day but at night has a strange haunted feeling about it which is quite off putting when arriving back to your room late at night or sitting outside in the late evening. Overall this resort has its pros and cons, and is decent if you are only staying a few nights.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms are considerably nicer than the larger rooms. I found that the 2 person room was much nicer and with better air-conditioning than the four person rooms which only had a poorly-working fan.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerMaria2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hi TravellerMaria2013,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Actually those are stray dogs and they do not belong to us. We have informed our council and they are suppose to come and clear those dogs but unfortunately the dogs are still around when you were here because it was Hari Raya (Malay New Year) and no one is working.

I will pass your comments about the food to our kitchen.

Thanks for complimenting our staff for being friendly. We have planted many fruits trees around the garden and that is why there are so many wildlife in the area. Do a night walk with us and you will see some nocturnal wildlife which is very interesting.

We look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I had the privelage of a two night stay at this hotel.
Immediately Ii felt at home as the staff were great. They were friendly and helpful but more importantly very in touch with environment and bird and animal life. One of the staff took me on a night walk and we were very lucky to see a slow Loris and two differnt types of Horn Bills, also frogs and other birds.
The hotel is a bit tired but is more than made up by the staff, the surrounding gardens and proximity to the forrest discovery centre and the Oranutang park
Just loved it and hopefully will visit again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Hi Maureen S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We have been training our staff and encourage them to talk to our customers and treat them as friends and we are glad it paid off. We will pass your compliments to them and I am sure they will be happy.

We have planted many fruits trees around the garden and we are seeing the benefit now. Not only it has become like a jungle but is supplying food to all the wildlife in the area. That is why you can see so many wildlife in the area.

Slow loris!! Lucky you. This is the only venomous primates in the world! However, it is not very very hard to find it within the resort as they stay there.

Give us some time as we are refurbishing the resort now in different phase.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent 3 nights in Sepilok Jungle Resort, there was hardly any other travellers and it felt like we were in our own private paradise. The staff were lovely and the grounds were amazing. Overall me and my partner loved our stay but agreed that we wouldn't have wanted to stay for more then 4/5 nights as you would run out of things to do in Borneo and at the resort. The rooms are a little basic and seem and no they are not exactly luxuriousbut once u get past that and realise exactly how beautiful ta bit run down - but they are clean and not dirty at all!! The resort itself is beautiful and beats a hotel any day - especially when considering price! Only thing id say that disappointed me is that only the cafe was open at the resort - the other bar and poolside cafe was closed.

Room Tip: choose the deluxe room with air conditioning - you will need the aircon!!! keep aircon on when you go out because they take a while to work!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hi Hannah V,

Thanks for staying with us.

At the moment only Banana Cafe is open daily from 7.30am to 10.00pm. Poolside cafe is catered for private function only.

We are doing some renovation in different phase and once that is done, we will not be run down anymore. However, thanks for pointing out that we are still very clean inspite being a little bit run down.

Thank you for saying that we can beat any hotel in any day. Appreciated it.

Now, we are doing the male toilets for the dormitory. Once that is done, it will be Banana Cafe.

Actually some people spend 2 weeks in Borneo and they cannot even finished everything in Borneo. However, for Sandakan, a normally 4-5 days would be sufficient depending on where you want to go.

Perhaps next year would be better as they are opening up the outdoor orang utan nursery so you can see those babies training in the jungle gym and also the opening of the Bornean Sunbear Conservation Centre. All within 5 minutes walk from the resort.

Looking forward to serve you again.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a pretty nice resort - not 5-star luxury by any means but you're in the jungle after all. The pool area is nice but it does cost extra to use. The rooms themselves are spacious and clean, the bathrooms are very nice, and the resort surrounds are beautiful and jungle-y. Walking distance to the orangutan sanctuary but if you're planning to go anywhere else you may be in trouble as there's not much around, which is a shame because we found the food at the adjoining Banana Cafe to be pretty sub-par. Overall though, enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hi Joel M,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are happy that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We will continue to work harder to improve our Banana Cafe to make it better then sub par.

Yes, our room is indeed big, spacious and clean.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our stay at the resort was marred by a rat falling from the ceiling and landing between myself and my 2 children. They sent a man who proceeded to catch it and proudly posed for a photo with it. There was no apology and it was not until later that night when the children were too scared to go in the same room that we asked to move - which they did, to a room next door. I do appreciate that we are in the jungle and that there is abundant wild-life but our room backed on to the kitchen which did not give me too much faith! This was not an isolated incident as 2 fellow travellers in a dorm had to be moved due to mice.

Generally the new parts of the complex are in better shape than the old - which are a bit run down. The room was clean and compact with no hooks to hang things. The bathroom had the shower over the toilet and again there were no hooks or a mirror.

The location is good just 5 minute walk to the Orang Utan sanctuary. Getting out was harder there was no correct information on the public bus service, the aim being to sell you their bus service.

The food was basic and well priced. The only complaint here was the beer at 10 RM per can - everywhere else in Malaysia was 6-7 RM

Room Tip: Room 19 had the rat
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
61  Thank towella69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi towella69,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us

As we are in the jungle, there will surely be rats. To tell our guests that there are not rats is total lies. However, the rats are not able to get into the room and the rooms are netted with mosquito nets and wire mesh. As for the 2 persons in the dorm, they too see rats but it is not inside the room. As you also agreed, all our rooms are clean.

Normally there will not be rats spotted in the morning but because it has been raining and there is a little flood in the jungle, so the rats has to where to go. Not only rats, there are other wildlife who come into the resort too.

We are doing some repairing around the resort. Currently, 16 superior rooms are completed and now we are doing the common toilet for men in the dormitory. Please give us some time and the resort will look great.

Malaysia beer price is priced around RM6-7 but are they in the jungle? Please take note that it takes extra transportation costs for the beer to arrive to the resort.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serve you again in the future

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews