We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sepilok Jungle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

good value resort if a little tired in places.swimming pool was a big bonus,the banana cafe was well situated beside a lake with fish and humming birds in abundance.we stayed in a superior room with balcony,this was pleasant and quite large.the resort is ideal with all the attractions only 5 minutes away and the discovery center about 15 minutes walk.
the only dissapointment was most days breakfast was a buffet and it didnt seem to matter what time you went,it was always cold.
the food was basic and i would advise people to venture out to the nature resort or 'the nest' at labuk b&b where the food was superb.

Room Tip: superior rooms have free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

I will check with our kitchen and service staff to ensure that all the food would be always in warm condition for all our valuable guests.

There are a lot of birds in the Banana Cafe because we have planted many fruit trees and also flowers for them since 18 years ago when we first started the resort.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    200
    178
    73
    44
See reviews for
102
272
48
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

What can I say, we booked the cheapest private room but I managed to take peak in "better" room and it was as bad. Bed was moist and there was mold in it. Shovers heater was broken so no hot water. The "mosquito nets" where broken so bugs flew in and out, and roaches where runing wild at floors, also you could see that the room wasent clean properly in ages.

The "service" was awful. Most of the time the personel where hanging in groups of 4 in the restaurant and playing with their phones. "Food" in the restaurant was terible and their pricing was even more terible. There where litle turtles in small bowls held in the restaurant (the conditions of the animals where like in chinese street markets, if you know what I mean).

The worst thing was probably the tours that they offered, if you look at their info leaflet the tours where marked with "random numbers" that hapened to look like prices exept they werent. When you asked about certain tour the actual price was ridicelous and the price didnt even concist everything you could read from the leaflet.
For example their half day orangutang tour cost 180MYR tour itinerary: car ride & ticets to see orangutans in sepilok orangutang sanctuary , tour guide who tels you about orangutans?, no food. car ride back to jungle resort.
WHAT A SCAM!

Better suggestion:

Walk from jungle resort to orangutang sanctuary (5min) Free
Ticket to orangutan sanctuary: 30MYR
Walk to orangutan platform (5min)
See orangutangs and listen to other "guides" telling about orangutans to 100 other people who are there with you: Free
Walk back to jungle resort to pack your stuff and move to better hotel: Free.

Pros:
+ Close to orangutan sanctuary
+ There is a pool where you can go...

Cons:
- Value for money
- "Tour" Scam
- dirty rooms
- condition of the turtles at restaurant
- service
- The whole "hotel"

Room Tip: Dont go to this place. There are way better options aviable in the same price range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
101 Thank Kirtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We have been promoting our resort as the closest accommodation to the Sepilok Orang Utan Rehab Centre as it only take 5 minutes walk and we always encourage our guests to walk there. The leaflets that you saw is from a tour operator and it is placed at the resort. These leaflets are more suitable for people who are staying in town and want to buy a Orang Utan Tour package to include a guide, transfer and entrance fees. So it is up to the individual if they want to buy it or not.

I am sure you have overlooked and do not understand the wordings in the leaflets because there is no Orang Utan Tour that costs RM180 but STW180 is clearly written in the leaflets. STW180 is the tour code for that tour.

Your suggestion of walking to Sepilok Centre and listen to what other guides are briefing and walk back to the resort is usually what we tell our guests do but we are not able to do so if guests are not willing to listen to us.

The small turtle in the basin that you see are hatclings. We rescued them from the main pond. In the past, we just leave them but we realised that the bigger turtle will bite and hurt them. That is why we rescue them and we will put them back to the pond as they grow bigger and stronger.

We have checked all our rooms and there is no broken water and mold on our beds. I will agree that sometimes the bed is moist but we are in the rainforest with humidity about 90-95% daily. Of course it will slightly moist but as we turn on the fan or air cond, it will be ok.

We are also located in the jungle and there is no 100% bugs/roach/house lizard/gecko proof method. So sometimes, these little creatures is in and out of the room whenever they want. Staying in a city hotel will ensure that no one will see all these but we are in the jungle. This is part of the nature and we are in their environment.

Thank you for letting us know about the staff playing with the handphones and we will continue to train them and ensure that they will provide the best services to all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we will continue to improve ourselves.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

Malacca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is ideally located, at 5 minutes walking distance of Sepilok Urang Utan Sanctuary.

The double bed room with balcony was spacious, the bathroom was small and a little too basic. All evenings we had a very nice dinner at the open air restaurant and a fine noodle soup for lunch. The openness of the resort facilitates easy contact between guests. Free wifi is available and working well, sockets for charging are readily available at the restaurant area.

The wooden walkway between the different buildings, the pond(s) and the surrounding garden make it an interesting place to stay. We saw hornbills and other birds.

Owners and staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

It is our pleasure to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with.

We will continue to improve to provide the best experience for all our valuable guests.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Reviewers of this resort frequently praise the activities one can engage in while staying at the place. I concur that the Orangutan Sanctuary, Rainforest Discovery Center, and the River Cruise are first rate. As birders, we were sated with several lifers, and a couple endemics, including the Borneo Bristle Head. And during the river cruise we were treated to pigmy elephants, a wild orangutan, and proboscis monkeys, a trip lead by a superb and knowledgeable guide. However, none of these treats speaks to the resort.

The word ‘basic’ keeps coming up in other reviews, and I second the motion. When it comes to the state of the bathroom, our room was a bit less than basic. The beds were ‘functional’, although by the end of the week my back tended to disagree. We stayed in a deluxe room with a balcony, but in retrospect it wasn’t worth the extra money. Our view was some greenery, and there is no lack of that commodity in this area. Further, beneath the balcony was trash, including two mini-cds, which I think haven’t been produced in about 8 years or so. On the bright side, the cleaning staff for the room was prompt, friendly, and efficient.

The restaurant was the lowlight of our week-long stay. The walk to the restaurant indeed can be an adventure when it is raining. We too witnessed the apathetic staff pay more attention to chats and cell phones than customers, argue with each other, and generally make dining less than a pleasant experience. Breakfasts grew tedious, with little variety and, often, cold food. At the beginning of our stay, we ate lunch and dinner at the restaurant; both were mediocre. We love Malaysian food, and none we ate here was a good example. That problem was solved when we discovered the Sepilok Nature Resort Restaurant and the restaurant at the Sepilok Forest Edge Resort, both within easy walking distance.

There was one bright spot at the resort, the staff at the front desk. Both women were cheerful, knowledgeable, and helpful. If only the rest of the staff emulated these two.

Lonely Planet referred to this place as ‘The Last Resort”; however, we understand why folks stay here as it is in a convenient location and the costs are affordable. However, be aware of what you are getting into if you stay here for more than one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
107 Thank LAM22341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We have gone through some investigation with regards to the quarreling staff. Actions had been taken and now they are separated into different shifts. Thank you for your feedback as this will certainly will help to improve our service.

As for the cd, what happened was that we have lend a dvd player to one of the guests and upon returning the player to us, we found that our vcd, yes it is a vcd, has gone missing. We have found it now thanks to your tips. Actually in country like us, we are still selling vcd and cassettes. Cassettes may not be in sell in your country since 15 to 20 years ago .Maybe your country is so advance that you don't even have vcd and cassettes anymore. We would be appreciate if guest could know more about how we progress in terms of technology and not implying that we have not clean our balcony for 8 years.

We are delighted that you are happy with the services with our 2 receptionists. In fact they are the role model for all the other staff and we are still trying to train the other staff to be like them to be professional and be able to work happily

Once again, thank you for your valuable comment and we will take necessary action to improve ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is simple and what you would expect in a jungle area. The rooms are basic but clean complete with resident gekos! The restaurant is simple as is the food but staff are friendly. The walkways are interesting especially when wet. The grounds are lovely and the orangutang centre is 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We will convey your compliments to our staff and we will continue to have more training for them and it seems that all the training and actions based on the feedback from our customers are starting to payoff.

We will try our best to provide the best services to all our customers.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place is a bit tired and needs a bit of a face lift. Great location as you can walk to the Orangutans. Good for kids as there is a nice pool, quite a way from the restaurant but reasonable. You have to pay extra for the pool, minimal rate. A bit overpriced accommodation and you have no choice but to eat the restaurant food. There is a variety to choose from and not too badly priced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBowyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are in the midst of upgrading our facilities in different phase. Currently we are doing a mocked up room and we are focusing in it. Hopefully when that is done, we will be able to upgrade all the air cond room followed by the refurbishment and renovation in Banana Cafe and along the bridge.

Glad to know that you have enjoyed the food and we will continue to improve ourselves.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serve you again.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I wouldn’t call it a resort, the accomodation is rather basic. The room was clean but bathroom was so and so.
The breakfast was good: toast, jam, eggs, fruits,…

The staff at the reception was helpful!
There was a lot of other staff around but most of them were just hanging out... not too busy! ;-)

The "resort" is in a beautiful setting and it really takes just a five minutes walk from the Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, if you are interested.

We arrived late at night and only stayed one night so perhaps the resort has more to offer but we didn't find out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Applewoman1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

At the moment, it is low season, perhaps that is why you still some of the staff are not very busy.

We have more facilities like swimming pool, lounge, night walk, jungle walk, mini gym and jacuzzi. Perhaps one is not aware of all these facilities if they only stay for one night and arrive late night.

Thank you and we look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
11.6 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#9 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Property: Sepilok Jungle Resort
Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing